We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Disappointed - Since Peterson is Space Command!”

Peterson Air & Space Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum is open to the public even though the museum is on an active Air Force installation. All that is required is for non-military ID card holders and groups to call us or submit a request on our web site a minimum of one day in advance of your visit (between 9 am and 12 pm MST) to arrange for a pass and detailed instructions. A State or federal issued Photo ID is required for all Non-DoD visitors over 18. Drivers will need to have proof of insurance and registration for their vehicles. The Museum preserves and portrays the rich aviation and space history of Colorado Springs and Peterson Air Force Base. From our barnstormer beginnings in the Roaring Twenties, through the daring exploits of our World War II pilots and into the modern space era, our exhibits are sure to capture your attention.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointed - Since Peterson is Space Command!”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Since Peterson is Space Command Headquarters, I thought there would be more space vehicles on display, but it is mainly aircraft and a few missiles. I expected to see everything from GPS to Milstar, but saw planes instead.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Houston H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    20
    7
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwood NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun and fact filled”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

It was a great photo opt to see all the planes and missiles. easy walking.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great air/space museum, get a tour from a guide!”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I took my parents and 12 year old son to tour your museum yesterday. We looked forward to a chance to wander through the museum and the air park.

We were met by Gus, who gave us a GREAT tour, customized for our interests and time availability. Gus was an excellent docent – very informative, great stories, wonderful guide. Well beyond our expectations. There's the museum you start in, and with a guide/docent you can also tour a plane and the hangar with the Peacekeeper missile bunker, both are recommended. And missiles and planes to see in the airpark.

You do need to call them in advance to arrange entry to the base unless you are military.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank BoulderHobbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very cool”
Reviewed June 13, 2009

This place is really cool. My husband's family and mine have been in Colorado for over 100 years so it was so cool to see the old airport they use to talk about. The "model" air craft in back are awesome!! Lots of neat flying history. Highly recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank herownworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
709 reviews
298 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,025 helpful votes
“very enjoyable!”
Reviewed April 16, 2005

We enjoyed our visit to the Peterson AFB air & space museum. There is a small museum with neat displays plus outside there are large, real airplanes and rockets from around the world! The museum is free, they are closed on Sun & Mon. We enjoyed our visit!!!

Helpful?
17 Thank nowincolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peterson Air & Space Museum also viewed

 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Peterson Air & Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing