We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing museum, even in October!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gilpin History Museum

Gilpin History Museum
Attraction details
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing museum, even in October!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I wanted to visit the museum but the reviews said it was only open between Memorial and Labor day. We went anyway because we wanted to see the last of the Fall colors and to visit the cemeteries. As we were walking around town we stopped at the visitor's center just across from the Opera House. It's a mini museum staffed by a very friendly and helpful young lady. I asked about the museum and she was more than happy to open it for us. By then, about nine folks had gathered and we all walked over to the museum. We had younger kids and she had a special task for them to do throughout the museum. If done, the reward was some rock candy! The museum itself it wonderful... full of interesting things. I loved it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank boulderjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parker, CO
Level Contributor
467 reviews
205 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Climb the stairs, it's worth it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

There are a few stairs to climb to get there, but this museum is GREAT! Not so big that it's takes all day, but just right. The volunteers there are wonderful, and willing to answer questions. Great pictures from Central City area life long ago, several 'rooms' recreated, artifacts from the 1800s....just a great museum.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldTvlerParker_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
157 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Museum of Central City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I agree with the other 2 reviews - I loved the rooms that were restored to convey a drug store, gambling hall, miners cabin etc. There are displays about the brothels, lawyer offices and a mercantile. It does require paid admission ($6 per adult) when we went through. Please support this very worthwhile endeavor in Central City - it shows a great glimpse of the town before this round of gambling (they used to gamble in the 1890's too)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank randisbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
136 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“You really should see this.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This place is very interesting. There is a lot of history to discover here including a submarine and celebrities who have appeared at the local theater/opera house. You will also get an education on mining and see some very intersting artifacts. Kids will like the displays and will be impressed that this building used to be a school house. It is a fun place to visit, and you will be glad that you stopped by.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Rich Collection Beautfully Exhibited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

One of the best mining boom town museums I've been to. Set it the very well preserved old schoolhouse, the curation and range of exhibits is astounding. More than just mining (the relatively nearby Leadville National Museum of Mining is probably stronger in this area), the Gilpin County museum does an excellent and whimsical job presenting exhibits about the daily lives and people who lived in Central City and surrounding towns. The curator/host on the day we went is about the most affable, garrulous human on the planet! Worthwhile.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilpin History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gilpin History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing