We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inspirational!”

United States Air Force Academy
Book In Advance
More Info
$780.00*
and up
Private Tour to Pikes Peak Garden of Gods
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can tour this modern sprawling campus that includes the Academy, Falcon Stadium, a chapel and Arnold Hall, a museum honoring Air Force personnel.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inspirational!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We enjoyed the Visitor's Center, a guided tour, and then a band performance that evening celebrating the academy's 60th anniversary. To enter the gate, be prepared to show identification and to have your trunk and car inspected.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KCSunshine24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,442
    487
    119
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Campus”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

The USAFA is a wonderful campus. They do their best to show you the life of a cadet, but I rarely saw one. They try to keep you separate from them, which is understandable as it is a school, not a zoo. Nonetheless, the presentation is short and sweet and shows you just what you need to know.

Helpful?
Thank AmericanSisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

A beautiful campus. Visitor center gives a great history of the beginning of the Academy up until current times. Walk to the chapel, make sure to check out the other places of worship downstairs.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cody62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Chapel ”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed touring the grounds, even though I'm an Army vet. I loved the modern feel of the chapel. There were some great models nearby of WWII aircraft such as the P-51, and of some bombers, I believe the B-17 was one of them. What a great place. On the way in there was an A-10 on display. I loved the A-10 when I was in Iraq.

Helpful?
Thank Birchbarkcanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful campus”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The campus at the Air Force Academy is absolutely beautiful. The visitor's center also has a decent exhibit to help you learn more about the Academy and what life is like for the cadets. The REAL star of the show is the Cadet Chapel though. It's breathtaking. The most beautiful church I've seen in North America, and so interesting with rooms for different major religions all combined in one building.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed United States Air Force Academy also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to United States Air Force Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing