We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Burgers”
Review of Five Guys

Five Guys
Ranked #336 of 1,447 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Love the Burgers”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I'm hard to please when it comes to burgers. If you are too--you won't be disappointed. The staff took extra time to make use we understood the menu. They checked back that we were happy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ciezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Over Rated and Over Priced”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had lunch there today. The "Little Hamburger" is $3.89. The "Little Cheeseburger" is $4.59. That's 70 cents for a slice of American Cheese. The "Little Burger" is a single patty (standard size) while the "Hamburger" is 2 patties. Either way, they're served on a sesame seed bun and wrapped in a square of foil, presumably to keep warm, but the foil also retains moisture so when you open it the bun is soft and kind of squashed. The fries, a tremendous portion, are served in an overflowing paper cup within a brown paper bag which is sopped with the excess oil from the potatoes. I found the fries over-salted and somewhat soggy.
Granted, they offer the biggest selection of toppings for the burger at no extra charge. I chose the grilled onions and grilled mushrooms. To my disappointment the grilled onions were chopped rather than sliced so they were falling off the sandwich and the mushrooms appeared to be canned rather than fresh sliced so there was not much mushroom flavor.
Anyone who visits a part of the country where there are In-n-Out Burger locations, will get a much better burger meal at a much better price. For that matter, Red Robin also serves an excellent burger.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Our favorite burger place in the Springs”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recognize that everybody has personal preferences when it comes to greasy burgers and fries, and this is our local favorite. A great list of toppings allow you to design your own burger, but we tend to "go all the way" with the standard list of grilled onions and mushrooms, along with lettuce, pickles, and tomatoes. My wife always cuts her burger in half because when fully loaded it can be a bit difficult to eat. We love the fries, fully knowing we're getting a full day's injection of grease and salt. One regular order of fries is enough for the two of us; they scoop up a standard helping of the fresh, hot fries and then always dump a second scoop in the bag for good measure. While we don't eat here more than once a month, it's a nice option after a long trail ride or incline attempt when we need to restore calories and protein. There's something about these delicious burgers that feeds a specific craving. Also, if you like peanuts, you can have your fill from the barrels next to the bags of potatoes that they cut fresh.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottandJanelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“BEST BURGERS EVER AND EVERY TIME!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

No kidding... really the best. They'll make them for you on the spot and exactly as you want them with any or all of the over 20 toppings. Fries are outrageous too, but really it's all about the burgers. Fat, juicy, fresh and hot off the grill. I have been to 4 different locations (including the original 5 guys in Arlington VA) and the quality is always excellent!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COSpgsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“NOT impressed”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had heard some great things about this place and I really love a good burger but I would not go back. It amazes me how many people love this place. We both got the regular burger with double patties (recommended) because they are pretty small, $5.39 ea. We also ordered one large cajun fries $4.59, and one small drink $1.99. For 18.69 with tax, it was not worth it. As mentioned, the burger and patty is small and has no seasoning. You would think one of those 5 guys have heard of salt. The only vegetable I could taste was the pickle, jalapenos were not hot. The bun reminded me of cheap grocery store buns, even though they looked toasted there was no texture but soft and soggy. French fries seemed to be made fresh but seriously greasy and undercooked. We heard they give you a lot of fries, but nope, we disagree and we even ordered the large.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rychedelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Guys also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Five Guys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing