We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great beer, good food”

Carbondale Beer Works
Ranked #10 of 52 Restaurants in Carbondale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hand Crafted Beers with Gourmet Hot Dogs and other Pub Grub. Sunny Outdoor Seating. Free Wi-Fi!
Boulder
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great beer, good food”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

and a really comfortable atmosphere. The menu must have changed since the last reviews in April, because we had plenty of choices beyond hotdogs. The entrees we picked were tasty.

  • Visited September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xcski37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    35
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Okay beers, skip the food”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Somehow my friends and I always end up here, every time we go out in Carbondale (not surprising, there aren't many "bars" to choose from). The house beers are pretty inconsistent in quality and suspiciously strong (I would advise anyone to have no more than two!) but the guest beers are usually pretty good. The patio is a great place to sit on a sunny afternoon.

The food's not usually worth the wait. If it's at all busy you'll be waiting awhile. Also, they do trivia one Thursday night per month and it is a MADHOUSE. Super busy, long waits, no tables available at all. Same with the first Friday every month.

All in all, this is a reliable place to come on nights when it's not terribly busy, and be sure to order a guest beer if you're a beer snob.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennaMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really Good Food.”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I love their Brewben and a few other dishes, but the board dish isn't worth ordering ... Very disappointing. Past that, the other menu items are filling and yummy and the beer is fantastic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ylice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good beer - limited menu”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice patio and dog friendly. The beer was good but the menu was very limited unless you like hot dogs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Soak in the culture of western Colorado with great beer.”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I've visited nearly every brewery in western Colorado and Carbondale Beer Works remains my favorite tap room to visit. First off their beer. I'm a hop head, so I stick to IPA's, and theirs is good, if not slightly above average. I've taken many clients here and they all have enjoyed the full lineup of beers offered by a knowledgable brewmaster. They also have a small but unique guest tap list. Next up is the food. This is a small kitchen, and nothing fancy going on back there, but the result is always surprising. They specialize in hot dogs/brats and I usually get the elk jalapeño dog which is one of the best dogs I've ever had. I've tried most everything on the menu and while its all pub food, I feel it's better than average, especially given what the cooks have to work with. Taking into account good beer, good food, and the all-time atmosphere, I never miss a chance to spend an evening or happy hour here. This is a borderline locals spot, but don't be scared. The people are always warm, and virtually every night you may find an open jam, bluegrass band, or some poetry event. Whatever is going on it will be vibrant and exciting, but with a relaxed vibe. If you're in the area, make it a point to pop in for a beer, especially at happy hour, and experience craft beer/mountain town culture at is purest.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theinsurancetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carbondale Beer Works also viewed

Carbondale, CO
Carbondale, CO
 

Been to Carbondale Beer Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing