We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Royal Gorge Rafting and Zip Line Tours
from $85.00
More Info
from $179.00
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
from $75.00
More Info
Reviews (3,008)
Filter reviews
2,536 results
Traveler rating
2,411
98
16
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
2,411
98
16
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rafting trip white water rafting the river zip line royal gorge bar and grill great guide made us feel these guys a lot of fun raft guide great job great trip super fun top notch first timers an absolute blast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 2,536 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

Had a fabulous time on the Arkansas River with Adam and the Royal Gorge Rafting Co. The water levels were a little low (late July), so the run was fairly technical, but Adam made it easy for us to get through all the rapids. So the water was fun, and the gorge is gorgeous! Fun to see the train go by and the bridge so high above. Looking forward to doing it again next year, hoping to go earlier in the summer to catch the big water.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank 417nickiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

Royal Gorge Rafting is the PREMIER whitewater rafting tour company in Cañon City, CO. Searching through Groupon and Yelp, it can be hard to tell the difference between each tour company and why the prices can vary so much. After being out on the river with RGR, I can tell you I now know the difference and this is the company to go with!

One thing that sets RGR apart from the others is the rafts they use. Our guide Austin told us RGR uses "sport" type rafts while the other outfitters use rafts with larger bumpers which keep you from getting as wet when hitting the rapids. The RGR rafts are also the only ones with grey grip tape on the sides to help keep you on the raft. Better rafts equate to a better experience. Better meaning a little more immersive, getting wetter, and a closer to the rapids type of experience.

Every guide at RGR is extremely personable, knowledgeable, and just plain fun! They are such a cool bunch of folks. From the young ones to the grey beards, they all have the cool adventure seeking vibe about them and they do a great job!

Also, the RGR campus is awesome and seemed to be far better than the other locations we passed on the way. There is an awesome restaurant on property with full service bar, sand volleyball, and patio as well as indoor seating. Amazing food and great drinks! We had some family members with us that were acting as our chauffeurs and had gone rafting with another company a few weeks prior. They commented on how much better everything seemed to be at RGR vs the company they had used. And they plan on bringing other family members visiting next week back to RGR over the other company they used.

As for the actual rafting, it was an incredible bucket list type of experience. We chose the harder more extreme course because we heard the family friendly trip was a little boring. It was definitely challenging with about five class IV sections, plenty of class III, and some class II sections. The class IV sections were definitely a little intense.

One raft from our group completely flipped over in one class IV section. Others in our tour group lost at least one person from their rafts during the more extreme portions. However, everyone remained completely safe. The guides and the spotters were excellent at pausing the rafting until they got everyone safely back into the rafts before continuing on the course. DO NOT let the fact that you can fall out scare you away! That is honestly what makes the more extreme course more thrilling!

At the end of the tour, even those that got flipped or fell out still said it was an awesome experience! So, my advice would be just go into the extreme course with the expectation that you will fall out and you'll be ok.

Lastly, the pictures! They took about 350 pictures of our entire group during the tour. Amazing pictures of the raft group hitting the rapids, pictures of those that had fallen out, pictures of the flipped raft, the scenery, and more. We bought the whole album of pictures and it was $60. A little pricey sure, but still worth it.

If you're planning a whitewater rafting trip on your next Colorado adventure, you simply cannot go wrong with this company. I HIGHLY recommend Royal Gorge Rafting for your next whitewater rafting experience!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank SMUtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

Curtis was our guide and we had a blast!!!! Everything was so organized, and even though a couple people fell out of their rafts, all the guides knew what to do and got everyone to safety. I feel like he was alot of the reason we had so much fun. He has a great personality and I would highly recommend him and his team to anyone going rafting!!!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

My kids and I were out in Co and we signed up to raft the gorge. We had done it before, but wanted to go again. Our guide was Bono and he was great. We had perfect weather, the water was not high, but we hit every curl we could find in the river. We had a great time!!

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Juke3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoradoJames, Guest Relations at Royal Gorge Rafting and Zip Line Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

We are so glad that your Royal Gorge Rafting experience was one for the books! It truly is a wonderful and beautiful stretch of river, with those class 3 and 4 rapids that is sure to get anyone's adrenaline rushing! Our weather around here has been pretty great, making the conditions ideal for rafting, and our water levels have kept the trips fun and exciting! We are pleased that Bono was able to take such great care of you, he is one of our top-rated guides who, like our other guides, enjoy rafting and making sure that our guests have a great time!

We hope you return soon to raft with us again! Make it a full day of fun and pair with some zip lining on our fabulous courses and lunch at the scrumptious Whitewater Bar & Grill! Thanks for the review!

Brianna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

I was pretty nervous from the start however our guide Ryan made the experience well worth it! After realizing he was the expert and knew exactly what he was doing, I was able to relax and enjoy every wave and fall in the water. Must do!!!!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Uliya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews