We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A great review of industrial and social history

We visited this museum whilst in the area and it was fascinating. We are both interested in... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
foodstuffs351
,
Oban, United Kingdom
Well worth a visit - friendly staff and an interesting visit for all the family.

Great visit - lovely area for a picnic and paddle in the burn for the kids.Plenty of parking and an... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Carol Anne A
,
Biggar, United Kingdom
Read all 245 reviews
  
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
187
48
2
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
187
48
2
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages gold panning well worth a visit pan for gold fascinating insight living conditions scones an excellent guide interesting place happy to answer questions hard hats tea room is brilliant tour great place to visit fascinating visit off the beaten track back in the day
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great visit - lovely area for a picnic and paddle in the burn for the kids.Plenty of parking and an opportunity to walk around the village.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Carol Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

What a great day we had at Wanlockhead visiting the museum, library and mine. Guides were very informative and obviously loved the area. Staff in cafe really lovely and helpful and great food too. A truly unique experience. Thank you for a great wee day.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank mary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019 via mobile

The museum is a fascinating place to visit doesn’t matter if you have children or not it makes for a good visit and to learn about the history of the area, would recommend going down to the mines and seeing what it was like back in the day.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Kezzyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

Although the museum and miner's cottages were interesting enough the highlight of our visit was the mine tour. Unlike similar places there was quite a large section of the mine to explore, which allowed us to really appreciate the grim working conditions and the hard life of the miners. The guide added to the atmosphere with some interesting stories and facts and was happy to answer questions and allow time for photographs. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank EGM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

We recently visited here and found it very interesting and it is brought to life by the excellent volunteers, it really brings it home how the poor miners and their families lived, My Dad had a little go at panning for gold and throughly enjoyed his day, I decide to take him here as it was his 80th Birthday and he has always wanted to pan for gold and although it is set up it in troughs he found a couple of tiny little pieces and the museum gives you a great insight. A trip down the mine must give that extra sense of reality unfortunately we were able to do the mine trip but other people who had said they found it really interesting you can spend a good few hours here it's a must if in the area

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank tilda354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews