We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired but served its purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night before a rafting trip, and the experience was average. This is an older hotel that has seen better days. As others have noted, the lighting is poor, the wallpaper is peeling, and the carpet is threadbare. But, it was clean, the room was large, breakfast was adequate, and it was quiet. The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful, and other than a somewhat temperamental heating/cooling unit, we had no major complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arlo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 209 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

I'm always curious about burned out light bulbs in hotel rooms. Don't the housekeepers need to turn on all the lights to make sure they adequately clean the room? Wouldn't they change the burned out bulbs so they can see the room? Apparently not at the Quality in Canon City. Two burned out lights upon entering our room. But we lucked out, because when the bulbs got replaced, the room was clean- thankfully. Those bulbs must have burned out as the housekeeper slammed the door on the way out. Then in the morning, there was no water pressure - the desk clerk said that happens when they start washing the linens too early in the morning. So they turned off the washing machine so we could flush - what a relief (in several ways). Finally, the A/C unit was more like a bad alarm clock - it was loud enough to wake me up every 30 minutes throughout the night. We paid about $100 a night, which was about what I expected for summer in C.C. Where the Quality Inn failed was that it just didn't live up to its name, or the reputation of the brand. If you find a better stay, let us know.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohzonejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

The staff was great, but the rooms were not good at all. Very old & worn down. The toilet hardly flushed, the sink sprayed water out the sides of faucet, the screen on the sliding door was ripped from frame, the bedspread smelled dirty & musty. We paid $100 for the room & it was maybe worth $50. Maybe.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawndahenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is not a bad hotel, just overpriced for what's offered. That's the only reason I rated it "poor". They added an interesting touch by putting plaques on some of the doors to the rooms that said John Wayne, Sam Elliot, Goldie Hawn, Jack Elam etc stayed here. We stayed in the "John Belushi" room. It was O.K., comfortable, clean... But this hotel is OLD and looks old. John Wayne DIED 33 years ago and didn't work allot the last few years of his life so think how old this hotel is--probably built in the 60's. Back then, it was probably the ONLY hotel in town when these people were here making movies. The rooms are not well equipped--no refrigerator, no microwave, no in-room internet... I'm told some rooms have some of these things but for the $108 per night we paid, we thought it was high for what you get. There is a bar/grill at the hotel that serves food. The steak dinner is good and reasonable, the fish plate was like eating fish stix. There are two pool tables which would be nice for those who like billiards. It also has an outdoor swimming pool with a glassed-in sun room with hot tubs facing the pool area. The pool is located in the middle of the complex so no outsiders can get in or around any kids swimming in the pool. That was a nice idea. The security is also very good--better than most hotels we've stayed at. Housekeeping was very nice and considerate of guests. The hotel bent a few rules for us since about 20 of us came in for a wedding and would meet for breakfast or in the sun room area to visit in the evenings. The rooms are poorly lighted. We had a ground floor room (I think ALL ground floor rooms have sliding glass doors). Our room faced the street/parking/entrance area so we couldn't open the curtains if we wanted any privacy--which made the room really gloomy during the day. The in-room heat and air had one setting--on and off. Not much in between. If we left the air on at night, it was really cold. If we cooled the room, then turned it off for bedtime, it got too warm by morning. The continental breakfast left allot to be desired. I don't think this hotel has elevators either--all we saw were stairs. The business center/internet access is at a desk in a main hallway. If there's a fitness center i didn't see it. We travel allot and have stayed at allot of hotels. $108 per night is NO BARGAIN for this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a refrigerator and microwave on the second floor so you can open the curtains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Older hotel. Still clean and upkept. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dedear06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

First the pros: The staff was very friendly, helpful and accomodating. The room, and property in general was very clean, a nice size room (2 queen) with room to spare, a beautiful courtyard with a heated inground pool (they say is open year round!), and the bathroom was clean with good water pressure. The price per night was affordable

The cons: Poor hallway lighting, the laundry room washing machine didn't work (they did reimburse me) and the maintenance man said it hadn't been working for some time...but no sign saying out of order. There seemed to be some guests who were "residents" and kind of stalked around the grounds...a little spookey to me?

Overall, for the general area this is one of the nicer hotels...but don't expect the Ritz.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catsuephi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The first day that we were here, I wanted to flee. A pet peeve of mine in motels is poor lighting and this place rates A+ for poor lighting. There was not a even lamp on the nightstand, nor an outlet near the bed so I could move a lamp and plug it in. I love to read while on vacation so for me that is a huge minus. We had a room with three beds. All three turned out to be murphy beds. One didn't even have a frame around the mechanisms - the head of the bed was about 2 feet away from the wall, which is odd looking and the hydraulic machinery was clearly exposed - extremely ugly. None had bed frames - the beds sat on the ground. Everything at this hotel looks original, which means it's about 1970-ish. Outlet covers had fallen off the wall. The glass was so dirty that I went to Wal-Mart and bought window cleaner. That being said, the staff was unfailingly cheery and helpful. I went back to Wal-Mart and bought an extension cord and plugged in a reading lamp for the nightstand. Breakfast was fine and the beds were not uncomfortable. All in all, if I return to Canon City I will definitely try a different hotel, but I would survive another stay here. My recommendation for fellow travelers is if you value the look of your surroundings AT ALL, do not stay here. If you don't care, it will be ok.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoradoKat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canon City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Canon City
Hampton Inn Canon City
#4 of 13 in Canon City
565 reviews
2.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 13 in Canon City
137 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#6 of 13 in Canon City
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Canon City
Best Western Canon City
#3 of 13 in Canon City
510 reviews
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Canon City
Super 8 Canon City
#1 of 13 in Canon City
447 reviews
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Canon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 3075 E US Highway 50, Canon City, CO 81212-2748 (Formerly Canon Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
Price Range: $79 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Canon City
Quality Inn Canon City
Canon City Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing