We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rainbow Motel Colorado Springs
Ranked #50 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
fort worth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Stayed here 4 days, we arrived late and when I called to notify them of our late arrival, she told us with the utmost heartfelt "what is important is that you get here safely." They do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable. This is TOTALLY a family friendly hotel also, with a nice pool and fenced in play area for smaller children, the picnic area was wonderful also with built in fire pits. This motel is centrally located from everything! My husband already have made arrangements to come back later this year by ourselves. I would certainly stay here again and again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisajarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    60
    14
    15
    8
See reviews for
72
47
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

The Rainbow is an older motel, just like most of the hotel/motels in the area. I spent one week in a king room. The room was clean and well maintained with a larger than expected bathroom and covered parking space.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed here for two nights and it ws in a great location to Manitou springs, Garden of the Gods, Pikes Peak and mayn other places. We stayed in room 101. It had two seperate bedrooms and one bathroom. The pool was clean , water a little cold for me, lol, but the three teen boys got in. It is an older motel, but clean.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorinjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

an older facility run by Eric, Janina and family. I was a bit taken aback upon arrival due to the 30 year throw back! I had spent the past few nights at chain motels and the Rainbow is definitely not your usual chain unit. We had booked a king - kitchen unit which turned out to have a single 'sitting' room and a 2nd bath attached. I would recommend booking directly via telephone and then following up a few days before arrival to insure that your needs are met. When we arrived Eric said he had made a slight change and put us in a room with 2 doubles instead of the king. A simple 'look at me' (6'4" - 250#) and he agreed that I really needed the king! Turns out they were really booked up with return customers for the PP Hill Climb, which I had no idea was going on.
The rooms are being updated at a rate to accommodate the owners' budget so some things are quite older (showers are tiny & dark, wifi in outlying rooms iffy at best, older furnishings and fittings) and others almost new (doors & windows). The bed was extremely comfortable, TV service was great, # of windows for cross room ventilation so we did not need to use AC. The daily makeup of the room was always taken care of in a timely, friendly, non-intrusive manner.
This is really a family owned and operated facility and you'll find the owners all over the place tidying the grounds, watering the plants, etc. on a daily basis. I was please to see their interaction with the Hill Climb guests, many long time customers, each morning & evening.
After my initial surprise I found Rainbow an interesting stay, maybe with the exception of the dark, closet sized shower! I'd call it a unique experience.
A recommendation would come with all of the above cautions.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OhioHank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn Haven, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We had a family reunion over Memorial Day week end and were very pleased with the set ups provided here. The prices, considering what we needed, providing a nice area of picnic tables under canopies, and a variety of different types of units, could not have been better. We had thirty two people with space for all. The owners--Eric and Janina were very friendly and accommodating, they allowed us to move tables from in front of the office area for additional space. The location, as mentioned by others, close to the many Manitou and Colorado Springs attractions, was wonderful. Its in a breathtakingly beautiful area with the Garden of the Gods close by, and the majestic Pike's Peak overlooking the area. Numerous city parks dot the area and the magnificent mineral springs are to be seen and tasted. The only draw back was some of the maintenance in some of the cabins. If its luxury you are after, this is not the place. It's an older motel and a little musty. My telephone never worked the whole time I was there. This was reported but never repaired. The calibration on the oven was way off. Light bulbs were missing from several light fixtures. The pull out sofa was missing pillow cases and one pillow. The bulbs and missing bedding I was able to secure by requesting them from Janina who did provide them with a smile. If its quaintness and uniqueness you are after then this could be the place. I would certainly recommend it for a family reunion or large family get together. The negatives were minor compared to the joy we all felt upon having a good place to be together.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2trvl32407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed here two nights...purely by coincidence and chance and found it to be very clean, comfortable and handy to all the sights of Colorado Springs area. If you like to stay in places with "character" that are well run and comfortable at a great price...you'll like the Rainbow Motel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonComba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We came across this place after exhausting our search for a house large enough to house our crew for USAFA graduation. We were a little late making arrangements for a rental house and the prices of what was available for rental houses were more than what we wanted to pay. Rainbow provided the flexibility of having a large group area (the executive suite) where we could gather for meals and to visit, with the flexibility of extended rooming arrangements (cottages, single bedrooms, etc.) that could satisfy everyone's differing wants and needs. It allowed flexibility for some last minute changes (some people left earlier than planned, some stayed longer). The best part was the availability of their breakfast room for our graduation open house--was the perfect setting for a wonderful celebration. Eric and Janina, owners, bent over backwards to accomodate all our needs--their hospitality was amazing! All our crew commented on the cleanliness of their rooms--the housecleaning staff was great. Plus, with Old Colorado City a couple blocks in one direction and Manitou Springs a couple blocks the other direction, Garden of the Gods only 10 minutes to the north and grocery and pharmacy even closer, we had it made! We took the back route (31st to Fontenera to Fillmore to Hwy. 25) and used the south gate to save time to all the graduation events. Highly recommend this place for a special family gathering!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familygatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of the Gods
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of ...
#46 of 105 in Colorado Springs
498 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eagle Motel
Eagle Motel
#7 of 10 in Manitou Springs
86 reviews
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
532 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mel-Haven Lodge
Mel-Haven Lodge
#43 of 105 in Colorado Springs
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buffalo Lodge
Buffalo Lodge
#5 of 18 in Colorado Springs
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Motel Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Motel Colorado Springs

Property: Rainbow Motel Colorado Springs
Address: 3709 W Colorado Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-1915
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rainbow Motel Colorado Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Rainbow Motel Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Motel Colorado Springs Hotel Colorado Springs
Rainbow Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing