We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in canon city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Canon City
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed there with family while on a vacation of rafting and other stuff. We are glad we picked this place. We felt it was the best place to stay in canon city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveAustin64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 576 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

Nice hotel, short on personal. Had to wait at the desk upon arrival for someone to check us in for several minutes.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherrie212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My family and me recently stayed at the Hampton on a CO vacation. After reading the reviews of all the hotels in Canon City I was not sure where to stay.
The Hampton turned out to be real nice. The room was clean and ok sized. The staff was helpful. All in all it was a good stay.
The only con to the whole thing was the price (135.00) it was the most expensive room of our travel to and from CO.

Room Tip: some reviews mentioned a lot of noise overhead so I picked an upstairs room and we had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Canon City really has no high quality accommodations per se. That said, perhaps it is because there really is no other real “Competition,” that the Hampton Inn just does not try to service the guest beyond an “average” level.

We visited for a quick weekend getaway, and while we found the accommodations acceptable the number of small things that were not up to par (based on Hampton Inn standards) was disappointing.

At check in we walked in to an empty front desk with two other guests waiting for service. No one seemed to know where the front desk clerk was (or if there even was one). After about 5 -10 minutes a clerk did finally appear from the back office.

Rushing through the other guests he got to us and hurried us through the check in process – never really going through any of our registration information. As jrod1611 noted we too had the clerk very vaguely describe where the elevator and or our room was and send us off on our way to try and discover it.

The room itself was comfortable but there were many small elements that led to disappointment. Among these: trash found in the dresser drawer; a previous guest’s hair stuck into the hair dryer; one towel that was ripped, a second towel with stains; the wall covered with scruff marks and dents from furniture banging into it, etc, etc.

The second night we did ask for a second bath towel which was met with an offering of an extra hand towel. Going down to the front desk to ask for the same we were provided with the towel. While not a huge deal these extra steps necessary to get the towel was somewhat odd.

As the hotel seemed to be very busy the night we arrived we figured we would sleep in the next morning and go down for a late breakfast at 9 AM (breakfast was open until 10AM) to allow some of the crowd to pass.

Arriving at 9:10AM we were greeted by one of the smallest breakfast rooms I have ever seen at a Hampton Inn (or any other hotel for that matter) with all of the 6 – 8 tables completely taken (most by other guests who were just sitting there to while away the time for the sports competitions they had come to participate (or spectate) in. (A tip – if you go straight ahead (when you enter the room) thru the double doors you will find the conference room area where you can have your breakfast. Several conference rooms are behind these double doors and at least offer you a table to eat off of).

The second morning we came down and did find a table – as fewer guests had been staying that night. Both mornings however the food that was left was picked over and slim in quantities. The second morning I had to ask at the front desk for more eggs as there was nothing left. The breakfast clerk had been called into a meeting by management at 9 AM (a rather odd time for such a meeting since breakfast runs until 10AM).

To her credit when management was forced to release her from the meeting – due to my request for more eggs she did restock to the best of her ability.

The breakfast itself was decent, but as others have implied not up to Hampton Inn standards – cereal, yogurt, bagels, freeze dried eggs (the type that comes out in small chunks) with ham, and potatoes was about it. Waffles were available the first morning but not the second and fruit was slim.

The hotel does have a very small exercise room – 3 pieces of cardio equipment - and a pool which as lcal303 has noted is popular with kids in the evenings. Nothing is wrong with that – just noted here in case you are wanting a pleasant adult swim… such a swim will not happen.

The hotel itself was designed oddly with the front of the hotel facing the side street which puts one whole side of the hotel facing US 50 – a very busy and noisy highway. Inside the hotel, as noted all of the public spaces are quite small and there is only one, VERY slow, elevator to accommodate you.

To end on an up note the staff does try to be pleasant but we too felt that management here is likely very controlling in both costs and management style. This fact very clearly shows, which leads to what could be a very decent hotel becoming just “one of the pack” in Canon City’s Econo Lodges and Super 8’s. That said, given what your other choices are in Canon City, the Hampton probably is one of your better choices as it does at least give you a “Name Brand” for them to at least try to live up to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the open space in the back of the hotel to avoid facing busy US Hwy 50
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelnrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

A perfectly acceptable Hampton Inn with generally helpful and friendly staff. But we got the impression that costs were being controlled to the detriment of the service.

Wired only Internet in rooms (ie no wifi). Cheaply constructed rooms (eg closet door screwed directly to wall), no fridge, small non-HD TV, no pen & paper (until requested), no tissues (until requested), no bottles of water as entitled for Hilton Gold member (until requested), no shower gel (shampoo only), only 6 tables in breakfast room (we presumed to discourage too many from taking breakfast) etc. And when we asked for extra coffee for the room, we were given one solitary pack. No cream etc. We got tired of asking for stuff!

To some extent, any shortfalls as a result of management cost "efficiencies" were made up for by the staff but it's not a place we'll be rushing back to, this the 12th hotel on our current trip. Probably would place this at 12th thus far.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed on Saturday May 26th as we were riding the Royal Gorge Dinner Train. Room was clean and it is a decent property. Nothing really to complain about. We would stay there again when visiting Canon City. Staff did a good job.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drgw489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend. The checkin process was ok as the clerk very vaguely described where the elevator and or our room was. Once we got to the room and throughout our stay our room was impeccably clean. Breakfast was ok but I expected more overall.

If we end up staying in Canon City again we would stay again but would hope that the staff be better trained in the art of hospitality and customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrod1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canon City
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Canon City
210 reviews
3.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 13 in Canon City
140 reviews
20.7 mi away
Century Casino & Hotel Cripple Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Canon City
Best Western Canon City
#3 of 13 in Canon City
521 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Canon City
Super 8 Canon City
#1 of 13 in Canon City
453 reviews
3.2 mi away
Parkview Inn Motel
Parkview Inn Motel
#2 of 13 in Canon City
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Canon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Canon City

Address: 102 McCormick Pkwy, Canon City, CO 81212-9292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Canon City
Price Range: $91 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Canon City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Canon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Canon City Hotel Canon City
Canon City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing