We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It will do... Bland.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mission Reef Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Sufficient. Expensive. Service can be hit and miss, usually better than not. There is secure parking... When the gate openers work. Rooms have good aircon, good tvs and reception, good showers... Everything else is alright...

The place is nice and new. Usually clean, dead flies behind the tv etc... But I felt like everything was done on the cheap and wasn't well thought through. None of the rooms have personaility... They are all bland. Bland is definitely the word.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PilotHlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 120 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

I booked a package deal and was so disappointed...beginning with the rude reception , continuing with broken facilities, dirty appartment and appalling cheapskate ( Homebrand longlife milk... cornflakes in a takeaway container ) continental breakfast for which I was charged $30 when my voucher said it was included... could go on.. needless to say wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan_Mission, Owner at Mission Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Very disappointed with your review. I tried to help when you were here and you would not accept any offer we made at the time.

I also offered you a free weekend package to which we received no reply.

Susan - Mission Reef Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I would highly recommend to anyone staying in the area. Less then a few hundred meters from the beach, and other restaurants close by. The room itself we found to be very clean and the staff to be very friendly and pleasant. Fantastic service, fantastic room and an overall excellent stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleMagani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan_Mission, Owner at Mission Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for your very kink review, I hope we will see you again.
Susan Mission Reef Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Have stayed here twice and found the rooms very clean and comfortable. I doubt you'll find better value for the price at Mission Beach. It's a street back from the beach but within walking distance of a couple of eateries.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan_Mission, Manager at Mission Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night in December whilst passing through. The room was very clean and quiet with a fridge and very good aircon. Plenty of free parking too.

The room and bathroom were clean, until the bed was slightly moved, very very dusty under the bed (the aircon started blowing it around) and there was also an old plastic food container.

The free wifi offered here was very poor, you had to stand in one place in the room in order to get a connection (hence moving the bed). If you moved from this spot the connection would drop and it took a while to reconnect. It was slow too when connected.

All in all it was an ok place to rest your head but if you're a traveller looking for decent wifi as well as accommodation then look for somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Daniel picked us up at the bus depot when we arrived in Mission Beach off the grey Hound bus
When we arrived in mission beach the weather was slightly overcast, however the apartment at the miision reef resort was 5star, spacious, very nice lounge area, great kitchen, and nice bathroom.
Spotlessly clean, and comfortable.
The apartment was quiet at night time, and we enjoyed a great nights sleep.
The beach itself was just across the road form the apartment and we were the only ones on the beach some days basking in the sun.
Rebecca and Daniel could not do enough for us during our stay, we felt relaxed and at home while we used the laptop at he reception are, wifi free.
Special mention for Andy bus driver for the snorkling trip. Also for Caroline at the information centre in the village.well after we were dropped off bvy Daniel to the bus stop, my wife relized she left her glass s in the car, so , we rang, and they said they would put them in the post to us, what a great response we thought, but , to our amazement Rebecca arrived to our new apt in Townsville a ,4 hour drive away, and, handed me my precious glass s, now where would you get that honesty and service, so thank you to them both for making a big difference to our holiday, in more ways than one

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maryc0nneely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

What a fantastic place to stay. Clean, open and handy to beach. Management couple go out of their way to help your stay enjoyable. Close to restaurants. I recommend Spicey Thai Restaurant for a meal and Early Bird for Breakfast. 1 bedroom apt. was large and airy and soooo relaxing. Relax in the spa or around the pool. Very peaceful. Nice area to visit for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Apt 9 has ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wattlewedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
2.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.7 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Mission Beach
402 reviews
1.6 mi away
Licuala Lodge
Licuala Lodge
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Beachcomber Motel
Beachcomber Motel
#2 of 5 in Cardwell
155 reviews
24.9 mi away
Cardwell Beachfront Motel
0.9 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge
Hibiscus Lodge
#2 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Reef Resort

Address: 58-62 Holland St, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wongaling Beach
Price Range: $90 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mission Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Reef Resort is a luxury holiday apartment accommodation venue situation in magnificent Mission Beach, North Queensland, Australia.Offering 14 tastefully furnished,2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments or 14 1 bedroom self contained and motel style suites plus on-site manager, the resort is one of the newest in the area, having been officially opened in May, 2005.Mission Reef Resort is less than a one minute walk to the famous pristine sands of Mission Beach and is centrally located within the township.When you stay at Mission Reef Resort you can choose to experience all the wonders the area offers, from Great Barrier Reef snorkeling, diving and coral viewing trips to guided walks in the lush tropical North Queensland rainforest. The tours and activities choices are endless. And if you are not the adventurous type, you can just relax in the cool resort pool to savoir the tropical sunshine and sea breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Mission Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Reef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing