We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW it is exactly as TA reviewers described”
Review of Boutique Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Another fabulous place thanks to TA reviews. We drove allong the Bruce Highway from The Daintree and arrived at Boutique Bungalows after a long and tedious drive, miles and miles of sugar cane and not much else! What a welcome, such a lovely couple with their immaculate B&B at beautiful Mission Beach.

Our bungalow was spotless with a very comfortable bed, a little kitchen with everything you would need to self cater for a couple of days and a great deck to sit out on. Very private. We had a swim in the pretty pool and went for dinner at the local restaurant. It rained bucket loads but we had been given an umberella and a torch to find our way home and stay dry.

Breakfast was served under the gazebo in monsoon conditions. The rainy season had come 4 months or so early. It was great fun and breakfast was delicious. We were sorry to leave after only one night. If you are in the area make a special detour to stay at Boutique Bungalows. The home made cake is to die for!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlieCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Boutique Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 369 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2010

We loved our stay at BB! Too bad we only stayed one night. If you love some privacy and just want to relax, BB is is the perfect place to be. Close to the beaches of Mission Berach. The cabins are perfectly en carefully decorated in a beautiful garden with a lovely swimming pool (specially at night). Steve & Sharon are very hospitable, the breakfast was the best we had during our 4 weeks stay in Australia. A good value for your money!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TteS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Three really nice bungalows in a jungly environment by an excellent natural pool. Nicely secluded. Great al fresco breakfast, and lovely home baked cakes in the afternoon. Excellent helpful hosts. Ate at Bernies in Mission Beach (average) and Blarneys (very close and excellent). Spent a day at Dunk Resort (water taxi, day pass). Brilliant, but snorkelling not so good because of rough seas of late. Good lunch by pool complex. Worth driving N from Mission Beach along coast - a few very scenic beaches.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schofid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

I agree totally with "Scorpiogirl" (hello to you and Kevin). We could not fault anything at Boutique Bungalows. The whole experience was fantastic, the bungalows were fabulous, afternoon tea (served daily) was delicious and we really enjoyed the full cooked breakfast by the pool (all included in the tariff). Sharon and Steve are very warm and welcoming hosts and you can see they take great pride in their little piece of paradise. I would highly recommend staying here...we certainly intend going back!
Would also recommend dining at Millers Bar and Grill, we ate there twice it was so good, and reasonable prices.
PS: Sharon and Steve...the mate of that noisy bird was in the tree above our cabin at Atherton!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaznik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

I booked my stay at Boutique Bungalows purely based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. There is nothing that other people have written that I can disagree with and I am not sure I can put into words how much I loved my time there. Boutique Bungalows is a very special place and it is not just because the actual accommodation, pool & gardens are so beautiful but it is the experience you will have here that pushes this place into a category all of its own. I am already planning when I can go back and it will be for a lot longer than two days.

Steve & Sharon are wonderful hosts, great company & just really good people; they will give you all the help and advice you need to get the most out of your time in Mission Beach. Really good customer service is something that is hard to find and it is the little touches here that you appreciate - there was a cold beer and wine in the fridge for our arrival on a hot day and afternoon tea was Sharon's chocolate fudge brownies. Sharon - you are the brownie queen of FNQ and I think those brownies will be often copied but never equalled!! Breakfast was fantastic and we didn't need lunch on either day because we were still so full from breakfast.

I also really enjoyed meeting the other guests over breakfast (hi Nick & Karen I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday!) and the fact that each bungalow is so private you wouldn't really know anyone else is there so you never feel like you are in each other's pockets.

I really could go on and on about Boutique Bungalows - my only advice to you is to make sure you stay here at least once in your life to experience it and then you'll understand why this place has received the rave reviews that it so rightly deserves. Steve & Sharon are the best of the best in their industry - I can say this was confidence as I deal with all types of businesses in the accommodation sector and a great deal of them could learn a thing or two from this wonderful place and its owners.

Here are my tips for getting the most out of your stay at Mission Beach:
*Make sure you hire a car if you need to - nothing is really 'close' by in the terms of a city slicker and to really get out and about and see all of the surrounding area you need a car.
*Eat at Millers Beach Bar & Grill - the food, service & ambience here is out of this world and it is not overpriced like so many restaurants in these seaside towns are. They also have a free courtesy bus that will pick you up & drop you off. We loved Millers so much we ate there two nights in a row and didn't bother going anywhere else.
*Take the water taxi over to Dunk Island for a day - it is heaven on Earth, make sure you book the taxi in advance though because it gets very busy.
*Don't be disappointed if your stay here is not 'silent' - there is an abundance of our native wildlife including an echidna, cassowary, bandicoots and lots of birds that call Boutique Bungalows home too. This is not the sort of place where you will be able to sleep in late but my advice is to just close your eyes and listen to and enjoy the sounds of nature around you - you will miss it when you are back home and all you hear are cars rushing by and the only birds you see are sparrows and pidgeons.

What are you waiting for? Get off Trip Advisor and book your stay now! Make sure you say hi to Mango the parrot for me ;)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scorpiogirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Steve & Sharon are wonderful hosts. Couldn't do enough for us. Our room was lovely, probably the best we had in our 3 weeks travelling from Port Douglas to Gold Coast. The surroundings are beautifully landscaped and very private with excellent swimmimg pool.
Breakfast was perfect, all fresh and beautifully presented.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnflutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We have travelled extensively over the world and there are a few places we would return to and Boutique Bungalows is one of those. The bungalows are nice and private and lovely inside, the gardens are beautiful and Steve & Sharon are wonderful hosts. We particularly loved the homebaked afternoon tea each day! Although the weather was not kind, we still had a lovely time with a particular highlight being coming back to the bungalow to find a juvenile cassowary standing out the front!
You will not be disappointed by this place and for an amazing dessert, go to Blarneys (walking distance) and have the butterscotch icecream and merigue - to die for!

Natalie & Bryan
Melbourne, Vic

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NGSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
4.0 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
157 reviews
1.7 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
2.7 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Mission Beach
293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Licuala Lodge
Licuala Lodge
#3 of 11 in Mission Beach
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Bungalows

Address: 3 Spurwood CL, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wongaling Beach
Price Range: $93 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Beach Bed and Breakfast Accommodation!Boutique Bungalows provides the modern day traveller a truly unique environment where guests enjoy the privacy of their own clean, practical and modern bungalow with good old fashioned customer service second to none! King size beds an inviting resort style pool and delicious continental breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Boutique Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing