We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots Of History”

United States Air Force Academy
Book In Advance
More Info
$780.00*
and up
Private Tour to Pikes Peak Garden of Gods
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can tour this modern sprawling campus that includes the Academy, Falcon Stadium, a chapel and Arnold Hall, a museum honoring Air Force personnel.
Dewey, Arizona
Level Contributor
163 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lots Of History”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The United States Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs Colorado isn’t just for Cadets and Officers, this institution is part of our countries history. The self guided tour through the campus is absolutely gorgeous.
Try to see more than the chapel, although you might not ever leave, it’s so awe inspiring.
Also, be sure to go to the Visitor’s Center and watch the short video before you go shopping for your must have apparel.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank doni-lei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,444
    487
    119
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very interesting - nice museum and Chapel.”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Take the North Entrance to visit the school, museum, and chapel. The short film was interesting if a bit dated. The Chapel is a very interesting building.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank sceva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Public friendly”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

In an era which I suspect most military bases have limited public access, this seemed very open to the public. It has very scenic car and bike routes. The visitor center, chapel, and B-52 are interesting. But not much more to see. Everything is free.

Helpful?
Thank throwingcopper33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I was here when I was little, and was so proud to bring my kids to see it! We began in the Visitor Center with a short video that was quite moving. We then walked a nice path to the chapel, which is an architectural and religious experience not to be missed. It is stunningly beautiful. The main floor of the building is a non-denominational Christian Church, and a Catholic chapel, Jewish temple, and Buddhist meditation room share the bottom floor. My 11-year-old commented, "it is wonderful to me that so many faiths share one roof, and everyone gets along". The grounds are sweeping and impressive and free to see. Don't miss it while in Colorado Springs.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank wish2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The US Air Force Academy is a side trip worth taking. Be sure to watch the short movie at the visitor center, visit the chapel, stop at the overlook spots to see planes, the Thunderbirds, etc. All ages will enjoy this one.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed United States Air Force Academy also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to United States Air Force Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing