We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hibiscus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hibiscus Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Have just returned from our weekend away at Mission Beach where we stayed at Hibiscus Lodge. What an absolute hidden gem of a B & B.
The hosts Robert & Adrienne were absolutely fantastic, with freshly made tropical breakfasts included each day.
Adrienne made some fantastic banana & walnut muffins on our first morning whilst Robert made a fantastic strawberry yoghurt dish the next day, both days accompanied with cereal's, toast, homemade jams, fresh fruit salads, tea, coffee and much more.
Set in the grounds of rainforest you get the chance to see so much wildlife from wallabies to even being able to see Cassowary's if your lucky.
We enjoyed our complimentary beer each night whilst playing crocquet, wow this place had so much to offer we wanted to stay longer..
Adrienne & Robert, we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guernsey_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Owners Robert & Adrienne reply.
Thankyou Mark & Ali for such a fantastic review.
Pleased you enjoyed Robert's FAMOUS "Tropical Mixed Berry Parfait". They are certainly creating a big hit with guests.
Guests are commenting on the healthy breakfasts we are creating and remarking how different and healthier it is to your normal unhealthy fried bacon and eggs type food. We are so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast.
Croquet is also a big hit especially in the later afternoon. As a first timer we were pleased you had some fun with your friends. Not too sure who won as there seemed to be a lot of laughter ging on.
Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    9
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
117
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Have recenty returned from another wonderful stay at Hibiscus Lodge. This was my third stay and as always, Robert and Adrienne were the ultimate hosts. Breakfast on the verandah with the familiy of wallibies is a great way to start the day, along with the fresh breakfast and great company. Wonderful to see the rainforest in their backyard looking lush and green. Will be back again on my next visit to Mission Beach

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellington5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Robert and Adrienne Owners of Hibiscus Lodge reply.
Thankyou Nes for another great review.
You keep coming back to this beautiful place called Mission Beach and this is your third stay at The Lodge. Pleased you enjoyed the small game park we now have at Hibiscus Lodge.
The Lace Monitors are roaming the grounds at the moment much to discussed of our resident Wallaby Family.
Good to see lots of Kiwis escaping the cold winter in New Zealand and travelling to North Queensland.
Look forward to seeing you next winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Have enjoyed Robert & Adrienne's hospitality twice now and thoroughly enjoyed both visits. Very friendly host, wonderful accommodation, top breakfast and superb grounds to wander in make this our favourite B&B.
The wallabies that gather at Breakfast are a real treat to tourists.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Owners Robert and Adrienne reply.
Thankyou Mike for your great review.
It was good to receive a review from a LOCAL.
We accommodate many international guests however we also receive many guests from local areas mainly Cairns and Townsville so your opinion on Hibiscus Lodge will help future weekenders decide on their accommodation in Mission Beach. Thankyou
Our resident Wallaby family still entertain our guests at breakfast time. Sammy the Cassowary has now returned which also adds to the excitement over breakfast.
Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This B&B is a wonderful place to stay. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We arrived just before sunset and were served a complementary drink on the patio and enjoyed the conversation with Adrienne and Robert as well as the other guests. The next day we were served a wonderful breakfast with delicious blueberry muffins and when we were eating a wallaby came into the garden in front of our breakfast table. It was fantastic!

The rooms are very clean and nice. There are a variety of places nearby to eat fantastic food (specially Thai) and there are also DVDs to watch in your room with a selection of both Australian and good international movies.

I would go back to this beautiful place in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sommar-sol_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Owners Robert & Adrienne reply.
Thankyou Katrin Jonathan and Zara for the fantastic review.
Pleased you enjoyed Hibiscua Lodge hospitality as we certainly enjoyed having you all. The only disappointment was you didn't stay long enough. Hope your heart beats faster so you can all return soon.
Pleased you enjoyed your breakfast with the wallaby. The whole wallaby family arrive for breakfast now which makes for a lot of excitement among guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Robert and Adrienne are wonderful people and we loved having complimentary drinks with them on the porch (daily at 6pm). The best part, however, was the beautiful/strange cassowary that wandered onto the back deck, which opens to the rainforest. They call him/her Sammy. The next morning at breakfast a whole family of wallabies played in the yard for our entertainment. It was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingDragon_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Owners Robert & Adrienne Reply.

Thankyou Kara and Klair for being such great guests. We are so pleased you found us in "The Lonely Planet"
You came to Mission Beach especially to find a Cassowary and ended up having breakfast with Sammy the Cassowary (not too sure whether its a him or a her yet).
So pleased you extended your time with us as the next morning you had breakfast with our resident Wallaby Family. How lucky is that.
All the very best for the future .We know you will be back in this magical place called Mission Beach soon so we will look forward to your cheerful happy go lucky company.
Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

First of all: thanks to Adrienne and Robert for making our stay so wonderful! You guys are lovely!
- Beautiful B&B
- Amazing breakfast with wallabies and a cassowary if you're lucky :)
- High entertainment factor (play some croquet with the hosts ;))
- Every night they gave us a complimentary drink and had some great chats with them
- Amazing area and cute little town centres along the beach
Can't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Owners Robert & Adrienne

Thankyou Kim and Michael for such a fantastic review. We are so pleased you thought Hibiscus Lodge was the best accommodation on your trip.
You were travelling with your parents from Belgium so we were so pleased they enjoyed some good old North Queensland/Kiwi hospitality while in Australia.
Pleased you enjoyed some of the entertainment we provided such as croquet, DVD library and your breakfast with the Cassowary and Wallaby. Looked like your parents had some great close up photos of the Cassowary to take back to Belgium.
Michael Iam looking forward to our great croquet challenge when you return to Hibiscus Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Adrienne and Robert. They welcomed us with open arms and their hospitality was exceptional. We felt like staying with friends. The room was stylish and the hosts had thought about every little detail. The breakfast on the verandah with homemade treats was a delight. What a wonderful environment for a relaxing stay!!!

We can highly recommend the Hibiscus Lodge and we have intentions to go back there on our next travels to Queensland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owners Robert and Adrienne at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thankyou Regina and Andreas.
We are both so pleased you felt so at home staying at Hibiscus Lodge. We always try our best to create a friendly environment which makes people feel at home at the Lodge.
Congratulations at reaching the peek of Walsh's Pyramid Mountain and in such a short time too.
Sorry you missed the Cassowary for breakfast he arrived just as you were driving out .
Oh well gives you something to look forward to next time you visit us at Hibiscus Lodge.
Look forward to seeing you soon and thankyou for being such good guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
5.0 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
149 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.2 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
78 reviews
1.4 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
92 reviews
2.8 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Lodge

Property: Hibiscus Lodge
Address: 5 Kurrajong CL, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wongaling Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hibiscus Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Lodge Bed and Breakfast is a Colonial Queenslander property set on 2.5 acres of lush tropical gardens and surrounded by rainforest yet is only a 5 minute walk the beautiful beaches .All guest rooms have AIR CONDITIONING and screened windows to keep out the bugs (both a must in the Tropics)and full ensuite bathrooms. All rooms have the latest television eqipment and DVD players along with a small library of DVD's for your entertainment.The lodge has a large swimming pool .Enjoy a delicious Tropical Breakfast each morning (included in price ) whilst watching the many native animals pass by.Cassowary and Wallaby are a must to see at breakfast.Free wifi is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hibiscus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing