We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views and very nice camping”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Central City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denver West / Central City KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This KOA has recently sold hands and has many nice improvements to show for it. Beautiful gravel paves roads and new pads, tables, grills and fire pits . We are on campsite #10 which has beautiful views of the city below. The offices , showers, laundry are all newer and very nice. They have A store with the basic needs , firewood etc. very nice people managing it also. Central city is a great little old mining town . Lots of history and rehabbed buildings with gambling casinos Shops and restaurants. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Sites 1-10 have the best views of central city below. They are pull in rv sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 59 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

If you were planning on being able to run in and out of Denver from this location like you can from most KOA's near metro areas, you will be disappointed. It is west of several steep climbs on I-70, and if you are driving a loaded down RV, and especially if you are towing, beware of the extremely steep road that you must traverse to reach it. The Central City Expressway has 8% grades but is manageable. Once you reach the entrance to historic Central City, however, you must make a >90% turn at a stop sign and climb hill on a small side road that feels nearly straight up and includes the tightest hairpin turn we have ever encountered on a paved road. Be prepared to use your overdrive function and hope for no oncoming traffic when you swing wide at the hairpin. The campground itself is quite nice (clean laundry & grounds, level sites), but if I am going to go to that much trouble to reach a campsite, I will do it in a less developed area,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schonstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My other half and I planned a close to home getaway to Central City. It is enough out of the city to make it a nice getaway. We took a drive up to the KOA a few weeks before our trip and mapped out what spots within the park would be best. We chose 42, and a runner-up would be 33. My other half called and talked to the owner on the phone and asked for space 42, and was told it was available, so we booked over the phone. A confirmation was not sent out as promised, so my other half called back and got the owner's mother on the phone. She verified that we were booked in space 42 and finally sent a confirmation for the days we selected. We packed up the trailer and proceeded up to Central City. When we arrived, we found out that they gave our spot to someone else due to the fact that they wanted the spot for 8 days, so they tried to put us in a tight spot with views of beautiful condos. My other half explained that we confirmed TWICE for the spot. They did not deny this, but said that a person staying for 8 days takes priority over other reservations. We refused the sub-par lot, and asked for a refund. The owner did refund all of our money.
We have stayed at a lot of KOA Kampgrounds over the past few years and have always been treated well, and have always had a good time. We were hoping that we could have a good time and start a tradition of taking short trips to Central City and staying at the KOA. This experience has left a bad taste in my mouth for this location. Please look at my other reviews and see how fair and honest I am with reviewing on TripAdvisor. I usually do three strikes and you are out, but this is a one major strike and you are definitely out!
Safe travels out there everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Telkbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great experience! I called late on a Sunday night and they were able to accommodate us with late check in. A bit of a hairy drive getting there but when we pulled into our spot we knew the view would be spectacular in daylight. We stayed in a class C so didn't use the facilities but the spot had a concrete pad (nice and level) and a picnic table. Could use a touch more space between spots but the views make up for it. If you need a beautiful spot to stay make sure you stop here!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank celepore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stay for one night. Beautiful view and nice campsite. Worked well with our three dogs. The drive up to the campsite was long and winding but the view was worth it. Friendly people and full service. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank scubaski56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016
Thank 47Gerrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2014, traveled with family
Thank Pascie1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Central City hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Z Casino and Hotel
Grand Z Casino and Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
2,121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Century Casino & Hotel Central City
0.7 mi away
Skye Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Skye Cottage Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Central City
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hooper Homestead Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Denver West / Central City KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denver West / Central City KOA

Address: 605 Gulch Road, Central City, CO 80427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Central City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Central City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing