We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dunk island view caravan park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunk Island View Caravan Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dunk island view caravan park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Amazing facilities - specially camp kitchen, free wi-fi, very friendly owners - we stayed here while travelling from Wales guy who owned it helped us fill up gas bottle and only charged us or half a canister :-) so impressed with service and facilities we took leaflets and left them ALL over QLD for others to enjoy the gorgeous surroundings and excellent facilities - would definitely visit again - thanks xxx Kate nd mike from Wales in the troopy xxx

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Katejoy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    45
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
29
50
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights in the 2 bedroom unit with our two children aged 3 and 8 months. We absolutely loved the spaciousness, the fact toilet and bathroom are separate, fully air conditioned, day and night blinds, plenty of cupboard space and privacy. We will definitely stay here again. Service friendly, helpful and professional. Shop to reception offers cooked food, coffee, cake, icecreams, crepes. I was even surprised they take the time to heat the pies on order and then place under the griller to give a nice crispy crust.
Although we have amenities in our unit, I did check out the amenities block including the laundry - very clean! The only downside and I can see that the last two major cyclone would have been the causes - the park needs more of a holiday feel to it. Bare and felt deserted however you can see that the owners are working on that. Pool and camp kitchen are nice relaxing areas and offer space and shade. Overall, great place to stay and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRUTH1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have been twice now, once with the old owners and once with the new. The new owners are really trying to bring the caravan park back to where it once was. They toilets and showers are recently renovated ans always clean and tidy.
The sites are well spaced and it doesn't make you feel as if you are camping in the next doors camp!
Being pet friendly is very important to us and our dogs have always been made welcome. Prices are good and we will certainly be making another visit soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary_Trish_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedarra Island, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here in early September. The rooms were spotless, recently redecorated with new furniture and bedding, rooms appear to be freshly painted as well. The 1 bedroom unit is above average in size and can easily accommodate 2 couples the lounge is a queensize sofabed. The unit has a fully equipped kitchen, with a full size fridge, oven, griller and microwave. It would be easy to stay for a long duration due to the size. The aircon is a modern split system unit which easily copes with the hot days. The park management is extremely friendly and very helpful with any questions. They park has a very nice cafe which serves fish and chips, crepes and coffee. I would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedarra_Beach_House
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked a one bedroom unit on-line for a two night stay as part of a road trip in September 2013. We were trying to keep to a budget but were not happy with the style of accommodation once we arrived. The unit smelt of bleach and the old fashioned tiled floor gave it an "amenities block" feel. The toilet and shower were actually outside the main living/bedroom area. It was quite dark very old fashioned. The outdoor table and chairs were situated in the tiny carport which of course you had to share with your vehicle and the garbage bin.There were no tropical gardens out front of the unit (we realise they were heavily hit by the cyclone but there had been no effort to pretty up this part of the park). We did not expect the ritz but it had a dismal feel so we decided to forfeit our money and find alternative accommodation. It all comes down to budget and expectations. We have stayed in many cabin style units over the years which have been quite acceptable but this just didn't cut it - we would return to Mission Beach but not Dunk Island View Caravan Park. Please note that we didn't check out the caravan park section which could have been quite acceptable- this review is solely for the unit accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIVCP, Manager at Dunk Island View Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi Jen, we are sorry that you did not like the one bed unit you were booked into. The fact that you then decided to stay at a five star resort (Castaways in Mission Beach) rather than with us tells us you were probably in the market for a different type of accommodation. Having said that we try very hard to keep our units impeccably clean and to make all our guests feel as welcome as possible. The layout of our units as well as photos can be found on our website, and we have received lots of compliments about the way they have been brought up to date in recent months. Having a separate toilet and shower is actually a major plus, as anyone who has spent any time at the beach getting sandy feet will know. On this occasion it seems you were looking for fancier accommodation, which unfortunately we do not provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Trying to find inexpensive yet decent accommodation is difficult.. This place was beyond our expectations and far out did other places we paid $30 to $40 per night more.. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin. The staff are extremely friendly, the grounds well kept and the cabin was not only very clean but spacious. We kept waiting for the catch BUT are pleased to say there was not one. They even recommended 3 great places for dinner even though they personally run a fish and chip shop within the grounds. A great place to stay ..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy2274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Midway between Mission Beach (north) and Mission Beach (south) over the road from Wongaling Beach. Much quieter than the very touristy Mission Beach (north) but well served with a number of restaurants and a large supermarket about 15 minutes walk away. The caravan park also has its own takeaway and coffee shop. A lot of work is being done to repair the damage from the recent cyclone though it may be sometime before all the work is completed. There is a good camp kitchen and the amenities appear to have been recently painted. The sites are large with room for both a car and a boat. Very helpful staff. Have already recommended it to a number of people as an alternative to the better known Mission Beach area. But like all parks in North QLD at this time of the year book.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noelandmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIVCP, Manager at Dunk Island View Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi there, thanks for the positive feedback. We hope you'll come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
2.4 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
2.9 mi away
Mission Beach Hideaway Holiday Village
Mission Beach Hideaway Holiday V...
#14 of 25 in Mission Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#6 of 11 in Mission Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 25 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
2.0 mi away
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartments
8.4 mi away
Kurrimine Beach Holiday Park
Kurrimine Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Kurrimine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunk Island View Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunk Island View Caravan Park

Property: Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Address: 21-35 Webb Rd, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Wongaling Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunk Island View Caravan Park 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunk Island View Caravan Park is tucked away at Mission Beach within 50 metres of a magnificent white tropical sandy beach with views across to Dunk Island. We are a pet friendly caravan park nestled among tall palms on six acres of lush green rainforest grounds. For campers there is free wifi, an equipped kitchen, which includes a fridge, freezer, stove, oven and TV. For those who prefer more homely comforts, there are eight fully-furnished and self-contained units with en suite bathrooms and air conditioning. We are in the perfect location for you to enjoy everything Mission Beach has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunk Island View Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing