We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best stay out of the whole trip”
Review of Hibiscus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hibiscus Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best stay out of the whole trip”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

First of all: thanks to Adrienne and Robert for making our stay so wonderful! You guys are lovely!
- Beautiful B&B
- Amazing breakfast with wallabies and a cassowary if you're lucky :)
- High entertainment factor (play some croquet with the hosts ;))
- Every night they gave us a complimentary drink and had some great chats with them
- Amazing area and cute little town centres along the beach
Can't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Owners Robert & Adrienne

Thankyou Kim and Michael for such a fantastic review. We are so pleased you thought Hibiscus Lodge was the best accommodation on your trip.
You were travelling with your parents from Belgium so we were so pleased they enjoyed some good old North Queensland/Kiwi hospitality while in Australia.
Pleased you enjoyed some of the entertainment we provided such as croquet, DVD library and your breakfast with the Cassowary and Wallaby. Looked like your parents had some great close up photos of the Cassowary to take back to Belgium.
Michael Iam looking forward to our great croquet challenge when you return to Hibiscus Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    9
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
118
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Adrienne and Robert. They welcomed us with open arms and their hospitality was exceptional. We felt like staying with friends. The room was stylish and the hosts had thought about every little detail. The breakfast on the verandah with homemade treats was a delight. What a wonderful environment for a relaxing stay!!!

We can highly recommend the Hibiscus Lodge and we have intentions to go back there on our next travels to Queensland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owners Robert and Adrienne at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thankyou Regina and Andreas.
We are both so pleased you felt so at home staying at Hibiscus Lodge. We always try our best to create a friendly environment which makes people feel at home at the Lodge.
Congratulations at reaching the peek of Walsh's Pyramid Mountain and in such a short time too.
Sorry you missed the Cassowary for breakfast he arrived just as you were driving out .
Oh well gives you something to look forward to next time you visit us at Hibiscus Lodge.
Look forward to seeing you soon and thankyou for being such good guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalla, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

great setting ,friendly hosts to welcome and attend to our needs, we stayed 4 nights but could have stayed more.The breakfasts were great and the visit from the cassowary was a highlight. The evening chats on the verandah were very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owners Robert & Adrienne at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thankyou Kevin & Rosemary for such a fantastic review.
Sorry about the 4 days of unseasonal rain but we were pleased you were still able to get out and about to see the wonderful area around Mission Beach.
Congratulations on having a great time in Mission Beach and we look forward to your next visit.
Thankyou for your kind words on your departure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Thanks Robert & Adrienne for a wonderful stay. The serenity of the surrounds plus the visiting wildlife (cassowary, wallaby & birdlife) and the expertise of the hosts make for a truly relaxing & memorable experience.

Jan & Gary.
Brisbane.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibiscuslodge, Owners Robert & Adrienne at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thankyou Gary & Jan.
It is 4 years since you last visited Hibiscus Lodge & Mission Beach. Great to see you return and
we are paricularly pleased you think Mission Beach is looking so beautiful and recovering so well after Cyclone Yasi.
We know you want to return soon so we look forward to seeing you again hopefully next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We couldn't ask for anything more from a Bed & Breakfast. Thanks, Robert and Adrienne, for a wonderful stay. We recently enjoyed two nights at the Hibiscus, and we didn't even mind the unusually rainy weather for Queensland because we could relax at the B & B and enjoy the great selection of DVD's. We also liked the cozy lounge area, the inviting outdoor breakfast setting, and the evening cocktails on the porch. We appreciated the dining and tourist ideas for Mission Beach. What a great community that's not nearly as busy and touristy as some areas in FNQ. Thanks, Robert and Adrienne, for your warmth and hospitality!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kottcamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owners Robert & Adrienne at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thankyou Greg Kristan Paul & Kathy. So pleased you enjoyed your first B&B experience in Australia.
We enjoy having American guests. Coming from Colarado where it is sometimes hot and dry you must have been a little disappointed with the unseasonal rain. We do apologise but we were so pleased you still enjoyed your stay in Mission Beach and in particular pleased you felt comfortable and at home at Hibiscus Lodge .
Look forward to your next stay at the Lodge and hopefully the weather will be kinder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We live in "Paradise" (Santa Barbara, California) but readily concede the title of "Heaven" to Hibiscus Lodge in Mission Beach, Queensland. Hosts Robert and Adrienne go more than the extra mile to make every visit memorable. The breakfasts are outstanding and the list of possible activities fascinating. As bird watchers, we were anxious to spot a Southern Cassowary in the wild so it was a delightful surprise when one strolled up to the verandah after breakfast for a look around. We also enjoyed watching films from the hosts' vast collection of Australian classics.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owners Robert & Adrienne at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thankyou Bob and Isabel for such a glowing review. We are so thrilled about your comments.
We will now have to visit Santa Barbara California one day.
Being avid bird watchers you made a special trip to visit Mission Beach to try and find the Great Southern Cassowary and low and behold our local Cassowary whose name is Sammy joined you for breakfast.
You must have been so pleased especially as this was your second trip to Mission Beach to find a Cassowary.
You were both great guests and we look forward to your return visit hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2012

It's a very clean and nice house with the very friendly hosts Robert and Adrienne.
We were having breakfast with Cassowary, that is the best memory of our trip.
This is the best B&B I had ever stay,
I will come back and stay here again when I visit Mission Beach next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Owners Robert & Adrienne reply.

Thankyou Jerry & Cleo for such a fantastic review.
Jerry you are our very first guests from Taiwan so we are so please you had a great time at Hibiscus Lodge.
We were especially pleased you were lucky enough to have breakfast with our resident Cassowary. His name is Sammy and he seems to know when it is breakfast time at the Lodge.
This morning we had 6 Wallaby arrive for breakfast much to the delight of our American guests.
Hopefully on your next visit to Hibiscus Lodge we can arrange breakfast with the Wallaby for a change.
Look forward to your next visit and hopefully you can stay a bit longer in this beautiful place called Mission Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
5.0 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
3.5 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.4 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.8 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#3 of 23 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Lodge

Property: Hibiscus Lodge
Address: 5 Kurrajong CL, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wongaling Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hibiscus Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Lodge Bed and Breakfast is a Colonial Queenslander property set on 2.5 acres of lush tropical gardens and surrounded by rainforest yet is only a 5 minute walk the beautiful beaches .All guest rooms have AIR CONDITIONING and screened windows to keep out the bugs (both a must in the Tropics)and full ensuite bathrooms. All rooms have the latest television eqipment and DVD players along with a small library of DVD's for your entertainment.The lodge has a large swimming pool .Enjoy a delicious Tropical Breakfast each morning (included in price ) whilst watching the many native animals pass by.Cassowary and Wallaby are a must to see at breakfast.Free wifi is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Hibiscus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing