We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow Wi-Fi rest was good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Castle Rock Colorado
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Castle Rock
Ames
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Slow Wi-Fi rest was good”
Reviewed July 9, 2008

This was Day 2 of our 26 day 6230 mile camping tour of 15 National parks. We drove from Ames Iowa to Castle Rock Co. on our way to our first NP, The Great Sand Dunes National Park (which we loved by the way). We were only a few hours from our destination at 2 am when we got too tired to continue. It was too late to find a campsite, so we opted for the Super 8 in Castle Rock, CO. I wanted to stay in a motel so I could use the Internet the advertised.

The Internet was amazingly bad and slow. Disconnecting a lot and sloooooooow. It was very frustratine for me because I was in a hurry to check out but then the WI-FI was holding me up. I see another review from June 2007 said the same thing. So apparently they have not improved it. Wi-Fi is not a hard thing to do for a motel just get a couple of wi-fi units on each floor, or maybe one near each end of the building.

I told the clerk and she asked what room I was in (lower level) and she said that was normally good. But she was going to tell someone. So I hope the next review written on this Super 8 tells a different story.

Other than that everything was OK. The continental breakfast was OK, and we found a nice sundeck to sit on while we ate.

The staff was nice too. And I slept fine.

  • Liked — Was on the highway that we were driving on
  • Disliked — Slow Internet
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    38
    63
    34
    51
See reviews for
67
38
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2008

We were very disappointed in this motel. There were 4 of us in 2 rooms. The carpet in both rooms was very dirty. I had to wash my feet before putting on my sandals (the bottoms were black from walking on the carpet barefoot). My son-in-laws white socks were filthy from the carpet in their room. There is no place to sit for breakfast. The attendant said there were the 2 upholstered chairs in the lobby or a table outside we could use, or we could take a tray back to our rooms. We ended up eating out which cost us a total of $50 we hadn't planned on spending.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaHoosier42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Castle Rock hotels

Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

I know not a lot o travelers will be staying in Castle Rock, Colorado, but if you do, BEWARE of this place.
It is a little shabby and not exceptionally clean, but what will always stay in my mind is that during our SECOND nite, the alarm clock suddenly went off. Not the FIRST nite, when it could have been blamed on a previous guest, but the SECOND nite, when, supposedly, the only people who had been in the room were my husband and I and the hotel maid staff. SOMEONE thought that would be funny, I guess.

Unfortunately, it was late, I was sleepy and without glasses and the clock radio was unfamiliar to me. Evidently, I hit th "snooze" button rather than turning it off, so it went off AGAIN about 10 minutes later - just when we had gotten settled down once more. I called the front desk to ask HOW to turn it off and the clerk LAUGHED AT ME and suggested I unplug it.

NEVER, NEVER AGAIN.......

  • Liked — close to my grandkids
  • Disliked — rudeness of staff, mid-night wakeup
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural North Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2007

The hotel itself was just fine. Very clean, comfy, and can someone explain to me how Super 8 finds the nicest people to be concierges? This lady was extremely nice.

The only thing that was a total pain was that the wi-fi (which is why I chose Super 8 in the first place) was intermittent at best. It kept going offline and then online again. Definitely a problem.

If internet access isn't an issue for you, then let me recommend this place. If it is, look elsewhere, unless they get it fixed -- and how would you know just by talking to the concierge? I called her once and asked her if it was malfunctioning, and she went downstairs to re-boot it. It came on, but only for a short while, then was down again.

Beds were clean (albeit small -- they were doubles rather than queens), rooms were plenty big enough for us, TV stations were clear and the A/C worked. There was a mini-fridge and a microwave in the room as well as a coffeemaker.

Thumbs up on all counts except wi-fi.

  • Liked — Staff friendliness
  • Disliked — Intermittent wi-fi access (kept going on and off and on again)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GradualDazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 30, 2003

Could have not ask for more. The staff was great, and so were the prices. Will return!!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castle Rock hotels
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Castle Rock
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Rock
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Castle Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Castle Rock
Hampton Inn Castle Rock
#2 of 7 in Castle Rock
317 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Castle Rock
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Castle Rock
Comfort Suites Castle Rock
#5 of 7 in Castle Rock
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Castle Rock Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Castle Rock Colorado

Property: Super 8 Castle Rock Colorado
Address: 1020 Park Street, Castle Rock, CO 80109-1584
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Castle Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Castle Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Castle Rock Colorado 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Castle Rock Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Rock Super Eight
Castle Rock Super 8
Super 8 Castle Rock
Super Eight Castle Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing