We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden of the Gods Club and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Ellensburg, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best view EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel had the best view of any hotel I have ever stayed in. Overall, we had a great stay and were disappointed when it was time to leave.

The room was spacious (even a walk-in closet!), and our second floor location allowed us a fabulous balcony.

The only downside to our visit was the noise outside the room. With the doors closed, the room was very soundproof, but with the patio door open to the balcony the noise from the neighbors on either side of us was quite loud. The balcony is not your personal phone booth! Our room was also very close to the main lodge, so we could hear noise from the outdoor dining and quite a bit of noise from a Friday night wedding. We couldn't sit on the balcony at all on Friday night unless we wanted to listen to the wedding party - music, cheering, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    163
    59
    18
    13
See reviews for
239
409
29
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here many times and love this place! I was happy with the room, had a nice dinner on the lodge patio while enjoying the incredible views! Unfortunately the service at the lodge pool was very lacking. There were two servers who obviously saw us from behind the counter but were more interested in chatting with each other and on their cell phones... I finally got one of the girls to come over and had to ask her for a menu. 10 minutes later she returned to take our order. The servers would disappear for awhile. Then return and chat with each other.... Finally brought sandwiches 25 minutes later.... The pool and restaurants were not busy, so we were puzzled at the slow service. We were also surprised that the tables were dirty and they did not clean them when they had so much free time on their hands. Ended up eating our llunch on a dirty table. I hope that the service at the pool will improve so that guests will feel welcome and the experience will be up to par with the rest of the resort.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank susiebella7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca K, General Manager at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We thank you for your many stays with us and continued loyalty. We really appreciate your kind words in regards to our rooms and dinner service. I am very sorry our service at the pool was not up to the standards we pride ourselves in. We are currently putting all of our front of house staff through a vigorous training program to keep our service at the level you expect when you stay with us. I am sure you will be proud to stay with us next time your travels take you to Colorado Springs.

- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

As most reviews agree, waking up to the sun shinning off the rocks in the Garden of the Gods is breathtaking! Very comfortable bed and able to sleep with fresh air not air conditioning (air conditioner a blessing during wind storm!). Truly best hotel sleep I have had in a long time! Very good food in the pub and restaurant. Great staff - especially Karen, the customer service manager. Note: this is a LODGE not an inn or luxury hotel. If you think lodge, you will not be disappointed. Note: the lodge is part of a country club/neighborhood complex which is why the main pool is off site. Golf courses (27holes) are well maintained and playable. Not crowded during the week. Perfect place for golf holiday.

Room Tip: South wing rooms have large deep patios that shelter from sun and weather but no fireplace. Deer an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golftravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I spent a night here, passing through on the way to be family reunion. The view from my room was breathtaking, and I could have spent days just sitting on the balcony. The views from the lounge and restaurant are also beautiful, and the food was good. The front desk clerk was enthusiastic and helpful. I would stay here again (and probably not just for one night!).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdec_austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo West, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this property last week. The rooms are beautiful inside with one of the best views in the country, the staff was very accommodating in every area of the resort. We had dinner on the patio over looking Garden if the Gods and enjoyed one of the best meals of my life.

If you are in Colorado Springs this resort is by far your best choice. Championship golf across the street with and amazing resort with staff waiting to make your day.

Room Tip: Every room has an amazing view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

When we first arrived at our room we were absolutely delighted - the view was beautiful, the room was fabulous and spacious, even had walk in closets and a lovely patio area. Dinner that night was perfect and room service breakfast next morning - with that view was something else.
Unfortunately when we returned that evening, looking forward to relaxing in our room, we opened the door to find that the ' Room Fairy ' ( my name for housekeeping ) had not been in, even though she saw us leave that morning when she was doing the room next to ours.
The breakfast tray was still on the side, no replacement beverages, no replacement toiletries, beds unmade and nothing done since we left that morning.
We phoned reception and although the night manager did his best by turning up with two toilet rolls, a box of tissues and for some reason, two bathmats - bless him - we didn't find the collection of much use.
We have been coming to the USA for Eighteen years and have never had this happen even in the less expensive hotels.
When we complained at checkout next morning we were made to feel like we were being fussy and the man on reception knocked a few dollars off our bill and said it would at least pay for our breakfast that morning. Big deal! Are we supposed to feel grateful after having our stay spoiled?
If I wanted to clean a room I would have stayed home. Would the management of Garden of the Gods accept this treatment if it happened to them on their vacation? No, I think not!

Room Tip: Be sure to check up on housekeeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca K, Manager at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for not having your room cleaned and how it negatively impacted your stay. In my years as the GM at the Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, we have never missed cleaning a room. We pride ourselves on attention to detail and a sense of urgency and we did not provide you with either regarding the cleaning of your room. We will pay much more attention to ensure we never miss a room again.

We do very much appreciate your positive comments about the room being spacious, views beautiful, dinner being "perfect" and room service with the view being “something else.” We hope you will consider staying with us in the future and allow us to demonstrate the “excellence-minded” service culture we have been known for and enjoy providing our guests.

Again, I hope you will accept our most sincere apology for the disappointment you experienced as a result of your room not being cleaned and we hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the service and level of professionalism you are deserving of and more.

- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed in the south part of the hotel for a weekend getaway. The views are amazing and we had a very pleasant experience with the staff (very friendly and customer service oriented). I believe all of the rooms have similar views overlooking Garden of the Gods and Pike's Peak beyond (we never bothered to close the curtains). The food was quite good, although they have a dress code in the main dining room so we ate at in the less formal bar area (same menu). The room itself was clean and everything worked but was dated (very 1970's/1980's). The ownership needs to invest some $ in updating the rooms between the popcorn ceilings, dated furnishings and especially the bathroom area. The adjoining rooms had connecting doors with large gaps at the floor so noise was a problem (as was light when the neighbor came home late and we put pillows against the door/floor to lessen the impact). Overall, the price seemed a little steep for the room and would probably go somewhere else for the price (i.e. - The Broadmoor). The views and staff were a 5, the room was a 2, so I gave it a 3.5 overall.

Room Tip: Try staying in the northern part of the hotel, it may be more updated. Bring dress pants if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichDBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca K, Manager at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for visiting our Resort and sharing your overall pleasant experience with us. Our new ownership has much invested in a renovation plan for the Resort. Currently, the Front Desk reception area is receiving a complete renovation, a new bar and café called the Fireside Lounge has been added to the lobby, and all of our dining areas are receiving updates. Improving and updating the guest rooms will be the next phase of renovation. We encourage you to visit us again next year to experience our new look and enjoy our latest improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
4.1 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 106 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 1,655 reviews
8.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#1 of 106 in Colorado Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 12 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#4 of 106 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn...
#8 of 106 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 865 reviews
3.4 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#10 of 106 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden of the Gods Club and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of the Gods Club and Resort

Property: Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Address: 3320 Mesa Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-1036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Colorado Springs
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#7 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#8 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden of the Gods Club and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Colorado Springs, Garden of the Gods Club and Resort is a 69-room legendary golf and spa resort boasting breathtaking views of Pikes Peak and the red rock formations of the Garden of the Gods National Landmark. Guests have complete access to all of Garden of the Gods Club and Resort's amenities, which include fine and casual dining, a state-of-the-art sports club, a spa and salon, a 27-hole golf course, tennis courts, and swimming pools. All guest rooms feature a dramatic view of Garden of the Gods and Pikes Peak from either a private patio or balcony and include a refrigerator, coffee maker and bath robes. Wireless Internet access and daily newspaper delivery are included in the resort fee. The Club and Resort is also a retreat for weddings, social events, and executive meetings. During your stay at Garden of the Gods Club and Resort, you can be as active or as pampered as you desire. Take advantage of the Sports Club's wide variety of fitness equipment and group exercise classes, hit the nearby walking trails, or get a golf or tennis lesson from our PGA or USPTA-certified professionals. The full-service spa and salon offers massages, facials, body treatments, manicures and pedicures, hair care services, and luxurious retail products, and the cuisine served in The Club and Resort's Dining Room rivals that of some of the finest restaurants in larger cities. Additional dining options include The Lounge and, on a seasonal basis, Kissing Camels Grille at the golf clubhouse. The Garden of the Gods Club and Resort is conveniently located within five miles of many popular Colorado Springs attractions, including Garden of the Gods Park, the Rock Ledge Ranch historic site, the Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center and the Old Colorado City shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Garden of the Gods Club and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Garden Of The Gods Club, Colorado Springs Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing