We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame - this could be a good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mission Reef Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Shame - this could be a good place to stay”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We had booked for 9 nights in July 2011 but only lasted 1! Other reviews on here have all commented on the limited kitchen utensils/plates/glasses, the endless list of "do's and don't's" and the very petty tea and coffee portions in tupperware containers. However. we bailed out as a result of the horrible cigarette smoke from the apartment underneath us.

We turned up at 3.30pm after commuting from Western Sydney via Cairns since 5am. We unpacked, settled in - and then it started. The "marvellous" aroma from an electricity company worker downstairs who'd decided that he was going to have a couple of cigarettes to wind down after a day of working. We madly scrambled to shut doors and windows, which wasn't the way we'd planned to spend 9 nights in North QLD escaping the winter cold of Sydney. It got worse into the early evening, but it had turned unseasonally cool, so everything was shut anyway.

Went to bed, which, by the way, slid away from the wall when you sat up to read the local tourist brochures, making sure that the small window above the bed was opened to let some air into the room before we turned in. Big mistake! 5.50am and the wake up call wasn't an alarm clock, traffic or the local birdlife - it was that "marvellous" aroma that actually woke me up.

Our 2 sons don't cope at all well with cigarette smoke, so we simply decided that we weren't going to spend another 8 nights enduring that. To their credit, the owners did offer to relocate us to another apartment. However, we couldn't be guaranteed that our next set of neighbours would be any different - and in July in Mission Beach there were a lot of electricity company workers getting on with restoring the infrastructure after Cyclone Yasi. So, after some bargaining (we paid a second night as a "departure fee" - our suggestion, not their demand), we packed up and left. In the end, we went back to beautiful Port Douglas.

It was a real shame this place didn't work out. Knowing a little about North QLD, we wanted to support some of those communities that were doing it tough following the cyclone and try somewhere different after 2 years' consecutive holidays in Port Douglas. The apartments are reasonably spacious and the location is very close to the beach. However, my idea of a holiday in North QLD in July is fresh air and being able to be on your balcony, looking down at the pool and not be put off by someone else's smoking.

Room Tip: Be aware - a non smoking room doesn't mean you won't be impacted by someone else's smoki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJR68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missionrr, Manager at Mission Reef Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
As the new manager of this resort i would like to apologize for what happened, unfortunately we can not control the actions of others, while every attempt to keep non smokers away from smokers is tried, occasionally we fail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    40
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
25
48
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

where,shall i start,well we were a group of 6 ladies going on a weekend away for one ladies birthday,firstly my friend phoned to book and asked the owner 3 times if this was the mission beach resort near woolworths and she said yes,Wrong it wasnt the resort we thought at all ,when one lady was really sick and couldnt make it we phoned and asked if we could cancel one room and put the one lady in with 2 of the others the owner said no as it had to be 48hrs notice.On our arival the owner wasnt plesent at all,we was anoyed when we was to find out that one of our rooms was no where near the other two rooms,we asked if we could be put together in a appartment and a room and her answer was FULLY BOOKED,which we knew wasnt true as they were available on wotif when we looked,also we found out from a number of people (dont want to mention names and get people into trouble)that this wasnt the case and there were lots of rooms availble ,and we could have all been together,the owner was a reaL ''''''''''''''''just didnt want to help at all.Then you get to your rooms small but very cean,but you must not forget to read the house rules,wash your didhes dry them and put them away ,if you dont have time to do this let them know and they will charge you a fee,may as well stay at home ,any cups etc that get broke or marks on furniture will be paid for,dont let your bedspead go on the floor ,it has to be placed in the wadrobe,dont go in your room with sand on your feet,dont leave air con during the day and dont set it below 22 degrees.
Then the owners had to go away ,yipee the people she got to fill in for her were wonderfull,friendly and couldnt do enough for you pitty it wasnt there buissness,any way 5 local buissness ladies will tell all there family and friends never to go there while ever these rude people own it,its ashame as it has beautiful gardens and close to the beach.My smoke detector was hanging off and no battery in it also coffee and tea in cheap cotainers in the fridge,i would have thought that these would have had to be sealed satches as any one could add things int these containers.
Anyway owners it wouldnt hurt to put a smile on you faces when guests arrive and to be a bit more helpful

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missionrr, Manager at Mission Reef Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
As the new manager I can not apologize for the actions of others but i can state that the issue with the Tea, Coffee, Sugar and milk has been rectified, as to the smoke detectors hanging down, that issue has been rectified with new detectors.
The few requests about the dishes help us keep the costs down so we can keep the prices down for you the guests (ps the apartments have dishwashers installed now with a dry function so you don't even have to get your hands wet)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

A good set up and basically just over the road from the beach and a block away from cafes. Fit out is all fairly modern with good beds. I did not realise but other than the beach there is not a lot here and the weather during our stay was not ideal. The resort is well managed with a pleasant pool . Free internet with a good connection was a pleasant surprise.
Actually located 10 min drive south of Mission Beach on Wongaling Beach . The beach has been cleaned up from the Cyclone but still some obvious signs of trees uprooted

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giantroad_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Checked in at 11am 18/4/11 for 3 days. First impressions -
Very clean
Very spacious
Well appointed
Very pleased

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willattwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

This was a great place for not too much money. It was clean, nice amount of space, access to decent restaurants within a short walk/ drive, beach is 5 min walk. There was access to a hot tub (we went when it was a bit chilly), and a very nice pool. Managers were very nice. Close to a great cruise to the Barrier Reef (through Calypso). Had a nice trip to Dunk Island for the day as well using the nearby ferry.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank punkiepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terranora, New South Wales
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Having travelled to many places throughout Australia, I have found this accomodation spot to be one of the most reasonable (value for money) places around. Managers are very accomodating and friendly. The 2 bedroom apartments are especially spacious and very clean. All apartments have fridge, microwave, dishwasher, clothes dryer etc. Walking distance to 3 eating spots (if you have no car). Walk to playground, skate park and across the road from the beach. Walk to Water taxi to visit Dunk Island where my children enjoyed the watersports. Pool area lovely and relaxing with a water feature. BBQ area facility for self-catering if desired. Plenty of parking. Gardens are lush.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_James_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Units lovely and spacious with two balconies.Pool area was divine.Gardens and surroundings perfect for a great relaxing holiday.Beach so close and beautiful to laze or walk along the white sand.Great when skydivers land on beach around you. The hosts Mike and Susan are very helpful and friendly Nothing is too much trouble.Perfect place for relaxing holiday.Dunk Island is just across the water by Water Taxi and just walkung distance to a couple of restaurants. Have been several times now and will always return to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joybelle181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
5.9 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
155 reviews
2.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.7 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Mission Beach
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#4 of 23 in Mission Beach
260 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
#1 of 23 in Mission Beach
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
#1 of 5 in Wongaling Beach
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Reef Resort

Property: Mission Reef Resort
Address: 58-62 Holland St, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wongaling Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mission Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Reef Resort is a luxury holiday apartment accommodation venue situation in magnificent Mission Beach, North Queensland, Australia.Offering 14 tastefully furnished,2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments or 14 1 bedroom self contained and motel style suites plus on-site manager, the resort is one of the newest in the area, having been officially opened in May, 2005.Mission Reef Resort is less than a one minute walk to the famous pristine sands of Mission Beach and is centrally located within the township.When you stay at Mission Reef Resort you can choose to experience all the wonders the area offers, from Great Barrier Reef snorkeling, diving and coral viewing trips to guided walks in the lush tropical North Queensland rainforest. The tours and activities choices are endless. And if you are not the adventurous type, you can just relax in the cool resort pool to savoir the tropical sunshine and sea breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Mission Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Reef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing