We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Purple Mountain Majesty”

Pikes Peak - America's Mountain
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Cascade
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Pikes Peak - America's Mountain! The Pikes Peak Highway entrance is conveniently located 15 minutes west of Colorado Springs on Highway 24. The beauty of being so close to the city is that you can spend your time enjoying the mountain instead of getting to the mountains. Plan for your round trip journey to the summit to take 2-3 hours. The safe, scenic highway provides you the opportunity to enjoy Pikes Peak at your leisure. From the gateway at an elevation of 7,400 feet, you'll encounter some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world as you wind your way through an alpine wonderland of scenic beauty, mountain reservoirs, beyond timberline, overtaking the clouds...All along the way to the 14,115 foot summit of America's most famous mountain. Along the way, you'll discover the North Slope Recreation Area, Crystal Reservoir Gift Shop, Historic Glen Cove Inn, and the Summit House. There are three lakes for fishing, picnic areas, hiking trails, and breathtaking views. Stop and watch one of our "Meet the Ranger" Interpretive Programs and learn about the history, myths, flora and fauna on the mountain. All offer visitor services and basic necessities to make your day both enjoyable and memorable.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Purple Mountain Majesty”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Unbelievable views on the way up and down, and spectacular views from the top on a clear day. You can drive up their or go on the cog railway.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara2Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    119
    28
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
253 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Still amazing even after being up a number of times”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We live in BC, Canada but visit Denver, Co often as our son, his wife and 2 granddaughters live in Littleton. We have driven up Pikes Peak a number of times and it's still inspiring. The views are awesome. I would love to see some of the time trials up this mountain! Hopefully we'll get an opportunity some day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank STAN49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
856 reviews
323 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 672 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Our senior tour visited all these great places in Colorado and Utah. The highway was awesome and we took many pictures. This is a must-see for everyone. Because we were on a 12-day tour from Tennessee we had limited time to spend at the various locations. My husband and I will definitely come back to enjoy God's country and take more pictures. The highway reminded me of Malibu except for the snow covered mountains. Loved it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryannF650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow! What a View!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The drive was 18 miles one way and the only way was UP! Driving a Ford F150 made it even more challenging! I felt like I was a lot bigger than I really was, not something you want on a road like this! The road was paved all the way to the top, felt really exposed on some of the turns going up. Once at the top, the view was spectacular! There is a gift shop with a cafeteria and restrooms if you need. Driving down in first gear was the way to go. There were no issues with the brakes overheating either. It costs $12 ($10 for military) but well worth it! I would recommend this drive to everyone!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PW7382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“once in a life experience in Colorado Springs”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Pikes Peak highway takes you from the small town of Cascade ( a few miles from Colorado Springs) to the top of Pikes Peak. You can drive to the top or take the Cog Railroad. I would highly recommend taking the Cog Railroad. The reason for suggesting the Cog Railway is this...if you drive up the highway you will not be able to enjoy the trip up to the top because of the high altitude highway. Drivers who are used to driving in the mountains..you will be ok. If you're from the flat lands you can drive it but it will be a scary trip and when you come down the mountain you will ride your brakes and you can look forward to a brake job in Colorado Springs.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank sundog54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pikes Peak - America's Mountain also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Pikes Peak - America's Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing