We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Setting, Amazing Views, Gourmet Food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colorado Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hughes Hacienda Bed & Breakfast
Golden
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful Setting, Amazing Views, Gourmet Food”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We aren't big B&B folks, so we weren't sure what to expect. As you pull up you get the name of the place, it looks like what a Hacienda should look like. This is a beautiful Hacienda/Mission style home that is perfectly designed and decorated. Wayne and Carol are great hosts, helpful and friendly. They had relaxing music on when we arrived, our room was cozy and perfect for a weekend getaway from the kids. The icing on the cake was Wayne's breakfast, both mornings it was a gourmet presentation that tasted even better than it looked. It's a little out of the way, but isn't that the point?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    4
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
44
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have been to many a B&B's and Hughes Hacienda was top notch. The breakfast was amazing and the views were awesome. We ate breakfast outside on the patio overlooking the mountains. It was very quiet. In order to get here, you definitely need to follow the directions or you will get lost. It is off of the beaten path but that is a good thing when you want to getaway.

Room Tip: Baja Room has a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBjunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Let's face it, everything in Colorado is a drive. Hughes Hacienda is 20 to 45 minutes from the Springs, depending on what spot you're talking about. What you get for that jaunt is quiet and incredible views.

We stayed seven days and booked the suite which is downstairs (just one flight, in two halves). Now, I understand how some folks might not be happy about windows at ground level - assuming they want to spend their time in the room looking out. We didn't come to Colorado to stay in our room. We spent time on the patios (one covered, one uncovered) taking in the beautiful scenery in the morning and evening. The seclusion of the room actually worked out well in the evening when we came in and wanted to catch a bit of TV - no worries about disturbing anyone.

The breakfasts were incredible. Wayne prides himself on never repeating a meal during a guest's stay. They were all very well prepared and presented. The rich coffee flows freely.

Wayne and Carol have been running their B&B for nearly two decades, but you can hear in their voices and see in their faces that they still enjoy welcoming new friends and offering their best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is an easy review. Wayne owns a one of a kind BB nestled in the hills of blue mountain just south of Colorado Springs. We stayed in the smaller but more scenic Baja room with a porch overlooking the mountains.

A lot of little surprises such as the plethora of humming birds feeding and buzzing around the porches, hot tub in the courtyard, ambient music playing through out the property and the classic southwestern decor in every part of the house.

Breakfast on the back patio was top notch, Wayne obviously has done this before. We even had to leave at dawn for a flight and Wayne left us a continental breakfast in our room the night before.

Great views, peaceful and private...we could have stayed so much longer!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennyblue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hughes Hacienda is the most beautiful piece of paradise on Earth! Every aspect of your stay will exceed your expectations and you will not want to leave.

From the gorgeous setting in a Red Rock Valley surrounded by touchable Rocky Mountain foothills to the outstanding gourmet breakfasts at the outdoor table surrounded by flowers and wildlife- you will agree there is no finer Bed and Breakfast in the U.S.!

And if you hear about Colorado Wildfires- they aren't near Hughes Hacienda- so keep that reservation and experience the most peaceful place on earth!

5 stars x a million!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneKM20131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This is our favorite bed and breakfast by far. Wayne and Carol Hughes are top notch hosts; interesting and friendly with an exquisite eye for that which is tranquil, beautiful and welcoming.
The Hacienda is nestled on a wooded hill looking out upon a red rock canyon and beautiful Rocky Mountain foothills.
You are surrounded with pines,aspen, and oak; flowers,birds and western decor while serene music plays from the whole house audio system.
Wayne makes a wonderful gourmet breakfast with a beautiful presentation and delicious flavors! He's a passionate and creative cook and you can stay there a week and never have the same meal twice, and each will be a delight for the senses.
The Hacienda suite is spacious, comfortable and pleasing with many amenities including a stereo system, refrigerator, small kitchenette, private bath, and very comfortable king bed, and a chiminea fireplace.
After a sit in the therapeutic spa in the adobe-walled courtyard with the stars overhead...aaah...you'll sleep like a baby!
We love this place! It is simply a wonderful dose of serenity for the soul. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWM61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level 6 Contributor
777 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were visiting family on the other side of Colorado Springs and I didn't read a map right before I booked this place, my fault. It was a bit remote so try to arrive during the daylight. It is up a rugged dirt road so I'm glad I was NOT driving my low to the ground luxury car. There are only two rooms, one with a king bed (which we did not get) and the other with a double. Balcony was pleasant, breakfast out of doors communing with the birds was very nice. The host is very prompt with your food and it is quite good. Due to the fires, we had to take quick showers and we were told the living room was off limits we could only use the outdoor spaces beside our bedroom and bathroom (which was across the hall). I found the bathroom placement awkward when they were in the kitchen making breakfast. A nice retreat with great music around the place. Not at all suitable for children.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
16.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of the Gods
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of ...
#41 of 105 in Colorado Springs
508 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,908 reviews
13.3 mi away
Old Town Guesthouse B&B
Old Town Guesthouse B&B
#2 of 17 in Colorado Springs
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Lennox House Bed and Breakfast
Lennox House Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 17 in Colorado Springs
103 reviews
9.3 mi away
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
#19 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,432 reviews
13.5 mi away
Spurs and Lace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Spurs and Lace Bed and Breakfast...
#7 of 17 in Colorado Springs
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hughes Hacienda Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hughes Hacienda Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hughes Hacienda Bed & Breakfast
Address: 12060 Calle Corvo, Colorado Springs, CO 80926-9640
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Colorado Springs
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing