We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded, peaceful and great food!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colorado Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hughes Hacienda Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed November 29, 2009

We booked into the Hacienda for a couple of nights whilst travelling round Colorado - upon our arrival, we were surprised and charmed to see that the innkeepers had flown a Union Jack in honour of our arrival! The thoughtfulness and attention to detail continued throughout our stay - the room was cozy and even prettier than the photos on the website, the hacienda was in a stunning location on the side of the mountain, and the breakfasts in the morning were wonderful! Wayne and Carol were charming and helpful, providing advice and travel tips before and during our stay. Would happily stay there again; and would even consider going back to Colorado Springs specifically to enjoy their hospitality!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 65 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2009

From the moment you pull up to this well hidden haven nestled in the red hills of southern Colorado you feel the relaxation and peace that only Nature can provide.
Hosts Wayne and Carroll guide you to your room and walk you through the various amenities. The two rooms available are called the Baja Room and the Hacienda Suite. Some amenities include satellite radio/tv, refrigerator, and a personal bathroom. The Baja room is located on the first floor. It has 14 foot ceilings and leads to a private balcony overlooking the Blue Mountains in the backyard. The Hacienda Suite is located in the fully furnished basement and includes a wonderful Kiva fireplace. The two rooms are impeccably designed reflecting Wayne and Carroll's sophisticated personal style and complimenting the hosts' worldly travels. Hosts Wayne and Carroll provide you with all the amenities that you need and respect your privacy.
We stayed one night in the Baja Room which featured a lovely view of the backyard bird feeder and distant mountains. The bed was very comfortable with cozy sheets topped with soft pillows. Soft cotton robes await in your closet. Located near your bedroom is a gorgeous blue-tiled bathroom with fresh towels and washcloths.
After the first night we moved down to the larger Hacienda Suite. The bed is a king and very comfortable as well. This room features gorgeous southwestern motif reminiscent of the Cowboy era. The lovely Kiva fireplace was perfect for warming feet up after a climb up Pike's Peak.
Did I mention that Wayne prepared a delicious breakfast each morning? Breakfast includes (but is not limited to) delicious fresh fruit, blueberry and blue corn tortilla pancakes with melted butter and syrup. While you dine you can chat with the hosts and enjoy a good strong cup of Carroll's coffee while you watch the birds and distant mountains and plan for your next exciting day in Colorado.
Bottom line- The Hacienda is located in an isolated yet accessible area 15 minutes south of downtown Colorado Springs.
Be sure to review the user-friendly website for further details, and call ahead for reservations,(www.hugheshacienda.com). The Hacienda accommodates travelers from all over the world. The place is best for retirees, honeymooners, couples and singles. No pets or children are allowed.
Make no mistake, beautiful Hughes Hacienda is no party hotel, it is a small southwest styled Bed and Breakfast located on the outskirts of Colorado Springs and is a wonderful stay for those who choose to live the life a little off the beaten path.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sponge12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

We stayed for 4 wonderful days where the peace and tranquility was fantastic, located, as it is, in unspoilt countryside away from the hustle & bustle of modern day living. The welcome by the hosts, Wayne & Carol Hughes was wonderful and set the tone for the rest of our stay. Wayne's breakfasts are delicious. We stayed in their Hacienda Suite and this was faultless. The decor throughout the whole house is excellent, with a true western flavour. If you choose to stay at Hughes Hacienda then follow their advice of where to eat, you will not be disappointed. Our stay was a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dregger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

July 2008, reserved 3 nights at Hughes Hacienda Bed & Breakfast and stayed less that 15 minutes. Everything the website listed was mostly wrong. The expensive room I reserved was located two flights of stairs in his basement. The room was small, dark and very old. The windows looking out was ground level, viewing the dead grounds of the side of the house. The website mentioned cozy leather chairs to enjoy the fire, but did not mention the leather chairs were very old and not not kept up...had tons on cracks in it...how cozy. The website also mentioned setting out back enjoying the wildflowers and greenery...not true, everything was dead outside. The website also mentioned that you could use the dining room and living room next to the fireplace...not true, that part of the house was off limits. We could only come in and go straight to our room or to go to backyard, where we would have our breakfast at. For the short time we were their we felt very uncomfortable, so we left immediately! We do not recommend this place to anyone...reminder if you cannot cancel the same day, then don't reserve. We got ripped off $517.00!!! Please don't waste your money on this place!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
2  Thank Prince63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hughesw, Owner at Hughes Hacienda Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2010

It seemed that this lady had some personal problens that prevent her form enjoying life and wants to blame others for her problems. We did nothing to cause her to be so angry at us.
We wish her well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Hughes Hacienda is an outstanding B&B. My wife and I stayed in the Baja room, which features a view that can be unequaled. One wakes up to a spectacular view of the mountains, which is an immediate morning jump-start for you to get up and go out to the private balcony to enjoy the sights and wildlife.
The beds are extremely comfortable, and the room is cozy and inviting.
Of course what is a Bed and Breakfast without the breakfast? Wayne cooks food that we looked forward to each morning. We sat at the outdoor dining area, and ate our food, while enjoying the birds. His grand finale for our stay was his "world famous" blue corn pancakes. The pancakes were so great that I can still taste them, when I think about them.
The grounds of the Hughes Hacienda were simply beautiful. There is a courtyard, with sitting area to enjoy the fountain, and a hot tub. Out back, near Carol's beautiful flower bed, my wife and I sat quietly at dusk, one night, to view some deer as they came up to graze and get a drink from the fountain. As we sat, a full grown doe, came within ten feet of us to get a drink. It was an unforgettable experience.
Finally, one must make note of our hosts. Wayne and Carol are friendly and down to earth, and made us feel at home. We are so happy that they shared their home with us! My wife and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spilkerart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

We had a short 4 day trip planned and wanted to start off the first morning away from the hussle and bussle of city life. This was a short drive from COS airport and certainly met our expectations. Lovely home, gorgeous views, peaceful and quite, super breakfast - just wanted we wanted to start our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

After making the reservation and coming to the Hasienda from Denver, I had explained that I was having a couple join us for drinks but would be gone by 8pm. I was politely told no others were allow to join me. Drinks?! My friends that I came to visit? I brought in my credit card in to CANCEL but instead of canceling it as it was swiped... they ran it as I they gave me the impression that they were CANCELING it. And to give me the impression it was CANCELED? I have worked for The Stanley, The Little Nell in Aspen, and The Broadmoor so I know how things go but if you tell someone you are running their card to cancel and then you don't??? Sweet couple but did they need MY money THAT bad???

We ended up going elsewhere for the evening...

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank JetSetDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hughesw, Owner at Hughes Hacienda Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2010

This young lady booked a room with us as a single occupant, to our surprise friends of hers started showing up before she arrived, they wanted to wait in the room for her and use the bathroom. When the registered guest arrived she said she had invited some friends over for a PARTY. When I informed her that we do not allow non registered guests for security of our other guests she decided to leave.
The room had been used and according to our cancellation policy she was charged for the one night stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
19.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 103 in Colorado Springs
1,585 reviews
12.7 mi away
Holden House - 1902 Bed and Breakfast Inn
Holden House - 1902 Bed and Brea...
#4 of 17 in Colorado Springs
131 reviews
13.3 mi away
Old Town Guesthouse B&B
Old Town Guesthouse B&B
#1 of 17 in Colorado Springs
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Spurs and Lace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Spurs and Lace Bed and Breakfast...
#6 of 17 in Colorado Springs
89 reviews
25 mi away
Black Forest Bed and Breakfast
Black Forest Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 17 in Colorado Springs
29 reviews
13.2 mi away
The St. Mary's Inn, Bed and Breakfast
The St. Mary's Inn, Bed and Brea...
#2 of 17 in Colorado Springs
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hughes Hacienda Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hughes Hacienda Bed & Breakfast

Address: 12060 Calle Corvo, Colorado Springs, CO 80926-9640
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Colorado Springs
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing