We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must-See in the Springs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of United States Air Force Academy

United States Air Force Academy
Book In Advance
More Info
$780.00*
and up
Private Tour to Pikes Peak Garden of Gods
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can tour this modern sprawling campus that includes the Academy, Falcon Stadium, a chapel and Arnold Hall, a museum honoring Air Force personnel.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
461 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A Must-See in the Springs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

So much to see and do - Barry Goldwater Visitor's Center is reall neat, esp. for kids.
if you have the time -- take a bike and follow the Falcon Trail all the way around the base.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank COTraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,396
    469
    116
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Chapel visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you have a few hours, this is a wonderful place for a family visit
4 chapels in one building and features unique design for each chapel. If you can, arrange a guided tour, it is most informative and our host was very knowledgeable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is the newest of the service academies and the first that I have visited. I was amazed that the center piece of the tour was the unique chapel. It was designed by a Chicago firm and this was the first project for the lead architect. The color in the stained glass windows represent a progressing from the back to front of going from darkness to light. It has a world class pipe organ and the organist treated us to a concert of patriotic tunes in consideration that we were and still are veterans of a foreign war. We held a rather emotional ceremony in honor of the sixteen sailors who died in battle in WWII, the only fatalities suffered by the crew in the 30 year history of our ship. To that we added those who also have died since our last reunion. It was nice to have a service in the chapel at the Air Force Academy as the high point of our time in Vietnam was saving the life of an Air Force Pilot who had been shot down and was temporarily lost at sea. The chapel is unique in that it has separate areas of worship with the Protestant being on the main level with a smaller chapel for the Catholics, even smaller one for the Jewish Believers, and the smallest for the Buddhists. The art work in each area is very beautiful in color and meaning. The Chapel is open to the Public for worship services on Sundays and as appropriate.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't leave Colorado without visiting!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to the academy yesterday and were not disappointed!! The cadet chapel was impressive. We were there in time for Sunday services and it was so cool seeing so many visitors as well as cadets! We watched cadets doing their morning drills in the quad too!! The outdoor athletic complex was awesome to see!!! So glad we made this stop on our way to the airport!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dg45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The Chapel says it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stopped here on our way to Pike's Peak. What a beautiful setting to train our AF. In awe of the Chapel, with the stained glass and design. Loved that the denominations of faith all have their own area to worship

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KonaPeki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed United States Air Force Academy also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to United States Air Force Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing