We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not waste your Money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chipita Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lone Duck Campground
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not waste your Money”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We decided that we wanted to camp but knew the kids would hate being in complete wilderness so we decided to try Lone Duck Campground. Campground policy is that dogs are allowed on property as long as they are leashed and allowed in cabins as long as they are in a kennel. Our cabin faced the tent site, there was a tent right in front of our cabin that had a dog running around trying to get to my dogs. The kids were riding bikes through our cabin site and almost ran over one of my bogs. The cabins are one room and only one small window in Cabin 5, it was hot inside the cabin, my dogs were panting, kids yelling until 2 in the morning, we woke up and an unleashed dogs had defecated on our camp site. The pool is not taken care of and is cloudy and the water sprouts are not turned on often. The bathrooms and showers are gross, the showers are inserts that are painted over rather than cleaned. The pond is the size of maybe two small living rooms and the claim that all cabins face the pond its true kind of (expect cabin 5), but imagine cabins along the pond and how close you are, plus people are fishing on the pond. They decided to knock down a hornets nest, thanks for those visitors to go along with all the flies. Due to our unsatisfactory lodging experience we checked out a day early and didn't spend the second night that was already paid for; we got a "you checking out, ok thanks". As a business owner I would have inquired on why a patriot was willing to loose 65 bucks and was not continuing their camping experience with us (they have a 7 day cancellation policy). I don't care about the 65 bucks because it was my choice to leave but their lack of concern bothers me. Guess they need the money for that Mercedes SUV payment.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank RedLeg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukee, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed her for 2 nights last week. Campground was very clean. Camping sites were good sized and shaded. Front desk was very helpful. They could answer any of our questions and had great recommendations. They had a lodge that had a little store, bathrooms/showers, arcade and laundry. Bathrooms were small but clean. there is a pool, but we didn't use it. Very nice place, would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carverm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipita Park, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I probably wouldn't have left a review but the wife decided to lie so be it. The bathrooms are in disrepair and look like they are only cleaned once a month if that. There's only three stalls and showers for the whole campground. The pool took some real creative photography on their website because only one family at a time can swim in it. It is also not taken care of water is cloudy and not that warm. If you don't mind a lot of highway noise you're ok. If you like fighting flies for your breakfast then this is the place for you. If your lucky enough to get the wife off the computer to fix breakfast. Don't count on breakfast because if she's surfing the computer breakfast ain't gonna happen. She will lie to your face and tell you it ended a half hour before you got there, even though the husband and website say 7-10.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 24camper48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Wonderful place, wonderful owners, excellent in every way. Located near lots of things to do, but still hidden in the mountains. Road noise was a little loud. Would recommend for families. We stayed a week in a cabin. Beds were not great but better than a sleeping bag on a tent floor. Everything was very clean. Service was great.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettsclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

When we drove into the Lone Duck campground, we thought "what are we getting into?"
The campers were pack in very close together. We went ahead and stopped at the office and I am glad we did. The staff was very friendly and helped us to find a campsite that would fill our needs - 3 nights with electric. There were very few campsites to choose from. The campsite we found was a little uneven but we were able to get set up.
We found the bathrooms clean, the showers free, the laundry clean and all the machines worked. The best part was the $4 breakfast of pancakes, sausage, juice, and coffee. It was all you can eat.
Another advantage was the campground location. We were able to see all the sites we wanted around Colorado Springs without driving a long distance.
Overall the campground was well maintained, it was quiet at night except for the traffic on the highway nearby, the WiFi worked even in our camper, and the owners were very friendly and treated us like family.
We will be staying right here again when we get back to this area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneola, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We found this to be a good campground for families with kids as there are lots of them here. They do have a very nice pool and playground for kids. We spent two nights camping and one night in one of their cabins.

Camping - sites are very close together and depending where your site is you will have people walking through your site at night. Also quiet time is 10pm; however on Saturday night the people camping behind us were partying way past midnight.

Cabins - nice and clean with a double bed and a set of bunk beds. There is a mini frig and microwave in the cabin as well.

Showers and bathrooms - there are three showers and three bathroom stalls for men and the same for women. This is for the entire campground. They were clean however they did have a lingering odor. Trying to use the restroom or shower in the morning was nearly impossible. They definitely need to add more showers/restrooms for the size of this campground.

Also the campground is downhill from a major road and during the night you can hear trucks and cars driving on the highway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We camped six nights at Lone Duck campground this July. We were originally booked for five but decided to stay an extra night because we were not ready to leave. This place is perfect for our family. We camped with friends and had five kids between the ages of 2 and 8 in our group.
The pool is the cleanest pool we've ever been in! No hotel or resort has ever had a pool this clean. The kids loved it. There was a splash pad for the little ones and a great deck with lounge chairs for the adults.
The kids also enjoyed the playground, trout pond and arcade. On two rainy afternoons we went into the main lodge and the kids watched television on the big couch while the adults played cards.
We made use of the laundry facilities, dish cleaning station, hot showers, basketball court and pancake breakfast. They also have free hot coffee each morning and a popcorn machine that gets fired up each afternoon. The owners of this campground are very nice. They were very accomodating and are very knowledgeable about the area and what it has to offer. They take great care of the grounds. After each rain their were out moving dirt, picking up brush and pumping water off of the playground.
We were on a tent site that sat right next to the mountain stream. Some reviews mentioned noise from the road traffic being a problem. It never bothered us. At night, the sound of the stream drowned it all out.
We hiked Red Rock Canyon and spent an afternoon in downtown Manitou Springs. You are just minutes from lots of things to do if you wish to leave the campground but for the most part, our group was totally entertained staying at the Lone Duck.
We will definitely camp at Lone Duck again would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Tent sites 19-28 were on a deadend. Perfectly situated by the stream and most were shaded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djkarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipita Park
5.4 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
802 reviews
6.7 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,068 reviews
6.4 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
196 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Outlook Lodge
The Outlook Lodge
#1 of 2 in Green Mountain Falls
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chipita Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Duck Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Duck Campground

Property: Lone Duck Campground
Address: 8850 W US Highway 24, Chipita Park, CO 80809-1336
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Chipita Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chipita Park
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Lone Duck Campground Hotel Chipita Park
Lone Duck Campground Chipita Park, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing