We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun at the Reserve Casino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reserve Casino Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Central City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Went up this weekend from Denver to The Reserve Casino and Hotel in Central City, Colorado. We are not big gamblers but went up instead to hear the Pat Travers Band live in the "Lava Room" which is the club part of the bar that hosts live bands on weekends, sometimes including famous live musical acts. Foghat played recently as well as the Romantics and Molly Hatchet is evidently playing in December.
Got there and valeted the car and walking in the lobby, the hotel is decorated in a "rock and roll" motif, lots of photos of famous musicians, electric guitars signed by famous bands hanging on the walls, etc. Kind of a Hard Rock Cafe feel except in a casino. We got to our room which was on the non smoking floor which is what we requested (can't stand the smell of stale smoke in a hotel...yuck) and got room 414. It was exceptionally large and clean. It was decorated in a modern way with a large flat screen tv, and lovely, modern paint colors. I was never in this hotel prior to the recent remodel, so I don't know what the rooms looked like before, but we were pleased with the room. It also had a mini fridge which was nice. Standard amenities were included.

Went down and gambled in the casino for a little while, hubby and I neither one are big on gambling, but we had fun. I found however the slot machines to not be very loose, Hubby did win over 100.00 however. But we had fun.

Had a few drinks at the guitar bar which is a very large, nicely decorated bar on the 2nd floor. Service there somewhat lacking, only 1 person working a very large bar which was weird.

Had dinner at Ardore the steakhouse in the hotel. Food good if not exceptional. Service was fine for us and it was nice to not have to leave the hotel for dinner. There was also a buffet and a coffee bar in the hotel which we did not eat at but others seemed to enjoy. Free water, soda and as long as you are gambling servers came up and offerred alcoholic beverages. The casino is non-smoking per Colorado law which is great for us.

Watched The Pat Travers Band in the Lava Room which was a great show. The layout is really nice and we had ordered tickets in advance for VIP seating which guaranteed and great view with no one standing in front of you. I recommend this is you attend a show there. You also can stand on the floor in front of the stage if you prefer a closer view of the performing act.

Only downside was when standing in line to get into the Lava Room a drunken man behind us was taunting another patron. Sadly, not unexpected when one drinks to excess. Another bummer, while in the Lava Room my husband ordered a beer from one of the female servers, she took his 10.00 and disappeared, never to be seen again? Really? Don't know if she forgot him with the large crowd or if she intentionally ripped him off.

Also, we were there right before Halloween and lots of younger people were there in their Halloween costumes to party, when we went back to our room later in the evening the walls were thin enough that we could hear shouting and laughing in the hall but this didn't last too long thankfully.

Bed was comfortable and checkout time was a pleasant 12 noon, which allowed us to sleep in after a long night of partying. All and all we had a great time and I would recommend.

Room Tip: Room 414 very large and clean, non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,020 - 2,026 of 2,117 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed in Central City Colo. at the Newly remodeled Reserve Hotel Casino a couple weekends ago. This Hotel is nicely appointed with a Rock & Roll theme. The entire place has a good feel to it,inviting. The rooms are of good size with modern decor,all ammenities expected are there.
The beds are VERY comfortable,slept great after staying up too late and check out time is noon ! The hotel also has a cool looking bar with a night club feel to it. Including a sunken/lower level ,full size stage for live music. Weekends have live music with some famous bands playing at various times (see the website for dates). Keep in mind this is a 24 hour casino and people are out to have a good time. Some get a little loud and are up at all hours, so may not be the place for solitude in the Rockies. If you want to go down the hill to Blackhawk for more adventure,a shuttle bus picks you up every half hour. The hotel does offer a couple great places to eat, one upscale and the other more casual. Coffee is always on hand too ! They also have a gift shop for a souvenier or two. Overall had a great time and look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: Reservations highly recomended well in advance of your trip. They were booked up over two months be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The front desk personnel were not friendly and were very robotic in their requests such as "I need your credit card" without a smile or friendly acknowledgement. The room was ok but there was a constant noise from the ventilation system that made it almost impossible to sleep. When I mentioned this at check-out there was a mere "ok". For the extra money, I'll stay at Ameristar or choose a less priced hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gambler50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed there October 12, 2012. We were on a road trip back from Las Vegas to Minnesota. My husband wanted to sleep, and I wanted to play. We did not have a reservation, which was a big mistake. We drove around Blackhawk/Central City, and found that all other hotels (Ameristar, The Isle, The Silver something) were full. The Reserve had a vacancy, so we took it. It took forever to get checked in. The front desk staff seemed robotic. The room was furnished okay. I noticed foreign hairs on the bathroom floor, along with some dried liquid (Cleaning solution or shampoo, or?) The machines were horrible. The casino was dead for a Friday night. The Reserve is fairly isolated from the other casinos in the area, so I was limited to only play there. The fire alarm went off at 4 AM. My husband could not get back to sleep. I waited at the front desk for 15 minutes to speak to a manager about our experience, but nobody showed up. The front desk rep apologized for the wait, but did not try to contact a manager a second time. We checked out and continued on our road trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyFromMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

They did a remodel, but neglected to train the employees. Very rude staff. Not helpful at all. There are other Casino / Hotels in Central City and Black Hawk that want your business and treat the guests with respect. Go to any one of them, Don't wast your time or your money on this place!

Room Tip: Don't stay at the Reserve!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank BaybeeBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A couple of weeks ago we called to see if the Reserve had any rooms available. Since they only had smoking rooms, we declined and stayed at a more expensive hotel. We were really surprised to find a charge on our credit card for a non-smoking room for the night we inquired about. I tried to call them to get this straightened out but the manager did not return my calls. What is even more distrubing is that we didn't get far enough into the reservation process to even give them our credit card number so they must have looked it up from a previous stay. We will no longer go here to stay or play!!!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We are not gamblers and so didn't sample the casino part at all. But we were in the area for outdoor activities and the hotel popped up on a search with a terrific mid-week price. Check in/out was quick and easy and the employees we encountered were all helpful and friendly. The elevators were a little confusing, as others have mentioned (separate sets for parking garage and hotel) but I didn't find it cumbersome once I got the levels straight.

The room was nice - it had a refrigerator and coffee maker, but not a microwave. The bed was very comfortable, the flatscreen TV got all sorts of channels, but also had an HDMI connection so we could watch movies via PC. The WiFi was strong, towels soft, shower hot and the climate control worked. The breakfast buffet (for $3.99) was wonderful!

The only two negatives for us were hallway noise in the middle of the night (not a HUGE problem but it did rouse me up) and no good place in the room to read. There were lights at both sides of the bed but they were too low to use for reading.

This was definitely a step higher than a typical moderate motel but not a 4 or 5 * accomodation either. Overall we enjoyed our stay at a bargain price and would stay there again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fotobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central City
1.2 mi away
Lady Luck Casino Black Hawk
1.4 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
0.2 mi away
Century Casino Central City
Century Casino Central City
#2 of 3 in Central City
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Eldora Lodge
Eldora Lodge
#3 of 18 in Golden
184 reviews
11.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
15.7 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reserve Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reserve Casino Hotel

Address: 321 Gregory Street, Central City, CO 80427 (Formerly Fortune Valley Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Central City
Price Range: $91 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reserve Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Reserve Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reserve Hotel Central City
Fortune Valley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing