We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breathtaking drive”

Pikes Peak - America's Mountain
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Cascade
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Pikes Peak - America's Mountain! The Pikes Peak Highway entrance is conveniently located 15 minutes west of Colorado Springs on Highway 24. The beauty of being so close to the city is that you can spend your time enjoying the mountain instead of getting to the mountains. Plan for your round trip journey to the summit to take 2-3 hours. The safe, scenic highway provides you the opportunity to enjoy Pikes Peak at your leisure. From the gateway at an elevation of 7,400 feet, you'll encounter some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world as you wind your way through an alpine wonderland of scenic beauty, mountain reservoirs, beyond timberline, overtaking the clouds...All along the way to the 14,115 foot summit of America's most famous mountain. Along the way, you'll discover the North Slope Recreation Area, Crystal Reservoir Gift Shop, Historic Glen Cove Inn, and the Summit House. There are three lakes for fishing, picnic areas, hiking trails, and breathtaking views. Stop and watch one of our "Meet the Ranger" Interpretive Programs and learn about the history, myths, flora and fauna on the mountain. All offer visitor services and basic necessities to make your day both enjoyable and memorable.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“breathtaking drive”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Pikes Peak has the most spectacular views! It was alittle scary driving up and down, but it was well worth it when you got to the top and look out over the land! It was cold and had some snow, but i loved it caus I live in florida, so it was a big difference.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Druffner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    119
    28
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, WY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“America the Beautiful”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The beauty from atop Pikes Peak was what inspired Katharine Lee Bates to write the lyrics to America the Beautiful in 1904. I've had a chance to explore Pikes Peak first hand for many years as my dad worked as a highway patrol there for 20 years and I never got sick of it. In fact, I had a chance to work at the summit back when the summer crew boarded on top so we saw a lot of awesome beauty every day from atop this majestic mountain. By road you can take your time and if you get sqweemish anywhere, as some do, you can turn back. You are likely to see more by cog simply because the road can be quite distracting. The mountain is equally as beautiful below timberline if you travel by car where there is Glen Cove, a nice place to rest and get a cup of coffee or hot chocolate and a trinket or two. If you like to fish, there are several lakes to cast away the worries of the world in the such a beautiful backdrop. There are rules and regulations regarding the fishing so please make sure and check with the Pikes Peak tollgate first. Of course then there is the yearly Race to the Clouds held at the beginning of July. If you are visiting this is race time and if you are a fan, it shouldn't be missed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank J9whitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing views !”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Oh my goodness ! This road trip is amazing ! Hold on to your seat belt n off you go ! The views at every epic turn r unbelievable ! It is so worth the fee to get access to the peak ! Be prepared and dress accordingly as it freezing up there but oh so pretty ! The gift shop is awesome and offers hot chocolate n donuts !
Also there r different viewing stops along the way , perfect for picture taking ! We so enjoyed this ride !

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great, be prepared for weather!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

How is this not number 1? We drove and were amazed! The views kept getting better! The weather was cold and windy at the top even though it was nice and sunny at the bottom when we left, so
I kinda froze at the top! The only bummer is the $12/person, an I'm glad we were allowed to go to the top, the day before someone from our b&b only was allowed halfway but charged the same.

Helpful?
Thank Ashleylee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Go!!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

... but before you do, check the hours. We stayed in Denver and made the 1.5 hour drive to Pikes Peak Highway. Twice. We didn't realize it closed so early the first time. .

The park ranger at the booth was so friendly. She gave us several pointers and things to look for along the drive up the mountain. PIck up a Junior Ranger Badge for your little ones!

The website says to allow yourself 2.5 - 3 hours to drive to the top. It took us 4 hours because we stopped at so many of the little cutouts and stopping areas to take in the views and snap some photos. There's a little gift shop along the way at the foothills by Crystal Lake where you can stop and buy a souvenier or two. Continue on, pull off as often as you want, and when you make it to the top, you will feel the light-headed effect of being up at 14,000+ feet. It's cold and windy at the top (it was about 30* cooler than below when we were there) so dress appropriately so that you can enjoy your visit. There is a very large gift shop / cafe area where you can sit for a minute to recover if you need, delicious homemade donuts and coffee, and all kinds of things to buy.

The drive wasn't scary but there are obviously very steep drop offs and no guard rails for the most part except around the hairpins. If you're afraid of heights, this might not be for you. Also, no grumbling about the entrance fee!! The roads are in perfect condition and imagine how much it costs the Forestry Div to keep them clean and passable for us tourists! It's well worth every penny.

All in all, this is a must-do in my opinion. Allow yourself plenty of time to take everything in.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank seaLoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pikes Peak - America's Mountain also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Pikes Peak - America's Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing