We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and cozy cabins”
Review of Avalanche Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carbondale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalanche Ranch
Ranked #3 of 7 Carbondale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Avalanche Ranch has renovated 1950s cabins with the perfect balance of rustic charm and comfort. The kitchen is a pleasure to cook in because the dishes and pots aren't scary garage sale cast-offs like other cabins we've been to. They are new, and more importantly, clean! Other luxuries were an especially comfy bed with high quality linens and comforters. The bathroom, again clean, is rustic but functional and our cabin had a beautiful large claw-foot tub. We also had a wood-burning stove with plenty of stocked wood (no chopping necessary) to keep the fires burning. But if your Boy Scout skills are rusty, the cabin has electric heat with a thermostat so you won't freeze in the middle of the night.

The large windows overlook the Avalanche Ranch farm and you can enjoy the fabulous views across the valley. In the mornings, we watched the sheep and llama being fed while we sat at our table in the cabin and had breakfast. Later, we walked down to the farm area to get a closer look at the friendly horses and chickens.

There is a nice short loop hike with well marked trails on the property beginning and ending at their small stocked pond (with boat dock). Overall, Avalanche Ranch is a pretty low-key place so don't expect a luxury resort. But, if you are looking for somewhere to hang out with your family, you will find plenty to do.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nonfatMocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 116 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2010

We were three photographers in the Aspen area for a week and 2 nights we spent at the Avalanche Ranch in the Ranch House. We LOVED it! Wish we had more time! So relaxing! Yes, it can be rustic, depending on the cabin, but so worth the getaway!

More images online at:
www.tinyurl.com/beatonaspen

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colorado4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

Loved staying here with my boyfriend! The hostess/inn keeper was so nice, that when we got there we got a complimentary upgrade from the loft cabin to bedroom with loft. The location was remote but about 10-15 min. from being in town which is what we were looking for. Accomodations were very comforting and clean. The kitchen had about every utensil and cookware needed to cook for our 2 nt. stay. There was no tv, but back at the main house were plenty of board games to borrow. As well as the lodge with a satellite TV, more games, books, and ping pong table (and vending machines just in case). We dipped into the hot tub at night, which was nice. (just make sure you bring a flashlight bc it is dark with very limited lighting).The views were amazing! When my boyfriend woke up in the mornings, he would come out to the porch with his coffee, watch the hummingbirds peck at the bird feeders hanging above on the porch, listen to the sounds of nature, and take in the mountain surroundings while sitting on a rocking chair. He also enjoyed building a fire to keep the cabin warm once the sun went down. And the wood was already chopped, and not an extra charge.The little hike to the pond was pleasant, but if you wanted a real hike, then you're better off driving somewhere. Aspen wasn't far (where we walked around town and hiked to the Marroon Bells) and a nice drive. All in all, we had a great time and hope one day to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmarcel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We just got back from our trip to colorado and it was awesome- all of it! We stayed at avalanche ranch it was so great- we have three young kids 18 mo, 4 and 5. we were treated with homemade cookies and a welcome naming each person in our family when we got there- the kids LOVED that! The cabins are great- a little older but fantastic- the loft is so fun for kids and ours played little house on the prairie the whole time! we had everything we could need for cooking, the playground for the kids was great- not real swings but there are tire swings etc- a tree house and old cabin filled with things to do, a volleyball and badmiton court, hot tub- (we never got in) antiques to look at, we met at 4 by the office and the kids got to help collect eggs- then we bought them and had them for breakfast can't get fresher than that! the fish pond was great for us- the kids caught 3 fish ( trick is hotdogs and bread) there were some huge ones in there! my husband went and fished the river- they have private access you can use and they let us borrow their rods etc to fish with. you can rent a tv for 10$ and have it in your cabin or you can go to the lodge- has a ping pong table and microwave and lots of movies you can borrow. that is one thing we loved- they let you borrow everything ( except the tv) there was no charge to use any of their stuff-it was great no nickle and diming like everywhere else. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. We ate apples off the tree right by our cabin. the kids loved all the animals. we went into marble and redstone- both great trips. there is a mill in crystal that is supposed to be amazing- we ended up having to just get the post card. we also camped in maroon bells, hiked there, went into aspen, drove independance pass, walked around glenwood, doc hollidays grave- it was a fantastic trip!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cousteu24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

I visited Avalanche Ranch with my mom and pup for one night in September. How I wish we had stayed for longer! The cabins are perfect- rustic, nicely decorated with comfortable mattresses and furniture. My mom called it "camping"- hahaha. Not even close. There's a lovely porch with a view of Mt Sopris and a woodburning stove inside. The Ranch is very dog friendly- I think almost all the cabins had a dog with them. Slim waited in the cabin, fortified by the tasty treats the ranch provided, while we ate dinner at Six689 in Carbondale. Oh, to eat gourmet food then retire to paradise each night! The next morning we checked out the petite pond with the aspens ablaze and watched the fish check us out. I'm already planning a return visit with Slim this winter for snowshoeing.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cbmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Overall these accomidations are just ok. I would probably not stay here again. At over $200/night it is over priced. The "pond" is very small and not large enough for the canoe that's in it. The "paddle boats" are not what you think they are...if your older then about 10 you won't fit in them. The river access if across a very busy highway and access to it is over an electric fence, through a cow pasture, and under another electric fence, to an area you won't want to fish in. Maid service is only available if you stay over 5 nights (we only stayed 3 nights). All rooms have to be pre-paid before your arrival as well (50% down to reserve the room and the rest due 30 days before your arrival). Very dated cabins with old appliances and fixtures. This Ranch's address is actually in Redstone, CO...I'm not sure why the website states it's in Carbondale, CO?

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bmersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Denver, CO
19
Reviewed June 18, 2006

My wife and I just returned from a stay at Avalanche Ranch for a weekend trip for her birthday. We live in Denver and traveled about 3.5 hours to get to Redstone. It was a very easy drive and extremely scenic. First of all, the staff (Mark Braendle) was extremely accommodating because they adjusted the price to the length of our stay (which definitely helped out my wallet!). I paid $155 per night on the weekend (and it was also Father's Day weekend).

Neither my wife nor I had been to Redstone before so we didn't know where we were going, but the directions pointed us perfectly and there is a huge sign on the side of the Highway to let you know that you have arrived. When you pull in the drive, everything is extremely self explanatory. We checked in with Mark, gave us our keys, and told us we would be changing cabins. He had upgraded us to a little nicer/roomier cabin for no extra charge which was fantastic!

It was great, we pulled around to our cabin and we had our own parking spot right next to the cabin. Our cabin (just like all of them) had a small grill and a picnic table next to it, a private yard, and a front porch. The front porch is beautiful which overlooks Mt. Sopris.

The inside of the cabin was great. We had a queen bed, a futon, a nice (clean and stocked) bathroom, kitchen with adjacent dinner table. Everything was extremely clean and made you feel safe and secure. There were towels, dishes, and a spacious refrigerator awaiting us in the cabin. There was also a welcome note on the table when we arrived with a plate of cookies for us with our names on it! The thing that really helped us was the detailed book of activities and information. There were names and directions to restaurants, shops, and any other activity that you could think of.

There is plenty to do at the ranch. There is a walking trail with a pond, animals to see and pet, and there is a campfire on Saturday night. There is also a hot tub which can come in handy when you want to relax. On the premises is the Lodge, which is kind of a large gathering/entertainment cabin. The lodge has extra supplies for your cabin, a TV, VCR, DVD player, selection of movies, shelves full of books, and a ping pong table (which we played for about 3 hrs straight one day).

Right across the road from the ranch is Crystal River and there are plenty of places to walk in, across, and over the river. The little town of Redstone even had a couple of restaurants where you can eat on their back deck overlooking the river. In Redstone, I highly recommend Cafe Redstone. It is a family owned restaurant that serves breakfast and lunch. We actually ate both of breakfast and lunch there and their meal quality and portions were incredible! Another good place to eat is in Carbondale, (10 miles north) which is a very short drive away, is Phat Thai. They have awesome Thai food and great prices for large portions.

Overall, we were looking for a relaxing getaway in the mountains with quality cabins and we definitely found it. I would highly recommend anyone going to Avalanche Ranch, because we will definitely visit the ranch again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
11.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale
21.3 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
919 reviews
12.7 mi away
Element Basalt Aspen
Element Basalt Aspen
#1 of 2 in Basalt
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#3 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
640 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Redstone Inn
The Redstone Inn
#1 of 3 in Redstone
209 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalanche Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalanche Ranch

Address: 12863 Highway 133, Carbondale, CO 81623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Carbondale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Carbondale
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13 cozy log cabins, tastefully appointed, and a 3 bedroom Ranch House. Located on 36 acres 12 miles S. of Carbondale, CO. Spectacular mountain views! Hot Springs on site, stocked pond, riverfront, ice-skating, snowshoes provided. Great venue for family reunions, retreats, weddings and romantic getaways! Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avalanche Ranch Hotel Carbondale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing