We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great end to a great day”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hattie Thompson Restaurant - CLOSED

Hattie Thompson Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Finbarr's Irish Pub & Kitchen is a modern gastropub with the heart and soul of a traditional Irish neighborhood gathering spot. A place to meet friends and family for delectable food and divine drinks. Catch a game on the tvs in the bar or sit on the patio with outstanding views of Mt. Sopris and the sounds of the rushing Crystal River beside you. Looking for a spot to host a party, look no further than Finbarr's Irish Pub & Kitchen in Carbondale. Reserve the dining room, pub or patio for your private event. Got a larger group? We cater next door in the River Valley Ranch Barn and beyond.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great end to a great day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

After a 5 hour hike we decided to stop at Hattie Thompson's for a drink and light fare. The setting was spectacular with Mt. Solaris as the backdrop and the river running in front. The service and attention was gracious and efficient. The host was very welcoming. The bar menu offered a selection of enticing drinks and variety of light fare. Everything was terrific and very reasonable. We will return to enjoy the setting and hospitality again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schapman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great flavors with a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Sit on the patio with a view of the Majestic Mount Sopris. We started with a nightly special appetizer - thinly sliced lamb grilled and served with a Harissa sauce, orange liqueuer-soaked golden raisins, pine nuts, fresh mint, and other flavor accents. It wasn't overly spicy and had interesting flavor contrasts. The appetizer included a half-pour of Cupcake Riesling which paired nicely. Next we enjoyed the grilled Arctic Char. It was properly cooked to the requested medium-rare. The fish was topped with a garnish of fresh herb salad including fennel tops, chervil, tarragon and something else - a nice touch. The accompanying young carrots were cooked to perfection (usually served undercooked but not here). Also included was a polenta cake which included fresh whole kernels of corn. Wow - the best polenta I've ever had! Our server Allen was professional and attentive yet not overbearing -- the service is definitely in a class with the food. Tripadvisor asked kind of a dumb question - "is this one of the best meals you've ever had in a restaurant"? Well, I've had a lot of restaurant meals, many of them memorable. Certainly the best I've had in the past 3 months. Probably in the top 200 all-time. But that is a very subjective question and of course memory fades with time. I'll certainly return to Hattie Thompson the next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A_Michigan_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meals to Match the Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great food, nice staff, new makeover and prices below what they would be in nearby towns. Holy Cow, did not expect such a nice restaurant to re-incarnate under the towering gaze of Mt. Sopris.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a glorious setting for lunch or dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We arrived at 8:00 on Saturday night. The patio were full with the exception of one table...lucky for us. We didn't make a reservation, but certainly would in the future. We both had a generous martini before dinner. We shared the beet salad, which was delicious. I had the dinner special which was a roasted duck leg with a duck confit hash. So good. My husband had the Hattie's Patty, which is maybe the best burger we've ever had. We shared entrees. It's a half pound with the most unbelievable bacon (I'd love to know how they cure it) and the best french fries. I tried not to eat them, but no luck in the self control department. We each had a glass of wine with dinner which we chose from the wine by the glass menu. I had a nice Chardonnay and my husband had a pinot noir. Enjoyed both. This restaurant is new, so look out when everyone finds it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoboColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hattie Thompson Restaurant also viewed

 
Carbondale, CO
Carbondale, CO
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing