We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Islands” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mission Beach Dunk Island Water Taxi

Mission Beach Dunk Island Water Taxi
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.42*
and up
Dunk Island Round-Trip Water Taxi Transfer from Mission Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Mission Beach Dunk Island Water Taxi operates from Wongaling Beach and is a quick & easy way to get to Dunk Island to enjoy beautiful walking tracks and amazing camping. Also on offer is Fozzy’s 3 hour, 3 Island Tour which meanders past three of the Family Group including famous Bedarra with onboard commentary and a swim on a private secluded beach. Three hours of fun and relaxation whilst enjoying a bit of history for which these islands are famous.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the Islands”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The taxi service is basic gets you from A to B The commentary is good in a dry Australian way not really professional.
We enjoyed just relaxing swimming snorkeling on a private island for 1 hour and half that's way we went next time we will visit Dunk island and camp and do a walk for the amazing view.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptFozzy, Owner at Mission Beach Dunk Island Water Taxi, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. Most people understand a dry Australian sense of humor and find it quite entertaining. We are sorry you felt this was not professional however after thirty years driving race, sail and motor boats we can assure you that the professional way in which Fozzy manages his vessel is of the highest standard. We hope you can join us again and we can again get you from A to B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    30
    3
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming and passionate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Wonderful crew that is Nancy and Fozzy. Most welcoming and very passionate about their township and surrounds. We started our trip to Bedarra island with them with laughs and smiles and they are both most welcoming. On our return from the island with the water taxi, Nancy gave us a fantastic route back to Cairns via yungaburra, a route we would have otherwise missed had we taken the highway. Both wonderful people and wonderful patrons to their area. Will certainly recommend you to anyone heading your way!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptFozzy, Owner at Mission Beach Dunk Island Water Taxi, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi Shannon & Paul, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself so much, you both really deserved it. The Tablelands are just gorgeous and such a big change in only a couple of hours by car. Hope you enjoyed visiting the Avenue of Honor in Yungaburra, no doubt it would have been very emotional. We hope to see you again sometime up this way and thanks again. Nancy & Fozzy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“We didnt end up going however....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

On our recent Mission Beach stop on our holiday, we wanted to get over to Dunk Island and looked to the Water Taxi to get us there.

Sadly for us, the weather was appalling and very windy, wet and not pleasant. We were deliberating about what to do and, really appreciated the honesty of the owners who helped us make a decision that suited our family instead of just taking our money, loading us on a boat and not caring that the weather would impact significantly on our trip. It is rare in this day and age that you get someone who actually thinks what is best for you and doesn't take your money and run.

So...while we didn't get to go to Dunk Island, we felt that the honesty and service received in making this decision was great for us and, we will return and weather permitting....get there next time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GemWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptFozzy, Owner at Mission Beach Dunk Island Water Taxi, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. As a small tourist town, we really must take care of everyone who visits whether they travel with you or not. In a previous comment (not a nice one) we stressed that our financial gain comes AFTER our guests enjoyment. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here in Mission Beach even though you didn't have best weather, but on the bright side you now have a very good reason to come back! Thanks again and we'll see you next time with 5-10 knot breezes and blue skies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun and Experienced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Fozzy and Nancy are great people who know the their stuff. Do not book with anyone else. We cant wait to come back and tour the islands some more.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptFozzy, Owner at Mission Beach Dunk Island Water Taxi, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Shucks Leah! Thanks for your kind words. Living in a place like this, it's easy to be passionate about what we do! See you next time. Nancy & Fozzy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

People who run this Water Taxi are great. The service ran on-time and the owners really took care of us.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptFozzy, Owner at Mission Beach Dunk Island Water Taxi, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Kirk, thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and so pleased you enjoyed your stay on the island. See you next year! Nancy & Fozzy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Beach Dunk Island Water Taxi also viewed

Mission Beach, Queensland
Mission Beach, Queensland
 
Mission Beach, Queensland
Horseshoe Bay, Magnetic Island
 

Been to Mission Beach Dunk Island Water Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing