We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian Buffet - good food & many choices!”
Review of Little Nepal

Little Nepal
Ranked #175 of 1,430 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Tibetan, Nepali
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Colorado
Level Contributor
216 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great Indian Buffet - good food & many choices!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Really excellent Indian food! Some of the best we'd had in long time. Definitely recommended.

The buffet was pretty extensive with lots of good veggie and chicken choices. The highlight for us was Sweet Potato Tiki Masala... super yummy!

The only downside was that most of the dishes were fairly mild. But, they do provide hot chili sauce and spicy pickle, which were great.

Also, the Channa (chickpeas) were a touch underdone, but they had such a great flavor, I went back twice. When we mentioned it to the manager later, he was very apologetic. He said he would look into it right away and also suggested that they have tended to slightly under cook the legumes so that they still would have a good consistency after sitting on the buffet line... except it was busy enough were the food was flying off the buffet!

The desserts and fruit were good, and the Rice Pudding was AWESOME! On of THE best I've ever had. I would have eaten more of it if I hadn't been so full.

The place is surprisingly large and the decor is somewhat "Indian" classy. We liked that the booths were raised slightly above the main floor.

Wish they had a better craft beer selection, but even without, we'd come back again when in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoBeerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    41
    12
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lot of improve”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Nothing worth mentioning in terms of Indian dishes.
Tried the buffet lunch, not sure how it fares as compared to the other Indian restaurants in the city . I generally look for authentic Indian taste which was missing here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MannG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed close from this place and decided to take a chance on this place. And we were not disappointed. The chai was very similar to what we are used to in India (which is quite rare to find). It was pretty good North Indian food and well spiced. There are good options for vegetarians. They sure have a great chance to improvise and innovate on the food items from here as they have the right ingredients for great food in place (include chana bhatura, chaat items - street food in India, some south indian food items, etc).

The owner and servers looked more Indian than Nepali. The music was Indian but probably too old as I could not recognise any of the tunes .. They sure could play better instrumental music selections.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danzzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Outstanding Indian food and service”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We loved everything about Little Nepal and will be back even though it's out of the way from where we live. It will be worth the drive for the quality of the dishes and service.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank debinatorColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you can find any other place to eat - DO SO!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The food wasn't really that bad, I guess. We went for the evening buffet. For $17 each we could have done much better for ourselves. The buffet: variety was very average, and the food isn't that great. Defeintely not a $17 dinner. Everything on the menu was about the same price though, so I figured "why not"...

Then the bill came. There were 4 adults, plus a 2 1/2 year old and a 3 1/2 year old. The kids took a couple bites each, the food was kind of bland but still a little spicy for their tastes. The charge for the few bites for the 2 kids? $34!!!!!!!!!!!

So please, don't go there. Do it for me.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RyanL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Nepal also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Little Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing