We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy but nice”
Review of Timber Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colorado Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timber Lodge
Norwalk, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
155 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not fancy but nice”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in a cabin and also had an A frame next door. It's not fancy, kind of reminds you of a 60's/70's era cabin but it was clean and provided for us what we needed. The location is close to eating, shopping and site seeing. The downside's were that in our unit the kitchen was about 5x5 and the door opened into the kitchen so you had to be careful that the fridge wasn't open or there wasn't someone cooking or doing dishes when you came in. Minor inconvenience. The cabin said it slept 6 but the futon was partially broken so to try and sleep on it with 2 people would have been impossible. We had one person on it and they just slept on the one side. The bath towels are small and are quite thin. We would recommend bringing some of your own. It's located next to some busy roads so you hear traffic all night but it's not terrible. Because of the few negatives I mentioned and the fact that it isn't as new and fancy as a nice hotel is why we didn't rate this higher. Our unit had a covered patio which was great since it rained off and on while we were there which meant we could still be outside. Overall a very experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in #15
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our place was small and rustic but we loved it. It was very clean and we have never stayed any place where the staff was this friendly. The bed was soft but comfortable. The only thing we would change was the towels. The bath towels were very small and a little nubby. Timber Lodge was very conveniently located to all the Manitou Springs and Colorado Sprinfs activities. Even though it was close to the highway and was completely booked several nights while we were there, it was very quite. Great place to stay I hope we get to go back. We loved sitting on the porch and feeding peanuts to the squirrels too.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in an A frame but they looked small. We are older and probably wouldn't choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveler64138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodge City, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

and we got it! Yes, it's rustic but has charm. We stayed two nights. Enjoyed the pool, being able to cook some hotdogs on the grill and relax on the front porch. The staff is welcoming and helpful. A positive family experience and my granddaughter still talks about it! This is what memories are made of. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PCStephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had about 40 people for a fanily reunion coming from many states. The set up is great for meeting up and socializing for a large group. The area by the pool with all the picnic tables under a roof was the best we could have hoped for. We did a lot of story telling and laughing. The cabins are sufficient, not a lot to brag about there. This is an old motor lodge where many families would stay while vacationing. It was kind of "retro", but fun. The staff was helpful and tried to make the place run smooth. Wer had many compliments on having it at a great spot, The Timber Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brownalteza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The cabin is very rustic a little dated but the experience is worth it! You can sit on the front porch and enjoy the weather and the pool is nice for kids to play and the office staff is wonderful, a very nice place to stay! The air conditioner is a swamp cooler or water AC and it was hard to control the temperature, and since your near a busy highway you need it to drown out the sound!! There is a little creek that runs around the small cabins that is nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlette, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

If your looking for the Hilton, keep looking....
We can go to a hotel anywhere, we were coming to Manitou Springs for there attractions and mountain views. To complete the experience, we felt there was no other way to go then to get a rustic cabin somewhere. And The Timber Lodge was the Perfect choice!!! We are a family of 5 so we got one of the largest cabins. 2 bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen, living and dining area. And the living room had a futon couch for extra sleeping.... The cabin was fully furnished. Dishes, pot and pans, cheese grader, cutting board, dish soap, etc... Electric Stove, sink, refrigerator, microwave, large pantry cupboard, toaster, and coffee pot. We also had a large front porch with our own picnic table. We ate every meal outside even when it rained, it was a great added living space. The cabins were very clean, and furnished in knotty pine. Some may call that dated. But I call it rustic, perfect and very cozy! It completes the mountain experience.
You won't find a better staff then the ones at The Timber Lodge. You can go to a big hotel, but there staff won't care about you... The owners of the Timber lodge live right on site. This is there home, and you are there personal guest. They go out of their way to make sure you have an Amazing experience. The nicest people ever! They treat you like family. They come by daily to clean your room and restock.
There are charcoal grills, picnic tables and pavilions outside for your convince. Ice for small in room use, our large chest to purchase a bag for your coolers. The creek out front is so pretty and relaxing to listen to. And a very nice restaurant on site as well. We were close to everything downtown as well. And really close to all the Manitou Springs attractions.
Oh And the momma deer came into camp nearly every day with her baby. We enjoyed our visits with her. :-)
We just got back yesterday, and I'm already looking at the calendar for a returning date. We absolutely Loved The Timber Lodge!!! Those of you that didn't, I think it's your own fault. You obviously have access to the Internet. You should have checked out there website, FB page, and all there pictures. Read the reviews, call and ask questions. If it wasn't what you were looking for, you should've kept looking....???

Room Tip: Make sure to ask about room sizes. And outdoor space. They have all different sizes and you wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Looking at all of the 5 ratings, I wonder if I stayed at the same Timber Lodge. Interior is 1950s knotty pine type wall board with same period furnishings. thought the price was high, as the location is a little ways from the old "downtown" Manitou. Locations works if that is not important. Small bathroom, spritzer for shower (understand water conservation), no in room coffee although there is micro and fridge. Mexican restaurant next door is good, but pricey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
4 Thank enondoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
1.8 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,067 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
801 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buffalo Lodge
Buffalo Lodge
#5 of 18 in Colorado Springs
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Motel Colorado Springs
Rainbow Motel Colorado Springs
#52 of 105 in Colorado Springs
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Lodge

Property: Timber Lodge
Address: 3627 W Colorado Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-1913
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Colorado Springs
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Efficient Service in a Truly Colorado Environment! Rustic, Fun, Comfortable Cabins located on 3 acres of land with a bordering creek - most describe us as " a little bit of country, right in the middle of town."! At the Timber Lodge you feel like you are tucked away in the mountains but have the convenience of being close to area attractions, restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Great location for Family Reunions and large groups as well as fun family vacations! Centrally located to area tourist attractions, connections for bike trails close by, hiking and mountain biking access to Garden of the Gods and Red Rock Open Spaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Timber Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing