We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JUST WHAT THE DOCTOR ORDERED!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hibiscus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hibiscus Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“JUST WHAT THE DOCTOR ORDERED!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband had a stroke whilst we were on holiday in Cairns from Christchurch, New Zealand and was subsequently admitted to hospital for Brain Surgery in Townsville. As you can imagine the stress level was high and when my grandaughter libby came over to Townsville from Christchurch, the first place we thought of to have a break away was Hibiscus Lodge, Mission Beach. I had been there before and had a wonderful few days and so we decided to book again for a few days rest and recreation.

It was all we remembered and was all up to Robert and Adrienne with their relaxed attitude lovely breakfasts and helpful advice and thecomfortable rooms were just what we needed. We spent most days in the pool and couldnt have had better weather and when it was time to leave, we went very reluctantly.

I have very fond memories of my stay at Hibiscus Lodge and so does my grandaughter Libby. She is only 18 and wants to go back again some day..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Owners Robert & Adrienne reply.
Thank you Pat for your fantastic review.
You have been through a very traumatic experience over the past few months and we were only to pleased to help in some small way.
Pleased you found Hibiscus Lodge such a peaceful haven to relax and rest up yet also enjoy the beautiful surroundings of Mission Beach.
Pleased your grandaughter had a great time. She was a delight to have and she will be welcome back to the Lodge anytime.
Hopefully next time under better circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    9
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
117
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mission Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

A delightful B&B in beautiful surroundings. We only had a short stay but everything we needed was there ... very friendly and helpful hosts ..... scrumptious breakfast! .... even entertainment with the Cassowaries! Highly recommended to all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harv Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Owners Robert & Adrienne reply.
Thank you Sue Harv M for a fantastic review.
Please you enjoyed your breakfast with the Cassowaries. There are not many places in the world where you can experience this.
Thank you for being great guests .We did enjoy your company very much and were sorry to say goodbye after such a short time however you are moving to Mission Beach soon so it will be nice to see a familiar face around the Beach.
Good luck with your new house and the big shift
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have really enjoyed the warm welcome from Adrienne and Robert in Mission Beach. As our hosts, they did a fantastic job. They helped us with our reef tour bookings and also were giving us good hints about what to do in the region. We have enjoyed with them the free drink on the veranda every evening and we had a nice talk. We can recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funbar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Owners Robert and Adrienne reply.
Thank you funbar75 for taking the time to review and for commenting on the fantastic service you received at Hibiscus Lodge.
Your rating did not match our 63 excellent ratings we have received over the past 18 months which was a bit disappointing however everyone is entitled to their opinion and we respect you for that.
We see that most of your reviews in Tropical North Queensland were of the same vain.
Holidaying in the tropics over the wet season (January February March ) poses some problems for some people. Insects can be a problem at times.
Thank you for your recommendation to stay at Hibiscus Lodge. We know you will return one day
and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was my second stay at Hibiscus Lodge and whilst once again I didn't have much time there, the time I had was great. I had contemplated staying somewhere else, only because I like to try new places, however after the gruff reception another B&B host gave me over the phone, and the inflated prices elsewhere, I decided that Hibiscus Lodge was the best choice.

Once again I was greeted warmly on arrival and taken to the lovely Rainforest Room. The room was perfectly clean, nicely decorated and private. The room had an adjoining bathroom which was small but plenty big enough for just me on my own. Similarly, the room was compact but still perfect for a solo traveller - I had no intentions of staying in in Mission Beach anyway! On arrival, Robert also kindly helped me with my luggage and the ant colony I appeared to have inadvertently tripped up the coast with.

Hibiscus Lodge is located in a suburban street, a very short walk away from the closest beach and a five minute drive to the main shopping and dining area. There is also a supermarket very close by. You'd be best served by hiring a car so you get to see everything there is available in the area, including all the pristine beaches.

The breakfast was once again beautiful and plentiful - a great way to start the day. I also appreciated chatting with the hosts about Cyclone Yasi - it was scary to hear what they experienced but all the more heartening then to see just how well beautiful Mission Beach has recovered in the short time since. Robert and Adrienne were fortunate not to sustain significant damage to their lovely property and the rainforest has done a phenomenal job of regenerating, so whilst you can can see the canopy is still thickening up, you would have no idea at a glance of the previous devastation of the area.

The best bit about Hibiscus Lodge? My sleep there was so deep and peaceful, I woke up feeling so energised! What a way to start the day.

Thank you Robert and Adrienne for another lovely stay. I am really glad to have been able to stay with you both again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms if you are travelling as a couple. As a solo traveller, any room wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alligorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Owners Robert & Adrienne reply
Thankyou Alli for another fantastic review. Pleased you had another comfortable stay with us,
Being a solo traveller at the time we were pleased we were able to offer you a special deal which is something most accommodation houses do not do for the single traveller.
Pleased you enjoyed our company as much as we enjoyed yours. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Loved this place! The pool was so inviting, with no other people to bother with. Our room was cosy and sweetly decorated. An inviting drink in the evening with the owners Adrienne & Robert on the balcony was a nice chance to swap stories & meet the other guests. "Simon & Michelle" were on their honeymoon & it was nice meeting them, what a lovely couple! Adrienne provided a beautiful breakfast of muffins, yoghurt, berries, toast and tea & coffee. I had the juice. "Great for relaxing, will be back! :)

Room Tip: The bigger of the 3 rooms has more space. "Hibiscus"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ButerflyTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Robert & Adrienne owners of Hibiscus Lodge B&B reply.
Thankyou Scott & Linda for your kind words. Hopefully your review will help other Tasmanians to Holiday at Hibiscus Lodge Mission Beach.
Pleased you enjoyed the compimentary evening drink on the verandah. It is a great chance to meet other guests and talk about their holiday experiences in North Queensland and to swap information regarding accommodation and tours in the area.
Hibiscus Lodge is known for its friendly relaxed atmosphere so we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again in this tropical paradise called Mission Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

It was a great pleasure to stay at this clean, well appointed bed and breakfast. We fell in love with Mission Beach and had an amazing time there and it was with thanks to the Hibiscus Lodge. Their knowledge and obvious love for the local area shines through.

The breakfast stood out with delicious homemade banana muffins gracing the table along side fresh fruit and great coffee.

We were at the end of our trip and to be welcomed into the home of such genuine, kind people was such a refreshing change to some of the more corporate hotels we stayed in during our visit to Australia. If we had the time we would have happily booked more days or even weeks here!

Now as well as the abundant wallabies that you see all day on the lawn the big news is that yes there is a Cassowary that sometimes comes to visit at breakfast and we consider ourselves blessed to have seen it…please see the picture we took!

Thanks to Robert and Adrienne for their warmth and excellent service, I would highly recommend the Hibiscus Lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFoodCurator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Robert & Adrienne owners of Hibiscus Lodge reply.
Thankyou Michael and Sarupa for such a wonderful review.
Pleased you enjoyed our mini game park at Hbiscus Lodge and in particular our resident Cassowary Sammy.
It was so fortunate you were able to visit our neighbours Rob & Sue who are the local Wild Care
volunteers for the area. They were able to show you the local animals they are caring for which we know was of great interest to you both.
Rob & Sue did appreciate the help you were able to give.
Thankyou for being such fantastic guests and hopefully we will see you both again in this paradise they call Mission Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We recently booked the Hisbiscus Lodge for the last night of our trip to cairns. When we reached there, we were warmly welcomed by Adrienne and Robert, the lovely couple who owns the place. Both the hosts and the place made us feel really at home, which was refreshing after a long day's travel. Adrienne and Robert were very easy going and friendly, and provided free drinks and freshly made breakfast for us which was delicious. We also made great friends with the other couple from Tasmania who were staying there. The lodge is conveniently located close to both the Wogaling and Mission beaches, very good Thai restaurants and the supermarket. The home is also frequented by friendly wildlife guests, such as wallabies, tree frogs, and an occasional cassowary. I would definitely recommend this place to stay for anyone who is travelling to Mission Beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Owners Robert & Adrienne reply.
Thankyou Michelle and Martin for your generous comments.
Pleased you felt comfortable and relaxed after arriving from your all day journey .
You were both great guests and were a big hit with our other guests from Tasmania.
Pleased you enjoyed all the animal life at Hibiscus Lodge. We have quite a little game park here now.
You are both welcome back to The Lodge anytime hopefully longer next time as there is sooooooo much to see and do at this wonderful paradise called Mission Beach.
A hidden gem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
5.0 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.2 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.4 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Licuala Lodge
Licuala Lodge
#3 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Lodge

Property: Hibiscus Lodge
Address: 5 Kurrajong CL, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wongaling Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hibiscus Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Lodge Bed and Breakfast is a Colonial Queenslander property set on 2.5 acres of lush tropical gardens and surrounded by rainforest yet is only a 5 minute walk the beautiful beaches .All guest rooms have AIR CONDITIONING and screened windows to keep out the bugs (both a must in the Tropics)and full ensuite bathrooms. All rooms have the latest television eqipment and DVD players along with a small library of DVD's for your entertainment.The lodge has a large swimming pool .Enjoy a delicious Tropical Breakfast each morning (included in price ) whilst watching the many native animals pass by.Cassowary and Wallaby are a must to see at breakfast.Free wifi is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hibiscus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing