We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a building and better lighting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocky Mountain Motorcycle Museum

Rocky Mountain Motorcycle Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established 1992, a non-profit museum dedicated to the preservation of motorcycling and it's unique contributions to history. Over 50 antique and classic motorcycles on display. Free admission - guided tours available by reservation.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Needs a building and better lighting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

It's a shame that this collection of motorcycles doesn't have its own building with better lighting and exhibit space. It's crammed into a space about the size of two average size rooms and the motorcycles are behind glass with lighting with regular incadescent bulbs which means that some you can see quite well and others are in shadow. Besides the motorcycles the walls are covered with motorcycle memorabilia. The museum is on the second floor of the Colorado Springs Harley Davidson dealership. They do the best they can but it's a shame that they can't convince Harley Davidson or Indian to sponsor this museum. Take your own flashlight if you're interested in details on the bikes.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A nice motorcycle museum in the local area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

They had a nice collection of Vintage and Antique bikes, while the display area is not huge, they have a nice representation of alot of different eras and types of bikes. Most of the bikes are behind glass, which means you have to put a little more work in to get the right angle to get good pictures. This museum is free, although donations are accepted.

Considering they are located on the second floor of the Harley Store now, you would almost expect an extreme Harley focus. While they had many nice Harleys (Panhead, Knuckleheads, flatheads and a few earlier). They also had some nice large representation from Indian that I enjoyed seeing. Some nice British bikes, and some interesting Japanese bikes as well. Most bikes are in stock or restored condition, with at least one nice show bike that sticks in my memory.

All in all a well balanced presentation, plus a lot of memorabilia. I believe a few people are disappointed with only 50+ bikes in the display, but I have to admit that is an impressive number for a local museum. Considering so few people really even know what these bike even look like anymore (at least in stock configuration), it is really nice that this is available to give people a view in to some of the classic bikes.

I did find it interesting though that arriving on a weekend while a poker run or charity event was going on at the Harley Store and the parking lot was packed, only one person recognized that there were several classic bikes in our formation, and even he mistook my early panhead for a shovel, so it looks like the current generation of motorcycle enthusiasts need a good museum like this just for the education of classic bikes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigerman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield RI
Level Contributor
121 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Museum now in the Harley Davidson store that is behind the orginial museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I was unaware that the orginial building was closed. The address on the website is for the old store. There wasn't any sign indicating that the contents had been moved into the Harley Davidson store that is behind the orginial museum.

The old antique motorcycles are on the second floor of the Harley store. Not a big display but what they have is interesting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Raisinbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Closed - moving”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Closed. They are moving to new location. Small building and locked up tight with bars on windows .

Helpful?
2 Thank Roamingabout2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley CA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small but interesting Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2007

While visiting my Brother in Colorado Springs, I decided to go check this place out, it shares a parking lot with a Harley dealer.
The first thing I noticed when I walked in was a guest book and a sign that says Donations only (Free admission makes everything better).
There are a lot of old Motorcycles packed in pretty tightly, Every Make ranging from Excelsior, to Indian, To Honda are in this building. Make sure to look up, because they have bikes above you on display as well. Some of the bikes have plaques with historical information.
Over all, it's a great place to see some of the best motorcycles built throughout history, give yourself about a 1/2 hour to go through it.
I bought a T-shirt with the Museum Logo on it and I got to pet the resident Dog Bailey.

Helpful?
5 Thank TonySCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Mountain Motorcycle Museum also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Rocky Mountain Motorcycle Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing