We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yumm...”
Review of Bird Dog BBQ

Bird Dog BBQ
Ranked #91 of 1,437 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Oklahoma Style BBQ...Perfected in Colorado. We have been voted Best BBQ in Colorado Springs every year since 2007! A true Colorado original, Bird Dog can be described using one word...different. Be it our cooking techniques, our house-made gluten-free sauces, our facilities, or even our name, we've taken every opportunity to zig where others zag. The result is a truly incomparable BBQ experience centered on the "BBQ un-snob". Bird Dog BBQ...what makes YOU different? *Just a FYI, we are sorry for the inconvenience but we do not take phone in orders, as we do not want to stop our line of patiently waiting customers to take an order and then again each time someone shows up to pay and pick up their order. Thank you for understanding:)
Colorado Springs
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yumm...”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stopped in for take out (my turn to cook dinner). The brisket was tender, tasty, and affordable. It is in a shopping center so you have to look hard to find it. The sign doesn't stand out very well. It's a no nonsense place to eat in and that's fine. I have been there for lunch and take out at dinner time. it is never empty. Staff are friendly and portions are generous.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vacationer010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    59
    10
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beefalicious!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

One of the better BBQ places in town. This is one location, they now have several all over town.
Pulled pork is good as well as their beef ribs. Also enjoyed their beans and cole slaw. The one thing they are missing is baby back ribs but overall very good!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great Barbecue for take out”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have used it 3 times and will again. The beef brisket and sausage (hot and milder) are my favorite. Their regular barbecue sauce is very good; haven't tried the hot version.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gayle157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It was good! So were the prices”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Its no-frills BBQ. They serve beer also! The location is out of the way. None of us went home hungry. The peach cobbler was AWESOME!!

Helpful?
Thank ThatGuy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great shopping mall surprise”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I didn't expect great bbq in a shopping mall next to King Soopers, but wow, this is the real deal. I got pulled pork and fried okra to go. The pulled pork was wonderful with a strong flavor in itself and adding the spicy bbq sauce made is spectacular. Fried okra was a great compliment and a nice change of pace to typical fast food fare.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gest25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bird Dog BBQ also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Bird Dog BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing