We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Happy Hour, food is marginal” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Basil

Thai Basil
Ranked #208 of 1,403 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Happy Hour, food is marginal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Looking for Thai on x-mas was no problem with Thai Basil, but getting what I ordered was.
I ordered 2 Spring rolls (menu states " A nice paper wrap filled with shrimp, lettuce, bean sprouts, mint and rice noodle. Served with Thai peanut sauce. ") However it was cucumber, a slice of lettuce and rice noodles. Thai Eggplant (menu states "Beware. This hot and flavored dish with basil and mint could be addictive.) it was extremely syrupy, not a hint of spice, certainly not "hot", no basil or mint and all you should "beware" of is blandness. The Pad Thai was marginal and not spicy but the Green Curry with tofu was excellent. I called when I got home and realized what was certainly confusion on their part in my ordering only to have the woman on the phone argue with me, say "yes, we leave mint and basil out" and basically accuse me of ordering the wrong foods even though I merely quoted off their menu. $31 later...I will NOT return. If you want green curry and $1 beers at happy hour, it's a place to consider.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dogperson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    26
    15
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“unique massaman”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

A bit creamier & sweeter than normal, and a very fresh feeling. And $1 Asahi beers! Good value Thai eats, with good flavors to boot. Hard to go wrong if just needing a place for the eve.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank druviousness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, NJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Local Thai food that is worth writing home about!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great find in Colorado Springs and convenient to the Academy Hotel. Serving sizes are large and the food is authentic Thai

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank VistasVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good prices, good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I've eaten here for lunch twice. Lunch prices were reasonable (under $7), but the lunch items don't include soup as do most other Asian restaurants. My friends have had curry both times and liked their dishes very much. I had a tofu dish once (not so great) and Orange Beef once (very good). Another friend ordered Kung Pao chicken, and it looked nothing like we expected -- not crispy and breaded, and it came with vegetables.

So... If you aren't sure about the menu items and have assumptions about their preparation, you might want to ask first before ordering.

This is a small restaurant, so seating availability may be hit or miss.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“No Wonder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

As you walk up to the door, you can see the awards Thai Basil has won over the past years. After eating here for the first time, it's No Wonder why they've won those awards. The place was very busy and it took a few minutes to get a table and waited on initially, but it was worth the wait. Not one thing was bad. I'm not a fan of duck, but I tried the Crispy Duck my son ordered and enjoyed it. It was very good and we will return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Basil also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Thai Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing