We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic spot!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalanche Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carbondale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalanche Ranch
Ranked #2 of 7 Carbondale B&B and Inns
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

I had a great two-night stay in the Shepherd's Wagon, and loved the wonderful grounds, the private fishing water on the Crystal River across the road (added, unadvertised benefit!), and especially the great hot springs.
The setting is magnificent! And the pools are a lot nicer than others I've been to (like Ojo Caliente in New Mexico). Uncrowded, nice pebbled bottom, clear water. I am definitely planning another trip to Avalanche Ranch!
The only reason I didn't give them five stars is that I had to go outside at 1:30 in the morning to ask a large group of fellow guests to keep it down. (A big group of families rented most of the ranch and was enjoying a variety of libations, and their conversation woke me up.)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halchorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    20
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
41
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

My teen daughter, golden retriever and I stayed in the shepherd's cabin -- a restored 1909 original. It was VERY cool, and I love the personal little luxurious touches the owners provide -- a plate of cookies with a note, towels tied up in a ribbon, along with a special "pet" towel for the dog, a small cookie jar of dog treats, etc. The wagon was adorably decorated, and we hit the hot springs immediately the first night. They're open 24/7 -- but there are "quiet hours". No problem, we didn't plan on doing any cannonballs. :) The pools themselves are amazing. There are 4, total, at three different temps. Sitting in them and checking out the stars is amazing, as are the cotttonwood trees overhanging part of the pool area. I don't know if time of year has anything to do with it, but I was able to put aside the fears raised by other reviews -- NO SNAKES, AT ALL. Not one, not a hint of one, nothing "creepy" or "slimy" etc. in the water. It was great. Our golden loved roaming with the other dogs, and my daughter found some great hand-knitted fingerless gloves in the "Antiques store". Don't head there because you're a big fan of antiques, however -- it's really more of a gift shop. Great stay!! Don't forget to drive on down the road (4 mi) while there to visit Redstone, CO. The Redstone Inn serves amazing food, the general store is great, the history is interesting, and there's a beautiful little gallery right on the river. Our trip took us all over South Dakota, Wyoming (including Yellowstone and Grand Teton) and Colorado, and Redstone was arguably the most special spot for us on the entire trip.

Room Tip: The restored "wagons" provide a one-of-a-kind experience for a very reasonable price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We visited Avalanche Ranch immediately after our ski mountain closed down and it was the perfect spot to relax and enjoy some quiet time. The Gypsy wagon was perfect for 2 people and a dog. They even gave us dog treats and cookies upon arrival! We were super close to the bathrooms and hot springs and had our own appointed grill and picnic table. We got to meet some of the owners who were out and about working on the property and they were very welcoming. We will be back in the summer!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jrgawrysiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Had an INCREDIBLE weekend at Avalanche Ranch Cabins & Antiques. The hot springs were amazing, the scenery breathtaking and the staff warm & welcoming! The cabins were the perfect size to be comfortable and had everything we needed, including plush, dream-inducing beds. We loved meeting animals everywhere we went - the lama, the horses, the ranch dogs and even newborn lambs!
The group space above the barn was perfect for our yoga retreat and group dinners, with simple, beautiful ambiance.
We had a truly incredible massage experience with Monica, the sweetest and most fascinating masseuse I've met.
The shop was full of very cool gifts and clothes - so it was hard not to spend money!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatJahnigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We really like the small cabins at Avalanche ranch. Most of the cabins sleep 4 or less, so if you have a family of 5 or 6 you may need to call and try to see if you can fit everyone in one cabin. The cabins we have been in have always been clean. Each cabin has a theme. Home made cookies were waiting for us on the table with a welcome note when we arrived. We went during the summer with other family and our cabins were together. The hot springs are beautiful and warm. This is a very relaxing place. Plan to stay for a while. We have been here three different summers and are sure to come again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DcLovesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

On a weeks adventure in Colorado, we came upon Avalanche Ranch - what a great find! Everything was just right. Great people. Neat store, and antiques store. Great cabin, comfy bed with a great view, wood stove that kept us warm. Excellent hot springs, and Facilities.
Highly recommend staying!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ourendlessview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We spent a Sunday morning at the pools. The bathroom and dressing rooms were very clean as they have been in the past. (About a year ago).
The snakes were probably sleeping for the winter because we didn't see any but I seem to recall seeing one in the summer. Personally I like all types of nature and these snakes are not poisonous. They are attracted to the warmth of the land around the water.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4bjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
11.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale
21.8 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
11.6 mi away
Days Inn Carbondale
Days Inn Carbondale
#2 of 2 in Carbondale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Redstone Inn
The Redstone Inn
#1 of 3 in Redstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Element Basalt Aspen
Element Basalt Aspen
#1 of 2 in Basalt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalanche Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalanche Ranch

Property: Avalanche Ranch
Address: 12863 Highway 133, Carbondale, CO 81623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Carbondale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Carbondale
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13 cozy log cabins, tastefully appointed, and a 3 bedroom Ranch House. Located on 36 acres 12 miles S. of Carbondale, CO. Spectacular mountain views! Hot Springs on site, stocked pond, riverfront, ice-skating, snowshoes provided. Great venue for family reunions, retreats, weddings and romantic getaways! Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avalanche Ranch Hotel Carbondale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing