We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic facilities, excellent hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mission Reef Resort
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
“Fantastic facilities, excellent hosts”
Reviewed March 25, 2009

This resort is ideally located if you want to be close to all the amenities, but also with peace and quiet to relax in. The beach is but a 2 minute walk away, if you can drag yourself away from the lovely pool with spa and water feature, and BBQ / seating area. The apartment was very spacious and clean, with queen sized double bed, large bathroom with shower and bath, and enormous living / dining / fully fitted kitchen area. The apartment also boasts to having private washing machine and tumble dryer as well. The balcony, complete with table and chairs (and even little water feature!) was ideal for sunrise and breakfasts; and sunsets with evening meals, overlooking the pool. Mike and Sue were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much bother, full of local advice (from local tours to cooking tips!) and created a wonderfully welcoming and relaxing environment. We originally booked in for 3 nights, and ended up staying a week!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter1234Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    40
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
25
48
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
RunawayBay
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2008

Belinda, Runaway Bay, Qld
Great holiday with the family. Wonderful, spacious, modern rooms. Clean and very affordable. Lovely outdoor atmosphere: tropical gardens, BBQ and pool. Close to beach, Woolworths, a few restaurants and activities nearby. Mike and Susan were very hospitable and made us feel right at home. We all had a great time and would recommend to other people to stay at Mission Reef Resort at Mission Beach.

  • Liked — Clean, spacious, modern, affordable, friendly staff, relaxing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tbhhori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

I loved this place. The apartment we stayed in (2 bedroom, two bathroom) was huge and absolutely spotless. The balcony was very large with a little waterfall feature! The pool was quite warm and big enough. The pool area is really pretty with gorgeous flowers.

The location is great if you want a really relaxing time. The apartments are situated in a really quiet area 1 minute from the beach, but there are a few places to eat or drink within walking distance. To get to the main resort of mission beach (which is also really quite small but lovely) you probably would need a car (5 minute drive).

We stopped here for one night on the drive from Airlie beach to Port Douglas. However I wish we stayed longer! The area is so lush and tropical - absolutely beautiful and then you also have the beach which is stunning

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aevans64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay Qld
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We are a family of 2 adults & 3 kids (7,10 and 13). Although initially disappointed that this resort (??) was not right in the heart of Mission Beach, we were suprised at the size of the apartments. Two LCD tvs and good living areas. A few renovations going on at the time and we were unable to use the carpark which was a bit annoying carrying stuff from the car. The kids loved the pool and (good or bad) there is a small skate park/playground within 300m which our kids loved! Overall this was a nice, family run place and would come back but just a bit away from the action (if there is any) of Mission Beach.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Gartons5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2008

We booked two nights at the Mission Reef resort as a stop off whilst travelling from Cairns to the Whitsunday Islands on the advice of a local travel agent.
We arrived late at night and were delighted to picked up from the Greyhound bus stop by Mike, the owner. Once we arrived we were shown to a lovely, clean and smartly decorated unit, one of the most pleasant rooms we had during our time in Australia in fact.
Mike and Susan who own and run the resort could not have been more helpful, courteous or friendly the whole time that we were there, offering advice on local amenities, and generally making us feel like we were at home.
We didnt actually leave the apartments for too long whilst we there, the pool area is small but beautifully presented and we found it to be a peaceful and relaxing stop off on our otherwise busy travels.
There is a BBQ facility which is ideal for young families and various take away outlets and restaurants nearby, and we enjoyed the ambience there so much that we ordered a take away on our second night and ate in in the lovely fairly lit grounds.
Overall, this was a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable stopover, I would recommend the Mission Reef resort to travellers or familes alike and if I ever find myself in Mission Beach again I will be sure to book there without hesitation.
Thanks Mike and Sue - hope to see you again soon!!
Hilary and Miguel, London England

  • Liked — the hospitality of the owners
  • Disliked — slightly remote location - but not a problem as plenty of taxis cheap and available
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hilarycLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

stayed here July 2007 for around £50 per night. Our room was excellently furnished with a fridge and tea/coffe facilites and had a wonderful shower in a well appointed bathroom. There was free car parking and the hosts were very helpfull.

  • Liked — well appointed rooms
  • Disliked — no where to eat
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2006

For over 20 yrs we have travelled to Nth Qld - 1st as a young couple in a campervan - now with 2 teenage kids.
Mission Beach is simply the best - Sea, sand, reef, rainforest, islands & as many activities as you would want.
Best accomodation????
Mission Reef Resort at Wongaling Beach - going back for the third time June 2006.
check it out - ----
happy holidays,
Colin

Helpful?
6 Thank fnqregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
5.9 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
155 reviews
2.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.7 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#3 of 23 in Mission Beach
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
132 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Reef Resort

Property: Mission Reef Resort
Address: 58-62 Holland St, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wongaling Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mission Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Reef Resort is a luxury holiday apartment accommodation venue situation in magnificent Mission Beach, North Queensland, Australia.Offering 14 tastefully furnished,2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments or 14 1 bedroom self contained and motel style suites plus on-site manager, the resort is one of the newest in the area, having been officially opened in May, 2005.Mission Reef Resort is less than a one minute walk to the famous pristine sands of Mission Beach and is centrally located within the township.When you stay at Mission Reef Resort you can choose to experience all the wonders the area offers, from Great Barrier Reef snorkeling, diving and coral viewing trips to guided walks in the lush tropical North Queensland rainforest. The tours and activities choices are endless. And if you are not the adventurous type, you can just relax in the cool resort pool to savoir the tropical sunshine and sea breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mission Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Reef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing