We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful views and a lovely cottage!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage
Lounge area Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Cottage
Lounge area
Lounge area
Kitchen/Dining area
Bathroom
Bathroom
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
En Suite
Shower in en suite
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
View from house
Local area walk
View in winter
Museum
View from above the houses on the Southern Upland Way
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Wanlockhead, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Robert M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful views and a lovely cottage!!”
Reviewed February 9, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This was our second time staying at this cottage, it was just as lovely as the first time we stayed. The cottage itself is very well presented and immaculately kept, everything you could ever need to hand and absolutely gorgeous views from the cottage and stunning scenery en-route to it. Some very nice walks around about the cottage and down in the village of Wanlockhead itself. We will no doubt be visiting again in the future :) Highly recommend this cottage to everyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 16, 2016
Thanks for your review its a pleasure to welcome you back and hopefully you'll visit again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 13, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2016
Hi thanks for your review and glad you had a lovely weekend. I believe luckily one of the neighbours was on hand with his four wheel drive to take your bags up! There are board games in the twin room with the DVD's and books. Look forward to hearing from you again in the future.

Thanks

Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shappaeye
Ammanford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bliss”
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We have never stayed anywhere in Scotland on holiday before. Struggling for ideas for New Years Eve and not wanting to leave our slightly mad Springer Spaniel behind, I decided to give Scotland a go as we just wanted to relax. In case you don’t read the rest of what I write, I’ll summarise now, the finest, most relaxing 5 days I have ever spent in the UK.

The road to the village where the cottage is located is quiet and travels through some simply stunning scenery of Lanarkshire and Dumfries and Galloway. You realise as soon as you start on this road, it’s tucked out of the way.

The cottage was beautiful, well equipped, spacious and warm. It had everything we could possibly need. Before we got there we kept wondering ‘I wonder if there is a …………’, it was all there.

The view from the cottage was also beautiful, overlooking the small village of Wanlockhead. The owner was always quick to reply to my email before we arrived at the cottage and helped whenever she could.

If you want to get away from a busy day job or go ‘off the grid’ and experience a quiet rural setting with stunning scenery, book now.

The only point I would make is that a decent mobile phone signal is hard to come by but it is floating around there somewhere but if I’m honest, I didn’t care. If we needed to send a text, we stood out on the decking and we could get a bar or 2 on EE/Orange.

We loved it, our dog loved it, we are definitely going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Silence
Liked least: We weren't there for long enough!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2016
What a lovely review thanks for that, glad you enjoyed the peace and had a good new year. Look forward to hearing from you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k-waldron...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“very comfortable stay”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had a great trip to Wanlockhead and the facilities available within the cottage were great.

Thanks for letting us stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfy bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2016
thanks for your review and glad you had a good stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilovemysn...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed December 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had the most amazing stay at the cottage - our children (and we) didn't want to leave. The owners have provided everything you could possibly need for your stay. We were there to try our hand at gold panning and we went on some lovely hikes. We even came across an echo valley which the kids thoroughly enjoyed. The village is peaceful and picturesque - sheep wandering in the road etc. We visited the highest pub in Scotland and met the friendly staff there. There are no shops in the village but there is one the next village along - with friendly owners. In fact all the locals we met were very welcoming and helpful. We are already planning a return trip and have recommended the cottage to friends who hope to stay there in the future too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2015
Thanks for your lovely review and nice to read that you would like to return. Its our first year letting the cottage so its pleasing to read that we are hopefully getting it right! Look forward to hearing from you soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful cosy cottage in a beautiful place...”
Reviewed November 10, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a wonderful stay with family, the cottage truly is lovely with stunning views...
Wanlockhead is a beautiful little village, with lots of history, including mining, famous people such as Scarlett Johansson have filmed in the village, the northern lights can be seen at a certain time of year, it even has ski slopes! it also has a museum and you can take the kids gold panning if you want to. There is plenty to do and the walks are just breath taking! There isn't a shop in the village but it's worth the trip just to see the scenery that surround you...
There is one pub, (The Wanlockhead Inn) with lovely welcoming people who will be glad to have a wee drink with you and tell you all of Wanlockheads history, and the food they serve is lovely too.
Karen (the owner) is a warm, lovely person and very helpful, if you're stuck with deciding what to do she will gladly help and advise you! I would strongly recommend staying here to anyone, as we cannot wait to return in the future...
Thank you Karen!

Samantha

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property is beautifully presented, very cosy and the views were spectacular!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2015
Thanks for your lovely review Samantha I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in Wanlockhead and the surrounding areas. Was a pleasure to advise you only too glad to help. Look forward to hearing from you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smitz87
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The cottage was lovely. Perfect location, very clean, modern with everything you could ever need. Couldn't fault the place. We booked for a few relaxing days away and that's definitely what we got. Lovely walks and scenery. We are already thinking about booking our return trip :) Thanks again!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2015
Thanks for your lovely review and glad to hear you are thinking of returning look forward to welcoming you soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing