We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rainforest experience”
Review of Boutique Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boutique Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful rainforest experience”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Mission Beach was a wonderful relaxing place to visit on our drive to Cairns. Steve and Sharon made us feel most welcome. Boutique Bungalows was very comfortable and quiet. We really enjoyed the close contact with nature including the baby wallabies.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilipFairlight53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
318
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnie, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nice place to stay, would suggest a minimum of 3 night stay to ensure you take in the beautiful scenery in around the area, owner makes sure you have all you need & cook a lovely breakfeast if required.
Also the wildlife is close to the cabins to make it enjoyable .

Room Tip: All cabins looked good to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is not the traditional 'room in a house' B&B. There are three free-standing cabins set in a large tropical garden. Each cabin is extremely private, and the only contact that we had with other guests was at breakfast. The cabins are large, single rooms with a full kitchen and a separate bathroom. They are as comfy as comfy things can be.

After driving 3000+ klm from Canberra, we needed to be able to wind down and this was perfect. It's quiet, but has everything. Brekkies are tasty, and fresh and are shared with the local wildlife, and an orange bird of dubious parentage and colourful temperament. Cassowaries wander by (not while we were there) and you can snuggle up to rescued wildlife. Oven warm tasty-treats are delivered each afternoon to your cabin. All were good, but the scones were, well, special.

Wongaling Beach is a 5 minute walk, and the main shopping centre, including the ubiquitous Woolies is a similar distance by car.

The hosts Steve and Sharon are extra-friendly and will direct you to local hilights. Their effort in recovering from Yasi is truly remarkable. Shazza can cook a bit, too.

If you are visiting from overseas this is a place you should go out of your way to spend a few days in. It's worth it. A genuine Australian gem. Oh! And for Australians too......

Room Tip: All three are first class. We stayed in the one with the lizards on the wall. All three are privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serene_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenhaven NSW Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was truly a great place to stay. Not only were hosts Steve and Sharon friendly, but they also cooked filling breakfasts and magnificent afternoon teas of home made cakes like the delectable pineapple and coconut cake. They also gave us a daily itinerary of places to visit and attractions to see. With a comfortable room and hot shower and bath, with privacy, peace and quiet, it is the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Any Room would be fine as they are all spaced apart
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our stay was simply amazing!!!!!!! Sharon and Steve are the most wonderful hosts, their hospitality is one that simply cannot compare. On our arrival we were transported into a beautiful rainforest, our cabin surrounded by lush vegetation and the sounds of birds and other animals like music to our ears. It is the most perfect couples retreat with only three cabins on the property and we felt like we were the only two people on earth. Shortly after settling in, we were provided an afternoon tea that was to die for and the homecooked breakfast is beautifully on par. After breakfast you have the wonderful opportunity to nurse baby wallabies that Sharon and Steve are raising after tragically being taken from their parents, their passion, dedication and knowledge they have make them the most perfect wildlife carers. And there is always a lovely wake up from the ever so chirpy Mango the parrot. Our stay was one that I cannot flaw, I recommend to any couples wanting a relaxing getaway amongst the rainforest with the most perfect hospitality. Now planning our next holiday back there! Thanks Sharon and Steve, you made our stay one that we will never forget. Renee and Peter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneeandPeter777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barooga, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

As first time visitors to Mission Beach we chose to stay at Boutique Bungalows from recommendations seen on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed !! Even when I phoned to make the booking they made mention of points of interest not to missed on our way there.
On arrival mid afternoon we were welcomed with a beautiful homemade cake for afternoon tea and suggestions of places to see during our stay.
Our Bungalow was tastefully decorated and the attention to detail was faultless. A complementary buffet breakfast is provided each morning and was equal to any we have had in a 1st class hotel.
Both Sharon and Steve are committed to promoting their area and in fact the environment in general. You could not help but be impressed by their passion and their efforts to provide you with a memorable stay. We would not hesitate in recommending their accomodation to anyone !!
Kind Regards,
Maxine & Cliff Pearce, Barooga NSW

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Mission Beach was a fantastic area to visit and this was a great landing pad! They were fantastic hosts with an abundance of local knowledge. The bungalows were spacious, beds comfy, incredibly clean, we felt secluded enough to sit on the porch area (even with all rooms booked up) and it was great to enjoy delicious breakfast with the rescued wildlife. We enjoyed many of the secluded beaches in the area and even saw a wild cassowary on our last day (after hearing everyone else at breakfast for 3 days say they kept seeing them!). There was plenty of good food options in the area (but go early). It was very relaxing and when we go back north, we will be staying here and won't bother staying in Cairns! Any visitors going north, we will be recommending here!

We were in the middle of a big northern Qld road trip by the time we stayed here and had seen many of the areas that were slightly further away so we stuck around Mission Beach for the most part for the few days and there was still lots to see. The location is fantastic, but I think best to have the car. However, I believe you could probably get by with shuttle services offered by restaurants and such (you'd miss out on going to some of the different beaches slightly out of the way).

Room Tip: Stay more than 1 night if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
4.9 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
155 reviews
1.7 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
2.7 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#4 of 23 in Mission Beach
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Mission Beach
272 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Bungalows

Property: Boutique Bungalows
Address: 3 Spurwood CL, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wongaling Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Beach Bed and Breakfast Accommodation!Boutique Bungalows provides the modern day traveller a truly unique environment where guests enjoy the privacy of their own clean, practical and modern bungalow with good old fashioned customer service second to none! King size beds an inviting resort style pool and delicious continental breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing