We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #44 of 1,412 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Originally out of California and has expanded to other states including location in Colorado Springs, CO. Family dining, home style selections, very generous portions.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stopped in and had some breakfast before going to the flea market. I got a ham and cheese omelet with hash browns. Was very good and my kids shared a French toast plate with sausage. Pretty cheap. I have to say the coffee is horrible there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JessC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    59
    24
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

For as big as this Diner is, I didn't have to search for my Wait Staff, there was a "network" of servers continually looking to see if any table needed anything. Very good service! My husband & I have eaten at The Black Bear Diner only 2 times but that is our "go to" place for breakfast or lunch when in Colorado Springs. The food is so very good & the portions are huge! AND you must try the pie even if you get one to take home. They are so good & just the right size for 2 people. So if the day finds you in the Colorado Springs area & if you are hungry, give the Black Bear a try. Great little place with good food & very good service!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tropicats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable place, tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Liked the format...a lot like diners when I grew up. Food was good and the service was fast and friendly. Omelettes and comfort food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RangerLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
253 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast. Enjoy it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service. We enjoyed the breakfast. Great portions. Wonderful waitress. I wish that they have one branch north of town so that we do not need to drive too far especially with increased gas prices.

Helpful?
Thank 5flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
194 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Comfort Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This diner reminds me of places along the Alaska Canada Highway. The food portions are large and the food itself is excellent comfort food. This is not "cuisine" but all American fare. Pancakes are frisbee sized. The Rueben was excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RamponaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing