We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice change from the high risers!”
Review of Hibiscus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hibiscus Lodge
Tasmania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A nice change from the high risers!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Loved this place! The pool was so inviting, with no other people to bother with. Our room was cosy and sweetly decorated. An inviting drink in the evening with the owners Adrienne & Robert on the balcony was a nice chance to swap stories & meet the other guests. "Simon & Michelle" were on their honeymoon & it was nice meeting them, what a lovely couple! Adrienne provided a beautiful breakfast of muffins, yoghurt, berries, toast and tea & coffee. I had the juice. "Great for relaxing, will be back! :)

Room Tip: The bigger of the 3 rooms has more space. "Hibiscus"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButerflyTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Robert & Adrienne owners of Hibiscus Lodge B&B reply.
Thankyou Scott & Linda for your kind words. Hopefully your review will help other Tasmanians to Holiday at Hibiscus Lodge Mission Beach.
Pleased you enjoyed the compimentary evening drink on the verandah. It is a great chance to meet other guests and talk about their holiday experiences in North Queensland and to swap information regarding accommodation and tours in the area.
Hibiscus Lodge is known for its friendly relaxed atmosphere so we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again in this tropical paradise called Mission Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    9
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
120
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

It was a great pleasure to stay at this clean, well appointed bed and breakfast. We fell in love with Mission Beach and had an amazing time there and it was with thanks to the Hibiscus Lodge. Their knowledge and obvious love for the local area shines through.

The breakfast stood out with delicious homemade banana muffins gracing the table along side fresh fruit and great coffee.

We were at the end of our trip and to be welcomed into the home of such genuine, kind people was such a refreshing change to some of the more corporate hotels we stayed in during our visit to Australia. If we had the time we would have happily booked more days or even weeks here!

Now as well as the abundant wallabies that you see all day on the lawn the big news is that yes there is a Cassowary that sometimes comes to visit at breakfast and we consider ourselves blessed to have seen it…please see the picture we took!

Thanks to Robert and Adrienne for their warmth and excellent service, I would highly recommend the Hibiscus Lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFoodCurator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Robert & Adrienne owners of Hibiscus Lodge reply.
Thankyou Michael and Sarupa for such a wonderful review.
Pleased you enjoyed our mini game park at Hbiscus Lodge and in particular our resident Cassowary Sammy.
It was so fortunate you were able to visit our neighbours Rob & Sue who are the local Wild Care
volunteers for the area. They were able to show you the local animals they are caring for which we know was of great interest to you both.
Rob & Sue did appreciate the help you were able to give.
Thankyou for being such fantastic guests and hopefully we will see you both again in this paradise they call Mission Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We recently booked the Hisbiscus Lodge for the last night of our trip to cairns. When we reached there, we were warmly welcomed by Adrienne and Robert, the lovely couple who owns the place. Both the hosts and the place made us feel really at home, which was refreshing after a long day's travel. Adrienne and Robert were very easy going and friendly, and provided free drinks and freshly made breakfast for us which was delicious. We also made great friends with the other couple from Tasmania who were staying there. The lodge is conveniently located close to both the Wogaling and Mission beaches, very good Thai restaurants and the supermarket. The home is also frequented by friendly wildlife guests, such as wallabies, tree frogs, and an occasional cassowary. I would definitely recommend this place to stay for anyone who is travelling to Mission Beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Owners Robert & Adrienne reply.
Thankyou Michelle and Martin for your generous comments.
Pleased you felt comfortable and relaxed after arriving from your all day journey .
You were both great guests and were a big hit with our other guests from Tasmania.
Pleased you enjoyed all the animal life at Hibiscus Lodge. We have quite a little game park here now.
You are both welcome back to The Lodge anytime hopefully longer next time as there is sooooooo much to see and do at this wonderful paradise called Mission Beach.
A hidden gem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a gorgeous B&B. Robert and Adrienne made us feel really welcome, and the home made muffins for breakfast and evening drinks on the verendah were a lovely touch. It was the perfect balance between warm hospitality and giving us space and privacy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Robert & Adrienne Owners of Hibiscus Lodge reply
Thankyou Helen and Martin for such a wonderful review.
We are so pleased that you felt at home and comfortable at the Lodge yet were able to feel that you had your own privacy.
At Hibiscus Lodge we always try and maintain a balance between friendly and homely surroundings coupled with guest privacy. It seems to work well at Hibiscus Lodge.

Pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and in particular Adrienne's wonderful banana and bluberry muffins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

we recently enjoyed our second stay with Adrienne and Robert at their wonderful home and it just gets better .They welcome you like friends and they make you feel like your staying with family.The place itself is clean and modern .There is free wifi and tea and coffee.The breakfast is wonderful with homemade muffins and jams and if you are lucky you may share breakfast time with a cassowary or a wallaby.This time we took some friends and they have also fell in love with this gem.We cant wait to go back for our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Owners Robert & Adrienne reply.
Thankyou Sue & Keith for a fantastic review.
Pleased you introduced us to your wonderful friends Ali & Mark and we are pleased you all had a great time.
Having breakfast with Sammy the Cassowary was a special treat especially for your friends who had not seen a Cassowary before. Our local Wallaby family cooperated and had breakfast with you all as well which was great.
Look forward to seeing you all again soon and you will all be welcome to return anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We recently stayed at the wonderfull Hibiscus Lodge in Mission Beach. This was our first stop on our trip through the east-coast and we couldnt have started it off better!
Our hosts Robert and Adrienne are just wonderful and you feel welcome immediatly. The rooms are beautifull, clean and modern.
Breakfast is delicious, everything is fresh and you wake up with the smell of freshly baked croissants or muffins in the morning. What a way to start your day! If your lucky, and we were, the Cassowary and Wallabies join you for breakfast in their beautifull backyard.
Mission Beach is a great place for a visit to the Great Barrier Reef, since it's just a short boattrip away and with much smaller groups than we encountered in other places.
Robert and Adrienne, Thank you so much for our wonderfull stay! We will miss you now that we're in back home in Holland and wish you all the best with your wonderfull B&B!
Felix and Fiona

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Owners Robert & Adrienne reply.
Thanks Fiona and Felix. Thankyou for being so generous.
We are particularly pleased you went out to The Great Barrier Reef from Mission Beach. It is the best part of the Barrier Reef and so close to the shores of Mission Beach.
Pleased you both enjoyed Adrienne's home baking for breakfast. Adrienne's muffins are becoming quite a hit especially the blueberry. Robert's Mixed Berry Parfaits are now a close second though.
Hope to see you both again sometime in the future at this special place called Hibiscus Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We had 3 nights in beautiful Mission Beach and tremendously enjoyed our stay at the lovely B&B of Adrienne& Robert. Rooms are clean, comfy and charmingly decorated, you have everything you need with ensuite, aircon, free WiFi, complementary tea& coffee and even a large DVD and book selection to choose from. The estate has an amazing garden with lots of flowers & wildlife (birds, wallabies, lace monitor) and we've enjoyed the yummy breakfast on the porch and sunset drinks with the owners on the veranda. Robert went above&beyond to help us with the booking of activities, restaurant advice and tips for wildlife spotting in the area and we are certainly croquet pros now thanks to his lessons. Thanks again for this lovely experience- we hope we can visit again very soon!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlepenguin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Robert & Adrienne Owners reply.
Thankyou Anne and Ralf for such an awesome review.
We are so pleased you all enjoyed the Lodge and Mission Beach.
German guests are so enjoyable to have as guests as they always seem to use teir time exploring the area. Pleased you all had a good day on Dunk Island trampng in the rainforest and also the many bush walks in the area. Our only disappointment was that you could not get out o The Great Barrier Reef because of weather confitions.
Oh well its a good excuse to return one day. Soon we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
5.0 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
154 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
1.4 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Licuala Lodge
Licuala Lodge
#3 of 11 in Mission Beach
270 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#5 of 11 in Mission Beach
82 reviews
2.8 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#3 of 23 in Mission Beach
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Lodge

Property: Hibiscus Lodge
Address: 5 Kurrajong CL, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wongaling Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hibiscus Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Lodge Bed and Breakfast is a Colonial Queenslander property set on 2.5 acres of lush tropical gardens and surrounded by rainforest yet is only a 5 minute walk the beautiful beaches .All guest rooms have AIR CONDITIONING and screened windows to keep out the bugs (both a must in the Tropics)and full ensuite bathrooms. All rooms have the latest television eqipment and DVD players along with a small library of DVD's for your entertainment.The lodge has a large swimming pool .Enjoy a delicious Tropical Breakfast each morning (included in price ) whilst watching the many native animals pass by.Cassowary and Wallaby are a must to see at breakfast.Free wifi is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hibiscus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing