We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel - trying to improve but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Suites Downtown
Ranked #55 of 104 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Location was OK because it is near downtown Colorado Springs. However, the homeless people walking through the car-park and hanging around the trails in back were unnerving. The door locks are atrocious - the excuse that my cell phone must have demagnetized the key wore thin. New keys wouldn't work by the time we got to the room. Must have gotten about 30 new keys over the week's visit! Breakfast was good but the same every day. Phone blinked continuously to say there was a message but the message system was always 'busy" when we tried to retrieve the message. NOW - the ants - yes ants in the room. We had the carpets and walls sprayed and that lasted about a day. The ant problem needs to be dealt with - almost everyone in our party had the same complaint. The cleaning staff were VERY polite as were the desk staff but they all seemed overworked and under staffed. The room cleaners were working until late in the afternoon cleaning rooms - they need more staff. Coming back to a room at 5pm and it not being cleaned is unacceptable - get some more staff. Place is still being repaired - dry-wall is patched, pool is old, carpets all need replacing. Overall friendly staff but the hotel is very tired and needs a major redo, including longer shower curtains that don't let water run all over the floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite not a junior suite in the Quality Inn side and not Clarion but monitor for ants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelawareChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taves M, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Please accept my deepest apologies on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations on your recent visit. Feel free to call me at 719.329.7442 if you have additional suggestions for improvement. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Colorado Springs.


Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Quality Suites Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 206 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend for a family gathering and it ended up being a terrible mistake. First off, the "Free WiFi" went down Friday afternoon and was still down Monday morning when we left. The three network channels were somehow blocked so I never got to watch the Indy 500 or the NASCAR race. The room-to-room phone service did not work. There is a sign in the lobby that says "Sandwiches and Snacks", the attendant said "we haven't had those in a long time, we're just too lazy to take down the sign". The water temperature in the shower goes from warm to cold to scalding hot in a matter of seconds. And finally our room was not cleaned until 5:00 PM because "it was a busy weekend". I really don't think any of us will ever be back here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rky_mtn_biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taves M, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

I am very sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations over the weekend. The internet problem we experienced was an area wide problem that our internet provider was experiencing. I fully understand how important the internet is for travelers today. I am researching your other complaints and will address those issues that you have brought up. If you would contact me I would be more than happy to address your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Well let me say first that this property is older than most that I stay in, so the grout in the shower or the heat of the water would usually make me give a bad rating however the staff at this hotel is really nice and tey will go out of their way for you. I stayed a week here, thank you Priceline for the cheap rate. Girls always enjoy the pool, I enjoy the manager reception, and everyone likes the breakfast.

I do think the showers need to be redone, room 173 the shower head came off when I tried to adjust it. Also heat suddenly jumps to scalding hot so watch out for that. Bed comfortable, room cleaned well. (Best look maid staff too btw lol). So I have to say, without the staff this hotel is a 3 or less, they probably just need some budget for the inside and we talking a great hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taves M, Manager at Quality Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Terence,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Guest comments help us address areas of concern from a guest's perspective. Since we are not a newer property we are continually in the process of updating our hotel to keep up with guest expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have stayed here several times for swim meets in the Springs. It is so roomy - 2 bathrooms, a kitchen counter area, 2 TVs, a sitting room, and real bedding, not that foam blanket that so many hotels have. It is a great deal via several online discount sites and also has a great breakfast which starts at 6:30 a.m., important for early swim times! Not a super fancy property, but perfect for us. Also, convenient to many of the great downtown restaurants just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuziMish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taves M, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about your experience at the hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and breakfast and look forward to seeing you when you are in the area again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked 3 nights (2/13-16) in Quality Suites on priceline and it was prepaid. We asked for a two double bed room, the front desk staff said yes and when we came to the room, it was a King Bed. We called the front desk and he asked us to go to the front desk to switch the room. Yes, the guy switch us to another room but then charged our credit card for additional room with a much higher rate. We tried to communicate with the front desk every day. We were told they have talked to the manager and would take care of it. When we asked to talk to the manager, they said none of the managers are available. They said they would call us back but they never did. During the last two weeks, we called a couple of times again, still our credit card was double charged and no one responded us. It's a terrible experience that the managers could never be reached and they simply just ignored the problem and charged our credit card without our authorization.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellytang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taves M, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for writing and letting us know about your experience on your last stay.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues have been addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel was quite clean, but our room needed several things fixed. There was a hole punched in one of the bathroom doors, and the light fixture in same bathroom was missing...only a light bulb with ceiling joists exposed. Breakfast was good, and the room was quiet. Lobby and breakfast staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is the 3rd time we have stayed here. We came up for the fallen firefighters ceremony. It is a Clairion/Quality Suites combined. Our room was actually 2 rooms that had a wall removed. 2 of everything except beds including bathrooms. The staff was super from start to finish. Morning breakfast was super as it has been for several years running.
Our only problem was that the ac unit in the bedroom area did not work. I told the front desk on morning #2 and they said it would be fixed. It went out again in the middle of the night but the ac unit in the living area along with a window open kept if comfortable. Pool and spa were nice and there is an outdoor gazebo area that is nice for evening visits with friends.
The motel is within walking of downtown restauants/clubs etc or there is a shuttle sometimes. This time, the shuttle was out of service.
Will stay here everytime until something warrants me to change.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of the Gods
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of ...
#41 of 104 in Colorado Springs
528 reviews
0 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
Clarion Hotel and Conference Cen...
#57 of 104 in Colorado Springs
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Colorado Springs Dwtn Area
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#36 of 104 in Colorado Springs
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn South
Quality Inn South
#43 of 104 in Colorado Springs
256 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Colorado Springs South AP
La Quinta Inn & Suites Colorado ...
#22 of 104 in Colorado Springs
547 reviews
6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#70 of 104 in Colorado Springs
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Downtown

Address: 314 W Bijou St # A, Colorado Springs, CO 80905-1307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range: $81 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent non-smoking Quality Suites® Downtownis ideally located just nine miles from the Colorado SpringsAirport and has convenient access from Interstate 25. ThisColorado Springs, CO hotel is also close to many local pointsof interest, including Colorado College, the United StatesAir Force Academy, United States Olympic TrainingCenter, Pikes Peak (America's Mountain) and Garden ofthe Gods park, just to name a few.Hiking, mountain biking, running, rafting, boating, rockclimbing, horseback riding, fishing, golfing and ballooning aresome of the most popular activities that can be enjoyed yearround in this area.A grab-and-go food and beverage counter in the lobby isavailable 24 hours, offering sandwiches, soups, salads, beer,wine and cocktails. Enjoy our free manager's receptionMonday through Thursday from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m.Guest at this Colorado Springs, CO hotel are invited to enjoyamenities like:• Free hot American breakfast including scrambled eggs,sausage, hash browns and more• Manager's reception Monday through Thursdayproviding two free cocktails and hors d'oeuvres for eachguest• Free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms• Free local calls and free coffeeBe sure to enjoy our indoor saltwater pool and hot tub.Business travelers will welcome the convenience of thebusiness center, complete with copy and fax service.All of our rooms are two-room suites and consist of aseparate living area, sofa sleeper and two full bathrooms.In addition, all suites include microwaves, refrigeratorsand two televisions, as well as standard amenities like coffeemakers and hair dryers.Coin-operated laundry facilities are on the premises and valetcleaning services are offered for added convenience. Ampleparking is available for cars, trucks and buses.Whether you are traveling to the area for business orpleasure, make the Quality Suites Downtown your homeaway from home while visiting the Colorado Springs area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Downtown Hotel Colorado Springs
Quality Inn Colorado Springs
Quality Hotel Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing