We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step up from "motel standard"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Z Casino and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Central City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We are not gamblers and so didn't sample the casino part at all. But we were in the area for outdoor activities and the hotel popped up on a search with a terrific mid-week price. Check in/out was quick and easy and the employees we encountered were all helpful and friendly. The elevators were a little confusing, as others have mentioned (separate sets for parking garage and hotel) but I didn't find it cumbersome once I got the levels straight.

The room was nice - it had a refrigerator and coffee maker, but not a microwave. The bed was very comfortable, the flatscreen TV got all sorts of channels, but also had an HDMI connection so we could watch movies via PC. The WiFi was strong, towels soft, shower hot and the climate control worked. The breakfast buffet (for $3.99) was wonderful!

The only two negatives for us were hallway noise in the middle of the night (not a HUGE problem but it did rouse me up) and no good place in the room to read. There were lights at both sides of the bed but they were too low to use for reading.

This was definitely a step higher than a typical moderate motel but not a 4 or 5 * accomodation either. Overall we enjoyed our stay at a bargain price and would stay there again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fotobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,026 - 2,032 of 2,117 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Remodeled rooms are nice

Stayed twice,
access form parking garage requires to omuch navigation. due to being on hillside I guess.
Rates can be good , but once at 1 am they quoted $159, and would not take 1my offer of 00, I drove to denver and they lost money. I dont like stupid people. would stay if only place available which is sometimes the case

rooms clean, beds good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlcatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

the reserve has the same old machines they had last year and before. they have very few new machines. rooms are fairly comfortable. food buffet needs a lot of improvement. but close enough to outside attractions to be a comfortable place to lay your head at night.

Room Tip: look for a place that will meet your specific needs or as close to them as possible. make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nms19134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I are celebrating our wedding anniversary,and we decided to come to Reserve Hotel & Casino. We couldn't be happier with our decision to stay here. The staff are friendly the beds are comfy and our whole experience has been wonderful. We will come back and tell more people about this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kleeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Reserve for our Anniversary. It was a very nice, remodeled room that made you feel as though you were in a room in Las Vegas! Loved the large sized mini fridge in the room! The only downfall was after checking in, you had to circle back around the bloce to get to the parking garage. Oh, can't forget had some hair in the bathroom when we arrived, kinda gross but not to the point I had to complain. Didn't eat or gamble there, just had the room. Will definately be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband & I took our son and daughter-in-law for a quick trip the same night the Romantics were playing in the hotel/casino. We had a great time! The casino had a modern Hard Rock theme on the inside and vintage mine exterior from the gold rush days. We dined in Ardore...and everyone in our party raved about the food. Everyone was friendly. The worst thing we could say about this experience and the hotel/casino is that their towels were scratchy...really scratchy. We felt like we got a free body exfoliation. There is also no hot tub/pool. The beds were super comfy, the rooms were quiet and had a modern rocker feel, also. It was also nice to have the entertainment at the property. For the gamblers, there was a variety of slot machines and gaming tables. We will return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

the walls are paper thin and not insulated, i could hear every conversation in hallway like they were in the room. however the rooms are good size and nicely appointed. the large flat screen tv is great.

Room Tip: stay away from elevators walls are thin and you hear everyone coming off elevator, and everything th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emac253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central City
1.2 mi away
Lady Luck Casino Black Hawk
0.2 mi away
Century Casino Central City
Century Casino Central City
#2 of 3 in Central City
65 reviews
1.4 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
14.6 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#5 of 14 in Winter Park
518 reviews
15.7 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Z Casino and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Z Casino and Hotel

Address: 321 Gregory Street, Central City, CO 80427 (Formerly Reserve Casino Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Central City
Price Range: $87 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Z Casino and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Z Casino and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reserve Hotel Central City
Fortune Valley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing