We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, Authentic Meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Horizonte

El Horizonte
Ranked #27 of 52 Restaurants in Carbondale
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Big, Authentic Meals”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Chips, salsa and lime coleslaw are served to start- it's easy to get carried away... We had the shrimp enchilladas and chipotle chicken tacos, both served with rice and beans. Our meals were $11-13. There were lots of options for starters, soups, mains and seafood.
The dining room is very colorful and the servers nice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelsWithKylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A Great Find”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I live here. This is our "go to" favorite mexican restaurant!!! Friendly service, food is delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not all that- average at best”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We ventured to El Horizonte because it was relatively close to the hotel we were staying at. We were greeted warmly and the waitress took our order in a timely manner. The chips and salsa were fresh, and the cabbage was very good- a pleasant surprise. We ordered the vegetable fajitas and the Beef tacos.

There was only one other table in the restaurant and the order took almost 20 minutes- which is unusual for Mexican fare. The fajitas were pretty oily, as were the tacos. The food was okay. Perhaps we are just spoiled to have really good Mexican food in Texas, but we were a tad bit disappointed.

Decent value- we had a queso, two entrees and one ice tea and it was 35.

Wouldn't go out of my way to go back, but it was okay.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zzcajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARBONDALE, CO
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comida Rica”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We eat here quite often as the staff is friendly and efficient. The food is delcious--Salvadorian and Mexican. The chips, salsa and cabbage slaw are fresh, and you have a hard time stopping eating them before your meal arrives. Moderately priced. A great value for the money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoJil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great family restaurant”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

good mexican and salvadoran food. friendly atmosphere and some unusual items on the menu from the salvadoran side

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank musicdude57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Horizonte also viewed

 
Carbondale, CO
Carbondale, CO
 

Been to El Horizonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing