We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Sunflower Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colorado Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunflower Lodge
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay. It was conveinent to all the locations we wanted to see. Really loved the little lodges. Very clean and homey. Great staff meeting my every need. Enjoyed having the kitchenette. I will definitely stay here on any future trips. Access to Garden of the Gods made it easy to keep up with my early morning walks, when weather permitted that is. I would recommend it to anyone visiting that area.

Room Tip: Get your reservations in early as it is a small place and will fill up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed two nights. Quiet and peaceful. Room was squeaky clean. There was always a parking spot available. Good location. On the down side, we reserved a king and got a queen; room smelled of cigarette smoke; bed was so soft it was hard to sleep two; brown water from the kitchen tap; fridge didn't seem to work.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easytravellerhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Traveled from Little Rock to Colorado Springs by airplane. Landed at COS expecting to stay at at a Hampton near downtown Colorado Springs, but didn't get the reservation and had to scrounge for a room somewhere else. The Sunflower Lodge is what I chose because it still had vacancy. Stayed in room 42 which had some chairs and a nice glass table along with a Propane grill outside. Didn't expect much from the outside, but the inside was suprisingly very nice. Had a nice queen bed with a kitchenette, small bathroom, and many other little features. Also had Directv on an old 90's Symphonic TV. I asked the owner where the dog walk was, he said behind the rooms. It was obviously. Also in the back, there is a broken-up picnic table, a trampoline, and a fence leading to another property. Asked if there was continental breakfast, he said not on-site, but at the Rainbow Lodge next door. Continental Breakfast was little, but alright for the short walk. Also, I used the small old pool at the Rainbow. Although it doesn't have many amenities, it is way above what I believed it would be.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YouTubePooper101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed at Sunflower Lodge for four nights and thought it was a really great place. Old motor court style motel with each room a separate building. Our room had a king bed, kitchenette with small table, bathroom with a shower, and DirecTV. The room was older but clean and well maintained. The kitchen had a two burner stove, microwave, coffee maker, dorm sized fridge and a toaster as well as a few glasses, dishes, pots and utensils. Everything you could need! The room was very quiet too. We were close to a fairly busy street but never noticed any noise from inside the room.

The outside area is charming and they have done a wonderful job with landscaping and potted plants everywhere. It's very pretty. There was a nice area between our room and the next with a nice picnic area and a grill (we didn't use the grill).

The people who run the Sunflower Lodge were very friendly and helpful and a pleasure to deal with.

The location couldn't be better. We were just a few short minutes away from everywhere we wanted to go. The Garden of the Gods, The Pike's Peak Cog Railway, Cheyenne Cañon, Downtown Manitou Springs and Old Colorado City.

We really enjoyed our stay at

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_Cossairt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

The Sunflower Lodge is a classic motel from the 1950's. Each unit is independent. Ours had a queen-sized bed, a sitting area, a bathroom and a kitchenette. All of this for $60! It was nothing fancy, but it was clean, quiet, and very conveniently located to downtown Manitou Springs and Garden of the Gods. The manager was efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdiquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

I stayed here one night and was very satisfied. Clean, comfortable, roomy units at a reasonable price. Inside & outside look newly renovated. Each room is its own cabin, so you don't hear your neighbor's TV.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank chicago_traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
194 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We had reserved a room for two nights at the Rainbow Lodge, but when we arrived, the manager sent us next door to the Sunflower Lodge, owned by his cousin. This was a little annoying, but we looked at the cabin that was offered and it was acceptable. The facility was much less modern than the Rainbow Lodge, but since the units were not connected to each other, we thought it might be more private and quieter. (It was.) We were told that we could use the pool and laundry next door at the Rainbow Lodge, and could come there for the free continental breakfast. In any case, the price was very reasonable, and we got a 10% discount for staying two nights.

The room was adequate, with a comfortable bed and small TV, but there was little storage space and no chairs. There was a kitchenette with a small fridge, 2 burner stove, microwave, toaster and coffee maker.

The breakfast at the Rainbow Lodge wasn't worth the short walk over, and, after looking at what we offered, we decided to eat in our room. It was very high on carbs, with only two cereals, raisin bran and some colored kids' stuff, no fruit or yogurt. And the coffee wasn't worth drinking, according to coffeemaven. (I'm a tea drinker.)

We had a problem with our toilet, which kept getting stuffed up. Each time we informed them of this someone came to plunge it and finally they said they needed to call rotorooter.

The management was friendly, and did their best to be helpful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Toilet kept stuffing up
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeemavenswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
1.8 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buffalo Lodge
Buffalo Lodge
#5 of 18 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
#4 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Motel Colorado Springs
Rainbow Motel Colorado Springs
#49 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Lodge

Property: Sunflower Lodge
Address: 3703 W Colorado Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-1915
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Colorado Springs
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing