We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great off the beaten path "exotic food"”

Caspian Cafe Mediterranean
Reserve with OpenTable
Caspian Cafe Mediterranean is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,430 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Garden of the Gods Rd
Description: Bringing wonderful dishes from the Mediterranean to a Colorado Springs Restaurant, Caspian Café is sure to please the palate with amazing flavors prepared by Chef Daniel White. Dishes represent the full range of the Mediterranean from French and Greek Classics such as Steak Nicoise and Gyros to Middle Eastern Dishes such as Falafel and Shish Taouk. Full service bar and private dining area available for banquets. Evening reservations recommended.
littleton, co
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great off the beaten path "exotic food"”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Extensive menu with lots of choices & multiple specials. We had the citrus pasta with chicken & the halibut with pomegranate reduction.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hulatraveldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    821
    209
    46
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
106 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Orchestration of tastes, textures and service made this a winner! We went back!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We went as a default when our number 1 pick was closed on a Monday. We were met and invited inside by a server who escorted us to one of her tables and while we hungry and maybe a little cranky from a 6 hour drive, we were delighted with the service. We opted for 2 appetizers, Baba Ghanouj and Hummus, and both were good but the Baba Ghanouj was a revelation. Yep! It was tasty, textured and served with both Pita and lavosh, a nice contrast.
My wife ordered a salad and I opted for the special, a Tilapia in Basil and Citrus with sun dried tomatoes and chili threads. Maybe it wasn't a divine revelation but it was well prepared and once again the tastes and textures were balanced and played well with almost a point and counterpoint effect.
We decided than that we had to come back for another meal, so we buzzed back for lunch 2 days later. Again we had Baba Ghanouj but added a Baby Shrimp cooked in white wine with a cilantro-mint pesto served with lavosh and a tomato olive salsa as a second appetizer. MY TOES ARE STILL CURLED. I followed with a lamb-tagine that was competent and my wife again opted for a salad that she shared with me. That was a wonderful dish, too again with flavors that were extraordinarily balanced.
The only real weakness was the ambiance. This place is right off I-25 and not in a particularly attractive or romantic setting. The building itself appears to have been some sort of chain restaurant a while ago. But the food, service and convenience of the location more than compensated for the lack of polish.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanyonCondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great gourmet food!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a great restaurant for gourmands! A bit pricy, but worth it. The owner makes sure everything is excellent...and you even get a belly dancing show with dinner! Highly recommend
the Mousaka, the hummus appetizer, but everything is good...and have never been disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StarvingArtist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Food, Eclectic, Delicious Mediterranean Menu”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

With menu items from a dozen Mediterranean countries, there is something for everyone! The only leftovers at our table we due to the generous portion sizes and our over-ordering because we could not choose between the delectable dishes. Our server was friendly, present and available for our every need. The pleasant, engaging Manager stopped by twice. We were 7 people in a large booth, yet conversation was easy, despite the size of the booth and our group.

They have a roving belly dancer on Friday and Saturday nights. Our table found her affable and entertaining for the first 2-3 visits to our table. We enjoyed her costumes (yes, she changed during the evening). After a while, we wanted her to move on though, so we could enjoy our dinner and each other's company without her belly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Molly2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Remarkable menu & great food”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Caspian Café in Colorado Springs offers a wonderful, widely varying, Mediterranean menu. All kinds of Mediterranean dishes are offered including Moroccan, Middle Eastern, Italian, Greek, and a few others that I did not recognize. Great food, good service, and unusual offerings. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frickwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caspian Cafe Mediterranean also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Caspian Cafe Mediterranean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing