We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunflower Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colorado Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunflower Lodge
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed 12 nights here and really loved this place! It is charming, loved all the personal touches that the room and entire place had. It is seconds from manitou springs and garden of the gods, old colorado city and all the attractions in that area. The owners were wonderful and will definitely stay here in the future when we visit. I recommend this place to everyone! Pet friendly also.

Room Tip: All of the cottages are decorated differently and are cute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I had looked at this property online and when we got there, it was pretty much as I expected it. We don't usually stay in 5 star hotels, so this place was fine with us, especially for 1 night. The owner was friendly, check-in was easy. The bedroom was large enough, nicely furnished, comfortable king-sized bed. Bathroom was tiny, shower was old and cheaply built, but it was sufficient. One interesting thing: There was only 1 water control for each sink/shower, so only one temperature for the water. Shower was warm, but couldn't get cool water to drink or rinse with.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BugsHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel! It had the feel of a bed and breakfast because of all the personal touches. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, friendly staff. We plan on staying here everytime we come to colorado springs!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed at the Sunflower Lodge recently and found the cottage to be serviceable. It is certainly not fancy but I did not expect that. The inside was clean. The water pressure in the shower was very low.
The problem with the Sunflower Lodge is the neighborhood. It looked very rundown and seedy. I would not allow my children (teenagers) to walk around outside.
If you need a place just to use as a room to stay in it is ok. But if you are looking to enjoy the locale you will probably be let down.

Room Tip: Colorado Springs is a big place make sure you book in the right part of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindyhistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Sunflower Lodge. It suited us well. It is not fancy or spacious but worked just fine.The king sized bed was super comfortable. The kitchen was a nice bonus and well equipped. Owner was pleasant and kind. The location was great for a visit to this area. Close to Garden of the Gods, Red Rock Canyon, Bear Creek Nature Reserve, Cheyenne Mountain. It is just between Old Colorado City and Manitou Springs, both charming towns full of galleries , shops and dining. The architecture in both of these towns is a delight. Though these little free standing cabins are on a main road, the traffic is minimal at night and the walls and windows do a good job of keeping sound out. It was not a problem at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent one night at the Sunflower Lodge. The owners were nice and, from the outside, the little casita looked really charming, like a little adobe cabin.. Our night there, however, was a sorry disappointment. The decor and furniture was cheap and very tacky. The mattress was way too soft. The furnace was old, loud and ran every 14 seconds so it was a noisy night. The water in the shower was barely hot enough. Only one burner worked on the two-burner electric stove. The cookware didn't have any lids. The one skillet had food residue in it. I wish I could recommend this place but I can't.

Room Tip: I can only report on the one room available for guests with dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billabong224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We rented the room with a king size bed to celebrate a birthday and we couldn't be happier. The stand alone adobe rooms are adorable! The bed was so comfortable, the sheets amazingly soft, and the kitchenette had everything including silverware, pots & pans, a toaster,microwave, 2 burner stove, coffee maker, and on and on. The bathroom was a shower only and that was just fine with us. The only odd thing was that you can't control the water temperature at all in the shower, bathroom sink, or kitchen sink. This was a first for both of us. The temperature was just perfect for a hot morning shower, just odd when brushing your teeth. The price can't be beat and I think we'll be returning over Thanksgiving!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erin620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
1.8 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.8 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buffalo Lodge
Buffalo Lodge
#5 of 18 in Colorado Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
#3 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Motel Colorado Springs
Rainbow Motel Colorado Springs
#49 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Lodge

Property: Sunflower Lodge
Address: 3703 W Colorado Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-1915
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Colorado Springs
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing