We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carlos Wins Again”
Review of Carlos Bistro

Carlos Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Carlos Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 1,430 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hw 24
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Carlos Wins Again”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stopped in for the early bird menu on a Thursday night. Had the place to ourselves. Both of us had the halibut with risotto. Excellently cooked and beautiful to look at. I had the insalata caprese salad for starters and the mozzarella was excellent. The wife had the caesar salad for a starter and raved about it. The cocktails are premium all the way, and I can only drink one. Try the Maker's Old Fashioned. It rocks. And the gin gimlet on the rocks is really tasty. The wife loves them here but nowhere else. And the next morning we read Carlos won another award for quality and service. We concur!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lsk0334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    32
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb!!!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was our first visit to Carlos' Bistro and we were highly pleased with the entire experience!!! Other than the Penrose Room at the Broadmoor, this is by far the best restaurant in Colorado Springs!!! From the moment Carlos greeted us the door, the whole night was wonderful. The food was excellent, the service was exceptional and we would highly recommend Carlos' Bistro to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Half Price Meals Between 5-5:30”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Smaller portions but same delicious servings as full price menu. The owner makes this restaurant special with his friendly, room roaming, customer service interaction. Desserts are exceptional

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank serenity033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Yes, yes, yes!!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

As someone else wrote, the building outside is rather plain so we were kind of worried. However, inside is nice although on the small side. We sat by the window which had an outdoors fire going, which was nice. In the winter, they probably have the beautiful fireplace going. We were greeted by Carlos himself ~ an amazing, wonderful man, full of passion for his restaurant and the food. What a pleasure to get to know him, even before taking a bite!

The menu had EVERYTHING from Nachos, to calves liver, to paella! HUGE variety which make me skeptical if it was good instead of specializing in something. The answer is a huge YES! I had grilled shrimp while my husband had scallops, after we had cocktails (from their fabulous list) and appetizers. I've had shrimp from around the world and I use to live in New Orleans, but this almost exploding in my mouth with flavor! Portions were very generous and our server was EXCELLENT. (Wish I could remember her name!) The dessert menu was creative. Hard to make a decision. However, it was suggested their brandy cherries tucked under a cloud of lovely whipped cream (flavored with an African vanilla!). It was heavenly! In fact, the next night we tried another restaurant but came back to Carlos for dessert...more of the cherries!

If we lived there, we would try to go all the time. Wiith the variety on the menu, we would never get bored! However, we do think its pricey. It kept me from trying paella at $49 and a Filet Mignon is $55 although a lot comes with it. A little bit lower could actually increase his crowd. Still there is a wide range in prices and its still easy to find something on the menu that is wonderful!

I truly think if word gets around, it would be the hottest place in town! Already looking for an excuse to go back to Colorado Springs, just to eat at Carlos!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best in the Springs”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The exterior is rather plain and we passed by this place for a long time without trying it but when you open the front door you are in for a treat. Be prepared for a pricey menu but it is well worth it. This is a fine dining experience that rivals the Broadmoor for cuisine excellence without being pretentious.
Carlos, the owner, is the consummate host and restaurateur and usually meets guest at the front door with his trade-mark tie draped over his shoulder. The attention to detail shows from the artisanal breads with softened butter at each table to a truly eclectic menu of fresh seafood and top quality meat dishes. The new website for the restaurant shows their menu and they always have some interesting specials in addition.
The staff is exceptionally well trained and attentive and the dishes the Chef creates are always extraordinary. This has become our favorite restaurant in Colorado Springs and over the years we’ve been going there we’ve never been disappointed one time. Carlo’s consistently offers an outstanding dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rnj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlos Bistro also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Carlos Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing