We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day with the family river rafting at the royal gorge!”
Review of Raft Masters

Raft Masters
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.00*
and up
Canon City Half-Day Whitewater Rafting in Royal Gorge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Raft Masters has been in business under the same ownership since 1989 and we have offered quality rafting trips on two great rivers. The Arkansas River is 45 miles southwest of Colorado Springs near Canon City. We provide thrills in the Royal Gorge, family fun on the Bighorn Sheep Canyon and floats for all ages and abilities. Raft Masters FREE wetsuit, river boot and paddle jacket allows you to "Experience the Thrill without the Chill'.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful day with the family river rafting at the royal gorge!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

River rafting was a ton of fun! The royal gorge is the perfect place for rafting. I would love to go back in the future. Our guide Brandon made our river rafting experience wonderful! He was passionate about rafting and shared a lot of history around the river with us. For example, he told us about the history behind the pipeline, damn, train tracks, rocks formations located in the royal gorge. He was also super outgoing and gave us lots of positive feedback on how to improve our technique because this was our first time river rafting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Esraa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    23
    7
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bighorn Sheep Canyon”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

My family went on a trip down in the Bighorn Sheep Canyon with my brother and his family. The 8 of us were in one raft with our guide, Bishop, who was very knowledgeable and helpful and made the trip fun and safe. With 8, one person didn't have to paddle, which is nice as we could switch off with paddling duties. We had wanted to do the Royal Gorge, but with a 12 year old, we were not able to do so. However, the Bighorn Sheep Canyon provided enough thrills for our group. Life jackets, helmets and securely attached shoes are required (all provided, although most of our group wore our own shoes), they also have jackets and pants to wear for when the water is cold, or if you don't want to get wet, although I don't know if that's included or extra, as we didn't use any of it. Everyone at the facility was really nice, and it was obvious there were concerned about safety as well as adventure. The waiting around was a little tedious, as you bus to the location with several other rafting groups, and you should plan about 4 hours from start to finish for a "Half day" tour, that is really only about 2 hours on the river. Still worth it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Merrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kansas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved Raft Masters!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I went rafting with a large group of people who were in Colorado Springs for a conference, and Raft Masters was wonderful at accommodating us. We took the 1/2 day Royal Gorge trip and it was not only beautiful, but so much fun! James was our guide and he instructed us with ease, despite the fact that we were mostly novices in white water rafting. Would definitely go again!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great adventure!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We did the class 4 rapids on the gorge as first-timers and the trip was great! It was thrilling but not as dangerous as we had worried. Our guide Alan was well experienced and helped us navigate through the rocks and even took awesome pictures of us too! The whole crew was great! I would definitely return!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
1 review
“Amazing weekend adventure with Raft Masters!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We did the full day Royal Gorge trip on Friday with Aaron, and loved it so much we went back Sunday for the same trip! We absolutely love Aaron and had a great time with him both days! Lunch was great too! Can't wait to come back and raft again next summer! Thank you for everything, from Jeff, Kim, Kayla, and Chris.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Krcarroll4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raft Masters also viewed

 

Been to Raft Masters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing