We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Gorge Rafting and Zip Line Tours
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Royal Gorge Rafting and Zip Line Tours
from $179.00
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
from $79.00
More Info
Reviews (3,518)
Filter reviews
3,518 results
Traveler rating
3,356
123
22
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
3,356
123
22
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river zip line royal gorge bar and grill white water great guide made us feel a lot of fun raft guide great job super fun great trip top notch an absolute blast first timers class rapids next year
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,044 - 1,049 of 3,518 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2018

Whole family ziplined in the AM and rafted in the afternoon.
Zip guides Lucas and TK were awesome! Great people and made for a wonderful experience.

Rafting in the afternoon was a great time too. Raft guide was Sarah and she was fantastic.

Thanks guys.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank KRupp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

Had a fabulous time on the Arkansas River with Adam and the Royal Gorge Rafting Co. The water levels were a little low (late July), so the run was fairly technical, but Adam made it easy for us to get through all the rapids. So the water was fun, and the gorge is gorgeous! Fun to see the train go by and the bridge so high above. Looking forward to doing it again next year, hoping to go earlier in the summer to catch the big water.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank 417nickiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

Royal Gorge Rafting is the PREMIER whitewater rafting tour company in Cañon City, CO. Searching through Groupon and Yelp, it can be hard to tell the difference between each tour company and why the prices can vary so much. After being out on the river with RGR, I can tell you I now know the difference and this is the company to go with!

One thing that sets RGR apart from the others is the rafts they use. Our guide Austin told us RGR uses "sport" type rafts while the other outfitters use rafts with larger bumpers which keep you from getting as wet when hitting the rapids. The RGR rafts are also the only ones with grey grip tape on the sides to help keep you on the raft. Better rafts equate to a better experience. Better meaning a little more immersive, getting wetter, and a closer to the rapids type of experience.

Every guide at RGR is extremely personable, knowledgeable, and just plain fun! They are such a cool bunch of folks. From the young ones to the grey beards, they all have the cool adventure seeking vibe about them and they do a great job!

Also, the RGR campus is awesome and seemed to be far better than the other locations we passed on the way. There is an awesome restaurant on property with full service bar, sand volleyball, and patio as well as indoor seating. Amazing food and great drinks! We had some family members with us that were acting as our chauffeurs and had gone rafting with another company a few weeks prior. They commented on how much better everything seemed to be at RGR vs the company they had used. And they plan on bringing other family members visiting next week back to RGR over the other company they used.

As for the actual rafting, it was an incredible bucket list type of experience. We chose the harder more extreme course because we heard the family friendly trip was a little boring. It was definitely challenging with about five class IV sections, plenty of class III, and some class II sections. The class IV sections were definitely a little intense.

One raft from our group completely flipped over in one class IV section. Others in our tour group lost at least one person from their rafts during the more extreme portions. However, everyone remained completely safe. The guides and the spotters were excellent at pausing the rafting until they got everyone safely back into the rafts before continuing on the course. DO NOT let the fact that you can fall out scare you away! That is honestly what makes the more extreme course more thrilling!

At the end of the tour, even those that got flipped or fell out still said it was an awesome experience! So, my advice would be just go into the extreme course with the expectation that you will fall out and you'll be ok.

Lastly, the pictures! They took about 350 pictures of our entire group during the tour. Amazing pictures of the raft group hitting the rapids, pictures of those that had fallen out, pictures of the flipped raft, the scenery, and more. We bought the whole album of pictures and it was $60. A little pricey sure, but still worth it.

If you're planning a whitewater rafting trip on your next Colorado adventure, you simply cannot go wrong with this company. I HIGHLY recommend Royal Gorge Rafting for your next whitewater rafting experience!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank SMUtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

Curtis was our guide and we had a blast!!!! Everything was so organized, and even though a couple people fell out of their rafts, all the guides knew what to do and got everyone to safety. I feel like he was alot of the reason we had so much fun. He has a great personality and I would highly recommend him and his team to anyone going rafting!!!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

My two boys and I are thrill junkies so this was perfect. The weather was hot hot hot that day, but there was plenty of water and a few shade tents to keep the sun off of us. We had a smaller group which was great because it kept us moving the whole time. i cannot remember our guides names but they jokingly said they were the ginger duo because they both had red hair. They were both funny and really nice...we had great conversation with them. We would do this again for sure.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Juke3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews